We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place to stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of 36-Baginbun Head

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Fethard On Sea, County Wexford

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tinazzzzz
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed July 30, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We are just back from a week here. Beautiful clean, comfy, well equipped house. Lots to do in the area, our kids 8 and 6 had a ball and wanted to stay there FOREVER! !! Laurene was the perfect host gave us lots of useful information and left us to enjoy our week!! Super part of the country ...definitely sunnier in the South East! Would recommend this place to any family . Thank you laurene !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
69doreen
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“peaceful and relaxing.”
Reviewed May 24, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

the cottage is on a quiet country road and only about 20 minutes walk to Carnavin beach
and baginbun beach. Both excellent.The Templers inn a ten minutes drive away is well
worth going to, serving very good food.
The cottage was nice and clean and well maintained. Mrs Doyle was there if you needed
any help, and we found her very helpful and cheery.
If we plan a visit to Fethard-on-sea again we we would more than likely stay at 33 baginbul
head.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet and the long distant views
Liked least: could do with a few pyrex bowls for the microwave cooker.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cgmIrelan...
Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Cosy, calm and relaxing.”
Reviewed April 15, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our week's stay at Laurene and Mike's cottage in gorgeous Carnivan on Hook Head. The cottage was spacious and very cosy. My partner and I and our 2 year old toddler felt completely at home there, and Laurene was the perfect host - she was so helpful when we needed anything, but otherwise left us in peace to enjoy our holiday. A special thank you to Mike for letting our toddler visit the cows at feeding time - he absolutely loved it. The views out the window were stunning, and with a choice of 2 sandy beaches less than a kilometre away, we really felt we had chosen a beautiful part of the world to stay in. The cottage had everything we needed, with comfy beds and couches, reliable internet and lots of storage space. We would highly recommend the cottage, and would love to return there someday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy warm house on cold nights!
Liked least: TV not great quality
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorshirej...
yorkshire wolds
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Super cottage- cosy and VERY well equipped!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My family consisting of husband, teenager and 9 year old loved this cosy cottage! Everything was pristine and we received the warmest welcome from the owners.
After a terrible ferry crossing it was a delight to relax in such a warm and comfortable home.......In over 15 years of staying in cottages this was definitely the warmest and the information book was the best bar none!
Thanks to Laurene for all her help and suggestions to make our stay so special.
PS- front double room has the comfiest bed... IN...THE .....WORLD!!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillSw
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Value. Clean and modern.”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Spent 6 nights at the cottage in September 2013. Located across a field and small road form the Irish Sea. The cottage is well equipped and modern. It was also clean which is very important to us. We booked this cottage because we had not stayed in this part of Ireland and because the cottage rental was all inclusive. Normally the owners, who live next door on their farm, do not supply towels because their visitors tend to be more local and take their own but when she learned that we were from Canada, she told us (by email) that she would supply them and sure enough there were plenty of towels for the two of us. Now that is service. Showed us how to operate the heating system so we could turn it on at will if it got chilly, and it did a bit. Everything we needed was supplied. We have no hesitation in recommending this cottage. it may be a bit out of the way for some people, about a 30 minute drive to New Ross but that is the only negative and it is really personal preference. Great hostess. Great place to stay. Great value.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All inclusive pricing for a clean, modern cottage
Liked least: The fog! Every morning there was some fog!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
154BigAl
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stay again - Yes we would.”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We met the owner as agreed and immediately felt at home. As our grown up daughter said "I feel very comfortable here". The area is not one we have stayed in before however we found it incredible - good weather always makes things great! But the local people, the amenities, the history were all super.The new decking at the rear of the house is an asset and although great views to the rear, a quick walk over the field at the front gives incredible views of the coastline, Hook Lighthouse, Saltee Islands etc There was nothing we needed more in the house and we all slept well. Locally, have to say The Templars Inn at Templetown was best food both in quality and value with super staff, that we have experienced for a long time.
In summarising, this house is not the most luxurious but it made us very content and went a long way to us enjoying our holiday in a great area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nothing best, just felt at home
Liked least: not a sea view from the house
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing