We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday at Terra Sessana”
Review of Terra Sessana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Terra Sessana
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Ostuni
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We returned this May for a second visit to Terra Sessana and would love to go again. I think that says it all.

We had a warm welcome from Mario and his wife. We enjoyed the beautiful scenery and fine cuisine of the area and the 2 boys in our party spent most of their time in the pool. It couldn't have been better.

Room Tip: We picked the villa that slept 6 because we were a party of 6 but the other 2 villas are equally att...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cora G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
There are newer reviews for Terra Sessana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 13 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

We are a family with two children, we had a fantastic stay in Terra Sessana in Ostuni in August 2012, the place was perfect and cleen , the welcoming so worm and the location very intresting. We hope to be there again.
Thanks
Pamela

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pamfredmirkoraffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We (a family of 4 with 2 children aged 3 and 7) stayed at terra sessana in August. We found the place verry relaxing, we loved spending time in the countryside, away from it all, my kids played outdoor all the time and swam in the swimking pool every day. It was a simple holiday, close to nature and with real food (that you can buy in all the shops in the area). Laura and Mario have also been very helpful and gave us great suggestions and tips on where to go and what to do. I love Ostuni and the whole Valle d'Itria, the countryside is beautiful, food and wine perfect, sushine everyday, great holidays for us!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lunanelpozzo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The previous reviewer clearly had a great time at Villa Tera Sessana, and I could see how that could so easily have been, but wasn't for us.

We arrived very late because our Hertz rental car broke down (rubbish service - took hours to sort but that's a different review) and had no food. Despite Citalia asking the owners to help us out, all they provided was bread and water and wanted to charge us for anything more.
The villa was poorly prepared - the air con had not been on so was hot, flies everywhere and no fly spray, dead flies on the floor. Please note this villa is advertised as air conditioned but it is not - there is one fairly ineffectual air con unit in the living area, so bedrooms are very hot. So there we are very late and very tired cleaning and sweeping our holiday villa.
Sofa was dirty ( it was late August, so the villa had endured a summer of visitors). We went to bed a little unhappy.
In the morning, we could see the garden, which was overgrown and again not prepared. There was little shade, but a bench under a walnut tree looked very inviting - oh wait the cushions were alive with wood lice. The sun loungers old and only 2 for a family of 4, and no umbrellas.
The barbecue had not been cleaned.
A complaint to Citalia led to promises which were eventually honoured (but not until Monday, so another no sleep night). Eventually got the garden done, one fan, clean sofa covers, and BBQ cleaned, thank you.
On Friday the owners organise live music for the locals, but sadly this is right outside the villa and is amplified through speakers which would do Metallica proud. It finished around midnight but we had a flight the next day, so again this was disturbing.
This could be an idyllic rural retreat, but it felt that both we and the villa were neglected and were overlooked in favour of the owners own interests. Just a little interest and care would make all the difference, but the aircon smacks of misrepresentation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded December 26, 2012

We know that sometime things can go wrong despite our best intention to assist our guest. The guests arrived tired and late because of some problems with their car. Obviously we do not have any responsibilities about Hertz problem. We were advised by the tour operator of the late arrival and so we provided to the guests what they asked (bread and milk). These were added to the usual complimentary bottle of organic wine and traditional taralli. We could have provided extra food if we were asked for this. Of course we consider this an extra-service as the Herts adventure did not depend on us.
The guests arrived on Saturday. The days before it was raining and it was not possible to manage the garden and the outside facilities properly. We were aware about this and we were ready to do it as soon as possible. The garden was managed and organized on Monday morning as soon as the condition of the lawn aloud us to work.
In the Villa there is air-conditioning in the main room and it is good enough for the normal summer temperature. In that period It was also vey hot due to an unusual heat (42 °C). On Monday (as shops are closed on Sunday in Ostuni) we bought a fan and we provided it to the guest. Finally the temperature cooled down and the next day we came back to our normal standards. We couldn't install extra air conditioning in the Villa as it needs time for planning and execution. As the climate is changing we are planning to install more air-conditioning although this is not aligned with our environmental inclination.
Although we recognize that the sofa cover had some spots and could have been changed, We didn't noted it during the cleanings, but, as soon as the guests told us (Sunday morning) we have removed and changed the sofa covers. We apologize for that inconvenient. Sometimes things like this can happen, but we are always happy to assist our guests when they report any needs.
So far as we remember all the problems with the guests were managed during the Sunday and completed on Monday.
During August we organize some events where our guests and others can live a traditional Apulian experience, taste good wines, eat good food and enjoy traditional live music and dancing. These events are free, open to families and they are very appreciated by children. We involve many artists to perform during each event. It is absolutely not a rock metal concert but a way to share Apulian tradition and hospitality.
We do apologize if the guests have not enjoyed the spirit of the nights.
Thank you for the comment and we will build on the experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Having driven from Bari airport (NB we flew BA from Gatwick and I had forgotten what a pleasure a proper airline was compared to the budgets) we were delighted that the directions worked well. I find it stressful enough driving on Italian roads so good directions are a real bonus. We were really pleasantly surprised to find Terra Sessana - it's hidden away down a narrow lane about 10 minutes outside Ostuni - and were welcomed on arrival by the owner (and their very friendly dogs).

We stayed in the small villa (own pool , about 250 yards down a dirt track past the fields, olive groves and trulli that surrround the property - very adequate for two but no more) which is one of three lets at the Masseria one of which is 3 beds and again has own pool .Great to have a complimentary bottle of the home produced, organic red awaiting our arrival. One minor moan - the villa is very well equipped but it would have been a nice touch to have a few basics in the fridge freezer - a bottle of water, juice, milk and some bread and cheese?

Settled in to the property and found the nearest supermarket (on outskirts of Ostuni ) and stocked up on local produce ( fresh fruit and veg grown locally and "proper" Peroni (red label) - Tesco / Waitrose could learn a few lessons on quality produce from them).

We ate out most of the seven nights we stayed at Terra Sessana. Ostuni is fantastic - the "centro istorico" is full of bars and restaurants. You can meander through the old streets at leisure and feel relaxed and blend in wit the locals. The central piazza (pedestrianised each evening so traffic free) always had some form of entertainment going on - nice to sit and sip a coffee or beer and just "people watch".

Terra Sessana also have their own open air eating and entertainment area - low key and only used if demand is there. The food is organic/vegetarian and grown and prepared on the Masseria by the owner and his wife . The area is set up for live music too but when we were there there were only two couples staying - so just food. Marvellous banquet with bottle of wine included served in the open air under the stars by candle light - magic and at 30 euros per head good value.

Overall, a marvellous place to chill out (the unseasonal 30 degrees mid-September heat made the air con in the villa essential for us) and Ostuni (as with most of Puglia) seems to retain a high degree of authenticity (e.g. most of the people eating out or enjoying the entertainment at night were Italian).It has plenty to see - best done during the evning and combined with food / drink - the old church is marvellously decorous, and there is a great range of restaurants (Cafe bars ,Pizzeria, Osteria and Ristorante styles and degrees of formality, all available in abundance and serving up local cuisine), shops and art galleries. The atmosphere is genuinely "local".
Another place not to be missed is Alborobello - short drive from Ostuni and a world heritage site for its preserved Trullis. Beaches are a short drive away including a stretch that is a nature reserve.
Puglia is very different from other parts of Italy - we barely scratched the surface but it is absolutely worth a visit. It retains a truly authentic feel of the Italian rural way of life that you can feel a part of.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rhinos25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rossy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patro70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ostuni hotels
7.3 mi away
Hotel Masseria Tutosa
Hotel Masseria Tutosa
#13 of 20 in Ostuni
158 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ostuni Rosa Marina Resort
4.2 mi away
Ostuni Palace Hotel Meeting SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Monte Sarago
Hotel Monte Sarago
#2 of 20 in Ostuni
654 reviews
4.4 mi away
La Sommita Relais
La Sommita Relais
#8 of 20 in Ostuni
465 reviews
2.4 mi away
Masseria Cervarolo
Masseria Cervarolo
#1 of 20 in Ostuni
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terra Sessana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terra Sessana

Address: C.da Sessana Piccola sn, 72017, Ostuni, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Brindisi > Ostuni
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Ostuni
Price Range: $117 - $480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few kilometers from the "white" Ostuni and the attractive beaches of the Apulian coast , immersed in a beautiful country punctuated of trulli and secular olive trees, stands Terra Sessana. The property takes its name from the area in which it is located: Contrada Sessana, whose name, in turn, derives from the Latin “sanus”, meaning “healthy” and brings to mind the idea of a healthy life in harmony with nature. Terra Sessana is a distinctive resort that extends over 7 hectares , and consists of four houses: the Blue House, the most prestigious and spacious residence, the ancient Trulli, a typical stone building called Lamia, and a Villa with a large veranda overlooking the gardens. Each house has its own private pool and a panoramic garden with areas of lawn and secular olive trees, from where one can enjoy a wonderful view of the valley. The interiors have antique flooring and vaulted with stone. The furnishings are elegant and comfortable. The blue sky, olive trees, fragrance and colours of the natural Mediterranean vegetation provide a perfect backdrop to this enchanting place; offering guests peace and serenity in close contact with the regenerative powers of the countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Terra Sessana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terra Sessana Ostuni, Italy - Puglia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing