We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cockroaches favourite hang out is the 'Villa'!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Katerina Studios
Ranked #12 of 52 Parikia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cockroaches favourite hang out is the 'Villa'!”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Eventually arrived at the 'Villa' (they had a unused welcome coach which was rusted and broken down) and had a room that if was any smaller, prisoners would riot for infringing on their human rights for being so tiny. My hands could touch one wall and my feet the other wall. The balcony faced onto a back of a building, so the view I had was completely of a wall. We got another family room which was larger, but soon became clear it was infested with cockroaches! The response from the 'Villa" was to plug up every hole with toilet paper. Of course this did not stop the infestation and every night when we came back to the place, we were greeted with roaches running around in the bathroom, in the childrens bed, around the kitchen plates and cutlery and the floor. We had a hellish time trying to get rid of them and the children were afraid to sleep. When confronted with the situation, the owners denied responsibility saying they never had it before and even insinuated it was our fault!!! We talked to friends on the Island and they all agreed that this place has been on the slide for some time and would never have recommended the place to us. Indeed, they were very angry about the situation "Villa" Katerina placed us in. The last time I spoke with one of the owners, I had three roaches in a cup as he came into the building. I told him that I found these in the room. He said, Did you kill them? When I replied, he said, "Nice one, thank you very much!" and left. Of course, no offers of partial refunds or anything. They took all of the money owed and bade us farewell when we left.
The cleaners did not change the linen often, they put a block of faux marble over the hole where the water from the shower exited to try to stop cockroaches . No attention to detail was evident and it felt like the place was slowly being abandoned and unloved. However, the pool area was nice, but even that was on the verge of disaster as the owners did not clean the pool out everyday and there was a lot of dirt in it the next morning. We spoke to other people in the rooms who complained of walls like tissue paper, faulty air conditioning, beds like bricks etc. One couple had to be evacuated to another room because their room kept flooding. At nights the owners were scurrying around making empty promises to all but it seems this vain attempt to keep this ship afloat is doomed.

Room Tip: I dont think a good room exists I'm afraid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lostinibiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paros W, Public Relations Manager at Villa Katerina Studios, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
We are totally open to constructive criticism but honestly we don’t think that we deserve the review made by lostinibiza.
We would like to address point by point the various issues raised:
- Villa Katerina is located a few minutes walk from the arrival/departure port of Paros and all our guests are aware that we don’t offer pick-up service.
- Our unsatisfied guests (a family of 4) were aware that we didn’t have a free apartment for the first days of their stay and were offered instead, on booking time, 2 smaller rooms for the first days, before they could move to the regular family apartment. When they told us that they thought that the rooms were too small, we had the opportunity to propose an alternative apartment that just went available.
- At Villa Katerina we change linen every 3 days and towels every 2 days, or anytime upon request.
- Cockroaches can be found in Parikia as in most hot places in summer. We have a preventive mild pest control policy which has proved effective, as visits of those disagreeable insects are very rare. Unfortunately exception to the rule occurred to that apartment and at that time. The “infection” consisted in not more than 5 of those specimens during our guests’ stay, which is certainly 5 too much!
- A partial refund would have been possible if requested, but it was not.
- The reputation of Villa Katerina for good value for money and for the hospitality of its owners is established since a long time, locally and globally among the thousands of happy returning guests from all over the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    27
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
33
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

On a budget this place is fine. The rooms are sparsely decorated: bed, aircon, bathroom, and a desk - we didn't want much else. However, the rooms need some work - they kind of feel like they may fall apart if you shut a door or window too hard. The bathroom door doesn't close properly, and has a habit of swinging open mid shower, and there is also a window near the shower so you can see people walking past as you are washing (awkward - although they probably wouldn't be able to see in); the matresses are lumpy and thin, and the rooms lack comfort or character. When we arrived there was a strong smell of soap, once that died down the smell is a little strange, but you get used to it.

The best bit about this place is the free wifi, the pool and the location. Short walking distances to bakery, supermarket and a lovely open air cinema. The busier part of town is a 10 minute walk at the most, location is perfect.

Do not come here if you are a creature of comfort, the rooms are not places where you want to spend a lot time in - which suited us fine in 35 degree heat in Paros! The place is also noisey - the rooms are all very close together, and perhaps the walls are also thin; we were kept awake by our Greek neighbour who was talking loudly and moving furniture. Pack those ear plugs if you're a light sleeper!

All in all we are happy, on a budget this place is perfect - the owners all seem nice and helpful, but for me, the rooms lacked the homely comfort which makes a place special.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globetrottingdaily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Our best recommendations to other families, a lovely place with friendly people.

Nice rooms
A great pool area
A noisy fridge...

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lhouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koblenz, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

I would reccommend Villa Katerina. The owners are friendly and accommodating - provided us with extra pool towels and cooking pots. The location is good, near a small supermarket, bakery, English language open air cinema and of course a short walk from pretty Parikia town. The pool area is excellent and the water is very warm, there is also a BBQ area with kitchen by the pool. The room was clean and there is air conditioning.We had a lovely stay there. I also recommend Paros island as it is calmer and less touristy than some of the others but there is still loads to see and do on the island - but you need to hire a car which will cost approx 30euro per day.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Livvy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FIN
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2009

We were in Villa Katerina with our family in June 2009. Hotel has good location. It is about 3 min walking distance to old town. Better beaches in town are little more far away. Maybe about 1 km? So we spend a lot of time in the hotels very nice pool area.

Rooms are quite basic, but clean and very okey. Balconys are very small, but there is normally few chairs and one table and plenty of space in front of rooms, where you can sit and forexample eat your brekfast. Large pool area was absolutely the best part of this hotel. Owners were very friendly and helpful. Prices in June were between 30-50 €, depends which kind of room you choose. We tought that prices were very reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greensome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parikia
0.0 mi away
Cyclades Hotel and Studios
0.0 mi away
Pyrgaki Hotel
Pyrgaki Hotel
#24 of 46 in Parikia
161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saint George Hotel
Saint George Hotel
#1 of 3 in Nea Chryssi Akti
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Afrodite Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Narges Hotel
Narges Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aliki
220 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eri
Hotel Eri
#12 of 46 in Parikia
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Katerina Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Katerina Studios

Property: Villa Katerina Studios
Address: Parikia 84400, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Paros > Parikia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Parikia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Villa Katerina Studios 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Katerina is a small family run operation located in Parikia, the main town and the port of Paros Island, Greece. It offers rooms, studios & apartments for 2 to 5 persons and a beautiful garden with swimming pool where you can relax and enjoy your drink. It is near the town's waterfront with a small beach for your first swim as well as cafes, bars and restaurants. The narrow lanes of the old town are a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Katerina Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Katerina Studios Paros/Parikia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing