We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is this an apartment?”
Review of Les Sables Noirs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Les Sables Noirs
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Isola Vulcano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2006

I stayed 3 nights. The room was so poor that I couldn't believe it was a 4 star hotel. Our sheets on the beds were not replaced but just re-arranged the same ones whole 3 days. When we arrived, we found a cockroach lying on the ground. The hinge of the door under the desk in which minibar was installed was disengaged. Poor breakfast without egg & bacon. It is totally strange that this hotel has still a lot of guests. If you are planning to visit Vulcano, try Therasia Resort [------------] instead.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank kwa0601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 291 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2004

Although I think this was the best hotel on the island, I was slightly disappointed. For a four star hotel it has a nice looking pool, decent size bedrooms, great restaurant and bar for port and sunset viewing, and private beach area. At first view, it all looks amazing, but on closer inspection you notice a few imperfections. For example, the pool drain/gutters did not look very clean and was missing a few covers too; other than that, it's a great pool. The bedroom and bathroom were nice and spacious, but somehow tiny ants managed to get to some drinks and food in our rubbish bin and the bathroom had a real shoddy old shower curtain. The room didn't even have a window, but wouldn't matter as none of the rooms have any views at all that would be of interest. No private beach either, as was advertised, but there is a private beach AREA. The beach is pretty much public. I didn't expect any of this from a four star hotel and think the room rate maybe just a bit high, but then again this is a hotel on a small island. Perhaps my expectations were too high. In any case, staff were very courteous and friendly; impeccable service. The best part of the hotel is the indoor/outdoor restaurant; great for evening dining.

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ukadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Les suites avec vue mer sont magnifiques…
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank brijou58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissMAry_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANTONELLA D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Les Sables Noirs, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Peppe238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANTONELLA D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Les Sables Noirs, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dasco1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANTONELLA D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Les Sables Noirs, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANTONELLA D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Les Sables Noirs, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isola Vulcano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mari del Sud Resort
Hotel Mari del Sud Resort
#2 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
574 reviews
0.8 mi away
Therasia Resort
Therasia Resort
#1 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
1,025 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#6 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Eros Hotel
Eros Hotel
#5 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
242 reviews
0.5 mi away
Orsa Maggiore
Orsa Maggiore
#4 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Conti
Hotel Conti
#10 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Sables Noirs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Sables Noirs

Address: Via Porto di Ponente, 98050, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Isola Vulcano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Isola Vulcano
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Isola Vulcano
Price Range: $124 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Sables Noirs 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the spectacular location of the Aeolian Islands, which has been a UNESCO world heritage site since 2000, and directly overlooking the Baia del Ponente bay, lies the renovated four-star Resort Les Sables Noirs, just a few steps away from the sea. Having always been considered one of the most prestigious establishments in the archipelago, Les Sables Noirs combines natural beauty with top-class style and facilities. Choose to spend your holidays in a corner of paradise which is unique in the world. Enjoy every comfort you desire, as well as the beauty of a pristine sea and a still-active volcano. Les Sables Noirs Hotel is located directly on the black beach at Vulcano and is just 500 metres from the town centre, which is within easy walking distance. It enjoys a spectacular view of the other Aeolian islands, and also of a sunset whose colours are never quite the same each evening. This hotel has recently been renovated (using eco-friendly products) and boasts ​​mosaics in typical Aeolian colours. The 29 new rooms, which have a sitting room with kitchen area, as well as a garden and terrace, have been furnished with taste and elegance, and with every attention paid to detail, in order to make our guests feel completely "at home." The hotel also features 14 rooms located by the swimming pool. All are spacious and comfortable, with a veranda furnished in typical Aeolian style. Les Sables Noirs also offers holiday apartments. These new apartments each have a fully equipped kitchen area. All 43 rooms are equipped with air conditioning, WIFI, satellite TV, telephone, minibar, hairdryer and a safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Les Sables Noirs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Sables Noirs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing