We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, could be 5 star...but”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ostuni Palace Hotel Meeting SPA
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Ostuni
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Great hotel, could be 5 star...but”
Reviewed October 4, 2010

The appearance of the hotel is 5 star - great entrance /reception area, responsive and welcoming reception staff, beautiful room with a great view of the old town (room 216). Unfortunately it was let down by poor bar, restaurant and breakfast service which seemed to be in the hands of one man. He was not in the bar when we wanted a drink, he couldn't find the ingredients to or make a cocktail (" NO COCKTAIL"), couldn't find bottles of tonic (had to fetch some as the bar seemed under-stocked), not around for the 2nd round so we had to ask reception to find him - more stock problems! We had booked dinner in the restauarant - nobody was there to greet us and after a while we went to reception to ask only to be told the bar guy was serving in the restaurant - we decided to eat out! Next morning, no breakfast tables laid, breakfast was what was left after a groupd of US cyclists has been in and we chased around for just about anything and everything we could find! Won't mention the man's name!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianofLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    173
    39
    13
    1
See reviews for
74
289
20
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

would not chooses this hotel again. The main Restaurant serves NO vegetables with its evening meals, so only ate there once.
An excellent restaurant is La Reggia in the town - near the cathedral.
The hotel staff were helpful, but not that friendly. Ask for a room that does not look out over the main road, as it is quite noisy. The a/c is moisy in the room and the main waiter Rafelle, is a bit stuck up.
The terrace on the top floor is ill-equipped and the hotel has no pool, or anywhere to relax (ie garden)

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

The hotel is difficult to find but well worth the search.From arrival to departure the reception staff were exceptionally helpful,in fact everyone associated with the hotel made our stay welcoming avd enjoyable.
We have only one regret and that is we did not eat in the San Filippo restaurant more than once in our weeks stay.The food was a gastronomic delight and excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jshjah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Its a Secret
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

We stayed at the Palace Hotel for a week at the end of June 2010, and loved it. We had a room with a view of the city - not particularly large but well equipped, nicely decorated and comfortable. The view was pretty much as shown on their web site ie pretty good!

The hotel is a 10 minute stroll from the town square and historic centre, the main shopping street is probably about 20 mins and the nearest beaches a 20min drive away. The staff were lovely - really friendly and helpful, and always a smilling welcome at reception. Breakfast was fine - buffet syle.

Minor gripes were that the aircon in our room was pretty noisey, and that there was't really anywhere to sit outside and relax - but then it is a city hotel so perhaps not surprising.

All that said, we loved Ostuni and staying in this hotel: we did not want to come home!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lrd_Lucan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ostunipalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Ostuni Palace Hotel Meeting SPA, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Sir
a big thank you!
your words express a total appreciation of the holiday in every aspect.
this is the aim we want to reach. Ostuni offers a big variety of magic landscapes, colours and sensations and Guests have a slight taste of this being in one of our Romantic view room as you say. The Hotel position right in front of the enchanting old town does the rest.
Our Staff works with full dedication and professionalism and we are glad when this is noticed from the customers. we regret for the noisy air conditioning systems that sometimes could be an annoying inconvenient but every day we check the systems, with careful maintenance.

Hope you'll visit us again
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2010

Lovely new hotel which we were recommended to by the local tourist office. Short walk from the main piazza and the pedestrianised historic centre which would be an advantage from the viewpoint of both congestion and noise, especially in hihg season. Spotlessly clean and food good.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonKaytee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA USA
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2010

Ostuni Palace is quite new and modern and normally I choose historic hotels in the old section of town but I could not have been happier with Ostuni Palace. Although it looks a little distant from the old section it is actually a short, quick, scenic, downhill walk to the main piazza and entrance to old town.

The location has plenty of shops and restaurants nearby (with better food and prices than the ones catering to tourists in the old section) and best of all, the location provides the most beautiful views of Ostuni. It was wonderful and always changing with the sunlight on the city at dawn, with the fog rolling in from the sea, with the full moon at night.

The hotel itself was decorated in beautiful and classic style. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The service was warm, friendly and efficient and more like you would find in a small family owned hotel. Breakfast was more than adequate with meats, cheeses, scrambled eggs, juice, yogurt, fresh fruit, several different pastries and tarts.

All in all we had an excellent stay and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeborahATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2009

Went to Ostuni for a wedding, and decided to stay at Ostuni Palace. Service is just fantastic, the rooms are very comfortable, the staff could not be better. The hotel is a short walk to old town and the beach is about 10 minutes way by car. Went to Pogliano al Mare the following day, but stayed only one night instead of two and came back to Ostuni Palace. The hotel is as lovely as the city.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ana_and_pedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ostuni hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Monte Sarago
Hotel Monte Sarago
#2 of 20 in Ostuni
624 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ostuni Rosa Marina Resort
0.3 mi away
Relais Sant'Eligio
Relais Sant'Eligio
#6 of 20 in Ostuni
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Sommita Relais
La Sommita Relais
#7 of 20 in Ostuni
461 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Park Novecento Resort
2.8 mi away
Citta Bianca Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ostuni Palace Hotel Meeting SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ostuni Palace Hotel Meeting SPA

Property: Ostuni Palace Hotel Meeting SPA
Address: Corso Vittorio Emanuele II 218/222, 72017, Ostuni, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Brindisi > Ostuni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ostuni
#1 Spa Hotel in Ostuni
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ostuni
#2 Green Hotel in Ostuni
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ostuni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ostuni Palace Hotel Meeting SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ostuni Palace Hotel: Welcome to the Charm, where Hospitality is Dedication... The Ostuni Palace Hotel is a 4 stars luxury hotel in the centre of Ostuni with Special Offers in Puglia Hotels, 34 elegant rooms, a classy restaurant and a new SPA center. Our guests love stylish places, ancient atmospheres and a suggestive elegance:the most modern comforts with an excellent service will make your visit to this wonderful land special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ostuni Palace Hotel Meeting SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ostuni Palace Hotel Meeting SPA Italy - Puglia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing