We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and quiet hotel”
Review of Orsa Maggiore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Orsa Maggiore
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Isola Vulcano
Certificate of Excellence
Emmendingen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly and quiet hotel”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We enjoyed the pretty location of the hotel away from the busy parts of the island. The staff was very helpful and friendly and we could communicate in English. The rooms were kept very clean and comfortable. In the restaurant, the local fish was deliciously prepared. In short, if we go to vulcano again, we will choose this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kakulinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    76
    23
    6
    8
See reviews for
71
123
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lund, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Friendly and helpful staff. When they saw we had brought our own nutella for breakfast they made certain that a 5 kilo nutella jar was purchased the next day. Small things like this happen all the time which is appreciated. Pool is clean and nice to swim in and the common areas are very clean and nice. Room are a bit spartan but clean and nice anyway.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

First of all many thanks for everything to Rodolfo. We stayed seven nights at the hotel. Room was always clean and very well equipped: TV, comfortable bed, fridge, balcony and airconditioner. There was a bidet in the bathroom. But telling the true the shower was small a little bit. Breakfast was delicious. There was a big pool in the garden. It was a very good idea to separate a part from the pool for hydromassage beds. The hotel was about 10-12 min walking from both centre and the Gran Cratere vulcano. And just 4-5 min from a supermarket. The transfer is free from the harbor when you arrive to the island and back. What to do there? If I were you first I would climb the vulcano. If you are in a very good condition you can reach the top within 24 min. Take a litre of water. What else? It worth going to a trip to the south part of the island to snorkell. You can see octopus (if you are lucky) and gas steams from the bottom of the sea. And last but not least have a trip to Stromboli to pay for a late afternoon climbing tour to enjoy eruptions from the top.

Room Tip: My room was on the first floor at the and of the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arakanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2013

A real surprise. We had chosen to stay 2 nights on the Volcano Island because of our wish to experience an active vulcan on our round trip on Sicily. It was a little random that we found this nice, little hotel. We felt warm and friendly service from the first moment, when we where picked up in the harbor. Our well-being and wishes for what to do and what to see where excellently cared for. Both the manager and the staff cared in a familiar way and made it a very pleasant and stay.
Rooms where nice, clean and well air-conditioned. Dinner was good, well prepared and plenty . Breakfast was breakfast; italian style :)
Nice pool area. Close to nature. Beautiful mornings.
Terrific walk to the crater with steams of sulfur and thermic spots. Nice boat ride around the island. Don´t forget mask and snorkel. And if you don´t mind the smell of sulfur, go to the mud pool near the harbor. Would like to relax at this place for a longer time. A little pearl for heart and soul. Thank you so much. Dr Kirsten Neckelmann, Denmark

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosePhineNeckelmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soest, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Very good hotel with an excellent pool in the quiet part of Vulcano. Free pick up service from the port. Very good diner and breakfast and early enough to catch the morning boat to Stromboli. Good access to the hikes on the island.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jekyll Island, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We have just returned from another wonderful stay at the Orsa Maggiore in Vulcano. We've been coming to this lovely family owned hotel for a number of years and over that time have witnessed many improvements - a lovely swimming pool, new dining area, room upgrades, Wifi, etc. Meanwhile, the warmth of our welcome by the family, the superior service and delicious Mediterranean cuisine have remained consistently excellent. The hotel's location is perfect in a tranquil area close to the best beach (black volcanic sand) on Vulcano and within easy walking distance of the town center and the little port where one can take day trips to the other aeolian islands. For anyone looking for a somewhat "off the beaten track" vacation in a mythological place,we highly recommend the Orsa Maggiore.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We loved Orsa Maggiore.
They picked us up upon arrival and since then everything went really well.
Basic but clean room, lovely view from our small balcony. We also enjoyed the swimming pool. Staff is professional and very friendly at the same time, they match politeness with lots of smiles. We always had dinner at their restaurant and we couldn't reccommend it more. Would definetely stay again should we go back to Vulcano.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirko74London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isola Vulcano hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mari del Sud Resort
Hotel Mari del Sud Resort
#3 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
511 reviews
1.2 mi away
Therasia Resort
Therasia Resort
#1 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
965 reviews
0.5 mi away
Les Sables Noirs
Les Sables Noirs
#2 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#6 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
303 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eros Hotel
Eros Hotel
#5 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aura
Hotel Aura
#7 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orsa Maggiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orsa Maggiore

Property: Orsa Maggiore
Address: Via Porto Ponente 4, 98050, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Isola Vulcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Isola Vulcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Orsa Maggiore 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Orsa Maggiore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orsa Maggiore Isola Vulcano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing