We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sleep under a volcano”
Review of Hotel Aura

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Aura
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Isola Vulcano
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“sleep under a volcano”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Right at the volcano, with it's own pool and Jacuzzi. Not far from the beach and the port, in the quiet part of the little town/village. Very friendly and helpful staff (Hi Tomasso and Gomer), clean and not to expensive. Very nice breakfast with nice coffee and freshly baked croissants. Would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spravny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    56
    28
    3
    6
See reviews for
44
70
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meise, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We loved our stay in this hotel a short walking distance from the port
We arrived early in the morning and they were very friendly & helpful keeping our luggage till our room was ready around midday and all through our stay
We had a nice big room with a little private terrace, that was really nice, the hotel itself is lovely as is the relaxing pool. Big bathroom that just needs the shower seen to, but plenty of hot water.
Breakfast is quite adeaquate, if not the best we had in Sicily , and included in the price and can be eaten outside on the nice terrace.
Walking distance from the crater and from Vulcanello and the port.
And a good tip (and special price offer) to go to a very good restaurant Don Piricuddu down the road
We regretted not staying more than one night in this hotel and on the island in general (even though some guide books are pretty negative about it)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AILSA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Messina, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2014

As we arrived the Hotel...Wow! is the only word to say. The hotel's view of Volcano itself & the pool with hydromassage made our stay so relaxing. The place, the service and staff are very accomodating. We made the right choice! ;) Thank you so much to the staff of Hotel Aura! Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: the rooms beside the pool is the best room of choice :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelsbreath1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Lovely hotel nestled away from the main street of Vulcano town. Light and airy reception and rooms and staff that are happy to help with anything. Good and adequate breakfast and brilliant coffee. Free as part of breakfast and €2.50 at any other time so make sure you make the most of breakfast. The pool was clean and big enough for a nice swim. All in all a lovely little hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynne2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Great little Hotel with very friendly and helpful staff, went out of there way to make us feel at home. If I had to think of any criticism it would be more about the quality of the services on offer on the island. Overall I had a great three days there.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monumentchaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Charming hotel in a reconverted villa, five minutes walk from the town centre and the mud baths and beach. On arrival the locals told us it was a long walk from the port with suitcases so we called and the hotel immediately sent a car to pick us up. In fact it's only five minutes away on foot, but they were extremely courteous and pleasant. Our whole stay has been like that. Each request is met with a smile and " problems" resolved immediately. Don't go if you expect lavishly appointed rooms, everything to work and smooth efficiency. There are no chests of drawers in the rooms, only a wardrobe and we had to request more coat hangers, the shower head in my bathroom wasn't working but a little man turned up immediately with his trusty spanner and fixed it on the spot, the tv is still on the blink, and I have to prop the outside shutters leading to the veranda with a couple of chairs to keep them open...yet we love it! We requested two quiet rooms and were assigned rooms that open up onto a large terrace we have sole use of. The ideal place if you want to relax. Read alex73 review and agree with everything he says with the exception of breakfast, we didn't find any of the things he mentions. Breakfast is disappointing. Excellent coffee and cappuccino from amazing machine that also makes a lovely thick hot chocolate, great if it's a chilly evening. We were offered two slices of a second rate boiled ham, unidentifiable cheese and packets of biscuits, nutella and jam. The bread is nondescript but the custard filled croissants amazing, so that's all we have and we go to the bakery for bread or focaccia and pizza, and the local grocer, both just round the corner and they open at 07:00 to buy cold cuts and cheese, and they don't mind at all when you bring it in. there is a fridge in the rooms so it's very doable. To be fair it may be due to the fact that the season hasn't started yet , but be forewarned. A little touch of Fawlty towers, but with smiling, welcoming service. Nice pool and jacuzzi outside, and it's really well located. We'll certainly be back next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa55051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2010

We arrived on the island and there were no signs on how to get to the hotel. As we were not sure how to get there and it was raining, we asked for some help from a local who drove us there for 10 Euros - a 2 minute drive. We booked through the internet with a confirmation but when we got there they did not have our reservation. After twenty minutes we were able to get a room. As well when we left the person at reception could not speak English, Gernan nor ITALIAN. As well we had to pay cash and we did not get any receipt or invoice. The breakfast was poor and the room itself was dark. There were no curtains so if you wanted light you needed to open the shutters which allowed the other guests to watch you. In general, this was the only hotel in Sicily where we can say we were disappointed. We scored value in the middle due to the fact that the island is more expensive in general to stay on then Sicily.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank appl_pap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isola Vulcano hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mari del Sud Resort
Hotel Mari del Sud Resort
#3 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
511 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#6 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Residence Al Togo
Hotel Residence Al Togo
#11 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Therasia Resort
Therasia Resort
#1 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
964 reviews
0.4 mi away
Les Sables Noirs
Les Sables Noirs
#2 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eros Hotel
Eros Hotel
#5 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aura

Property: Hotel Aura
Address: Via Lentia, 98050, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Isola Vulcano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Isola Vulcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aura 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL AURA, an oasis of quietness and relax at the foot of the volcano so to enjoy its fascinating view. The hotel is situated at few steps frm the port, the mud bath, geothermal pools and from the amazing beaches. A villa in a typical aeolian style with a wonderful terrace and surrounded with a bloom garden and a swimming pool with hydromassage. All rooms are ground-floor, comfortable and cosy disposed of air-conditioning, frigobar, safety-box, satellite tv, direct phone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Aura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aura Hotel Isola Vulcano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing