We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Golftrip ever”
Review of Albergo Centrale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albergo Centrale
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fino del Monte
Örebro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Golftrip ever”
Reviewed April 5, 2011

We were 4 golfers from Sweden who decided to play golf in Bergamo. We found this hotel on the homepage of the Bergamo Golfcourse. It looked nice so we booked it for three nights. The owner Venanzio Pollini picked us up on the airport and took us to the Golfcourse. The rest of our trip was like a dream. The hotel, the food, the excellent wines, the hospitality and the generosity from Mr. Polloni and his family was something of the best we ever experinced. He transported us turn and return to the Golfcourses, booked teetimes (he knew everone),
took us to sihgtseeings in the nearhood and let us know his friends. Good Golfcourses, Mr Pollini himself, the excellent food and wines, the family and everything makes us coming back to this wonderful place.
Gunnar Ackebo, Sweden

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gunnarackebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    25
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
21
30
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hals, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2010

The owner, Venanzio and his lovely family gave us a varm and caring holliday. Always very helpfull and friendly - even with pickup and return delivery at airport. The food we had in the restaurant was fantastic, especially the deserts and the wines were great. The restaurant is a fantastic place with thousands of interesting things from all over the world (see the pictures). We also spent some nice and cosy hours in the bar run by Antonella, together with the local residents - very authentic. Give yourself a treat - go to Albergo Centrale in Fino Del Monte - we will certaintly be back again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMohr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Another triumph for tripadvisor. After staying expensively in Bergamo we hired a car to go up into the Pre-Alps. The Albergo Centrale was strongly recommended by previous reviews and we were not disappointed. It is a family run hotel with all of the friendliness and commitment that you would hope for. Venanzio Poloni is an extraordinarily hospitable host with good English. He is highly focussed on ensuring that his guests have just what they want. His wife is a convivial presence in the bar and mother-in-law is a gifted chef. We were offered lunch for 12€ each day to include an extensive buffet, hot dishes, and wine included. We only managed it once because the evening meal, at 24€ also including wine, was so splendid. A sequence of imaginative dishes, elegantly presented and we ate there every night. Very consistent with the style and generosity, Venanzio would bring espresso at the end of the meal and leave a bottle of Grappa on the table to put in the coffee. Except the night that he brought us a half bottle of superb Sicilian Muscat to have with desert. We had shown an interest in wine and got to visit the super wine cellar that I think is his pride and joy. Almost as important as his collection of golf clubs.

It is in a great position in the small village of Fino del Monte just a couple of miles from the fascinating old town of Clusone (you have to see the 1485 fresco of the triumph of death and the danse macabre) and on the way up to the wild country of the Presolana pass and beyond. There is a small downside that the bedrooms front onto a quite busy local road so if you are desperate for quiet this may not be for you in the summer. You can in fact come by bus from Bergamo airport and continue up to the mountains. Of go the 10 miles to Lovere on Lake Iseo. But there is plenty of good walking nearby.

Our room was spotlessly clean, with free internet and two small balconies with views of the village square and the mountains beyond. We will certainly go back when we get the chance.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peterthegrate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Århus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

A very cosy and nice albergo situated in the small town Fino Del Monte about 45 minutes' drive from the airport. The service is fantastic and the hosts are very service- and customer minded. The food is good Italian food made with love and there is a wide selection of the finest wines. A small cafe where you can have your coffee etc. The rooms are fine and clean with TV and bath. It was a very good experience especially because the hosts are so hospitable and provide an ambiance that you do not experience in many places.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GitteNehlsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rota, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2010

The owner of this 100 year old family-run hotel is a gem! We did not rent a car, and the hotel owner drove us everywhere we wanted to go --even to and from the airport! Our accomodations were quiet, up to date and comfortable, graced with a balcony with spectacular view of snow- topped mountains, a church tower and a quiet piazza. The history and charm of the hotel family and their village enchanted us completely. We snowboarded at nearby Monte Pora and Presolana which served up reasonable rates, great snow and bunny slopes for beginners. We received deep discounts on our ski passes and rental equipment negotiated by the hotel owner . Each night we ate in the cozy hotel restaurant, obviously popular with the locals. We were given a choice seat in front of the cozy fire, surrounded by hotel history, good food, friends and family. The trip was in a word-- Perfect!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBunker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2010

Family run business that really takes care of the client. The owner is very willing to accomodate your needs and will make sure that clients are satisfied.
Restaurant has some outstanding Italian cuisine with some home made pasta, they are great.
The place is very safe and people are so friendly. Parking is very convenient. Very close to some ski resort and the owner will provide shuttle for the clients. It's also a walking distance to the commercial area and you can enjoy the place as well.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank odinega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2009

We flew to Bergamo then a bus to Fino Del Monte. As we got of the bus, we turned round to find the hotel right in front of us. And standing outside the hotel waiting for us, was the owner Mr Poli.
The hotel is a small family run hotel in a small quite town. Very clean and tidy and very good value.
The owner Mr Poli had lived in England for a few years and spoke excellent english. Right from the first moment he was amazingly helpful. Each and every morning he drove us to the slopes and picked us up. In the evening you would find him serving in the restaurant. With excellent food and wine and a house desert to die for.

The nearest slopes are about 20 minutes away and ideal for intermediet/advanced. we also had a go on a snow mobile which was great fun.

I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone, And I thank mr Poli for his generosity and helpfullness.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fino del Monte
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#1 of 3 in Fino del Monte
29 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#3 of 11 in Castione della Presolana
152 reviews
22.4 mi away
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#1 of 1 in Fuipiano Valle Imagna
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Albergo Antica Locanda
Albergo Antica Locanda
#2 of 2 in Clusone
51 reviews
4.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Presolana
Grand Hotel Presolana
#4 of 11 in Castione della Presolana
309 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hotel Marcellino
Hotel Marcellino
#3 of 7 in Selvino
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Centrale

Property: Albergo Centrale
Address: Via da Fin 2, 24020 Fino del Monte, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Fino del Monte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fino del Monte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Centrale 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
very good restaurant, comfortable rooms and an excellent wine cellar. The hospitality and professionalism of the staff make L'Albergo Centrale the ideal choice for every occasion: trip with friends, family, work meetings and for any kind of ceremonies. Value for money guaranteed by the experience gained during the thirty years of activity.L'Albergo Centrale is in Fino del Monte, a location near to Clusone, in the heart of the Orobic Alps at 750 meters above sea level. The village, with a good hospitality, rise among green lawns and flourishing woods: very nice for trekking lovers who can find the really nice Sentiero delle Orobie. Among the main routes, the walk to Fiume Serio waterfall, to Coca peak, Redorta valley e more other. For ski lovers, the Presolana and Monte Pora ski area are very near.Fino del Monte offers also the possibility to visit locations of artistic and cultural interesting as the foundation "I Fantoni", the astronomical clock of Pietro Fanzago and the oratory of Disciplini. In a few minutes also the Iseo lake with its nice landscapes and cultural locations.Just choosing L'Albergo Centrale, the enthusiasts will benefit from the Golf Package: four nice funny days in the green area of Golf Club l'Albenza in Bergamo. The very nice golf course, one of the best in Italy, is at 45 minutes from the hotel. It is possible to ask directly to L'Albergo Centrale in order to organise the travelling to and from the golf course ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Albergo Centrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Centrale Fino Del Monte, Italy - Province Of Bergamo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing