We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great island, great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunset View Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Parikia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2008

We enjoyed our staying in this hotel very much!!! The hotel is on a hill close to the centre of Paroikia, so every balcony has a breath taking view! We loved the sunset and the night view of Paroikia from our balcony! So we would strongly recommend this hotel for young couples for romantic moments! Really nice hotel with comfortable rooms, a roofed private parking area, the breakfast was ok, the only negative we can say is that the pool was a little bit filthy, but who cares! Paros is an island with great beaches!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NIKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 242 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2008

We stayed at Sunset View as part of a two centre Paros/Mykonos trip that webooked through Kosmar. We'd looked up its reviews here on TripAdvisor before we booked, so we were confident it would be a good place to stay. We weren't disappointed and in fact it would be safe to say that it exceeded our expectations by quite a margin. Simply put this is one of the best places we've ever stayed, especially in Greece which has a reputation for being a little on the basic side.
Our accommodation consisted of a 1 bedroom apartment with a large, spacious, well decorated and well appointed bedroom, a very good bathroom, seperate cooking and sitting area (which we never used, except as "extra space" for stashing stuff), a small front terrace and air conditioning that was icy cold. The windows were fitted with mosquito screens so you could leave them open without worrying about insects getting in, as well as with bars so you also didn't have to worry about miscreants getting in - not that there were any around.
There was daily maid service and towel change and the rooms were kept spotlessly clean, as was the whole complex, which is very picturesque. The views over the ocean are lovely, especially as evening descends. We enjoyed a pre-hitting-the-town drink on the terrace overlooking the sea on a few occasions.
As stated in another review, the staff consisted of the owner, his wife and a maid, though they were assisted by the son & daughter occasionally. This is typical of Greek family run businesses and is not a problem, provided they can cope with the workload. At the time we were there they could cope admirably, though admittedly it was not quite the busy season, which began the weekend that we left.
Gripes? We only have two. First is the long uphill slog from town; there's nothing that can be done about that, it is where it is, but Kosmar don't make mention of it and it would be no good for those with walking difficulties or just those who are plain unfit!
Second, one day we were going to Naxos, a neighbouring island, and needed our passports, ferry tickets and money out of the safe (which is in reception). Reception was locked and there was no one around, which gave us mild panic for an hour or so until the owner returned. Lucky the ferry wasn't for another hour or so. I'd think that for safety if for no other reason there should always have been someone around and hopefully this is not something that's repeated often.
At the time that we went the other guests were all what I would politely describe as "older couples", older even than us and we're in our mid 40's. This suited us fine, as we wanted somewhere quiet and relaxed, not overrun by boisterous youths or screaming kids.
As a resort Parikia was perfect. Almost 2 miles of seafront backed from start to finish with great tavernas, bars and cafes. We wanted to try every one of them - without exception there was nowhere we looked at that we thought "I wouldn't go in there". The Kastro area is lovely, as are the pretty, narrow backstreets, especially in the evening when the shops seem to come to life. It's a great base for seeing other islands too with regular ferry departures. We visited Naxos from here and also travelled to Mykonos.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SymiSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2007

This hotel has everything!!

* Perfect location - only 10 min walk to the port centre and the sea. The town is filled with sea front restaurants, chilled out music bars and the winding streets are crammed with tiny shops selling everything from olives, cakes, souvenirs and wine

*Beautiful panoramic views over Parikia Bay (apt name for the hotel) Sunsets here are the best,

*Lovely pool with amazing water feature and with kids section and swim up tables for drinks

*Gorgeous, reasonably priced food and drinks if you want it
(esp. the greek salads) You can have meals at your terrace if you want!

*Fab rooms with sea views, well equipped kitchen area, huge upright fan, sky tv, fridge and lovley sit down shower

*Friendly staff - came and collected our cases on arrival and will do anything from booking a taxi to helping with Greek phrases!

*Spotlessly clean - towels and bins changed every day and floors and surfaces cleaned every day

But most of all the peace and tranquilty is great. This hotel is a gem, one in a million and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank louise247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2007

We made our second trip to Sunset View on the 5th May and were pleased to find it exactly as before; but with one huge improvement. The pool problem we encountered on our last visit, and the justifiable complaint of a previous reviewer seems to have been resolved. The water was very clean and it was frequently used by my wife, who wouldn't have dipped a toe in it last year.
We really love the views and value the peacefull atmosphere. As it is the start of the season there were only a few others there, but that is fine by us. The steep road up to the rooms reminder us that a little more exercise wouldn't go amiss, but this was rewarded by being able to rexal with a cool glass of Mythos and watch the sunset or the activity down at Parikia port.
Will I go there again ? Next year with a bit of luck.

Dave A

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank labmech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2006

September 2006 We booked in the last week in September - the room was lovely and the view was fabulous, but there were only 3 other rooms occupied. The pool was filthy, full of leaves and dead insects, the bar was supposed to be open but there was never anyone in there serving - when we went down for water the water was never in the fridge, therefore it was warm and on top of that we could not get anything to eat without ordering it in the morning and then there was limited choice. There was only the owner and his wife and one maid there was no other staff. The place was well looked after and the position was brilliant but I would not go again and they definitely need a pool man ! Yuck!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BonJovbiggestiFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2006

What a great find! “Pinch me, I’m dreaming”, “I’ve died and gone to heaven” and other cliches spring to mind. This hotel is located in Parikia. It is a pleasant 10 minute walk to the main drag but being elevated you are compensated with incredible views. We booked a studio and were given a one bedroom apartment. In terms of cleanliness, it was spotless. A bedroom, another room containing a kitchenette, a dining setting and two single beds. And a bathroom, of course. Then there was the balcony. Glass in hand, jasmine scent wafting in the breeze (is that a cliche?), long hours were spent here admiring the pool, the harbour, the ferries and the glorious sunsets. Yep, it doesn’t get better than this. Oops, there goes another cliche. And friendly, helpful staff too. All this for €50 a night. Mmm….note to self – must include Sunset View Villas in retirement plans. Website - [--].


  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worldinabag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2005

This hotel definitely rates a mention, but was not previously listed on Trip Advisor. We were advised by a friend that grew up on Paros Island to stay there and we were so pleased we did. It is up on the hill behind Pariokia Port and the view is something to behold. The sunsets are amazing and viewed from the hotel, all the houses below, also change colour. The owners Dimitris & Biddy? are just wonderful and really make you feel at home. Breakfast on the terrace with the view on one side and the monestary on the hill on the other, was a great experience. The hotel has a large pool, terrace for dining or lazing, indoor dining, a lounge area, and a bar area. We stayed there early October and although it was not too busy in town, we were glad to be 1 kilometre from the town. It gave you a sense of 'going home' for the night! The walk into town only takes 5-7 minutes and is a very pleasant walk past either some shops, or the beach. Our room was very large with everything provided, even cooking utensils. The breakfast that is included was fresh and varied and we looked forward to it every day. Every room has a balcony, and full view of the town, port and beach. Even though this hotel has a family atmosphere, it is run and looked after like a top class hotel. I would recommend it to anyone visiting Paros Island - and when we return in a few years, will definitely be booking into the 'Sunset View Hotel'

15  Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parikia
4.7 mi away
Senia Hotel
Senia Hotel
#5 of 45 in Naoussa
570 reviews
2.4 mi away
Minois Village Hotel Suites & Spa
0.4 mi away
Apollon Boutique Hotel
Apollon Boutique Hotel
#6 of 46 in Parikia
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Paros Agnanti Resort
Paros Agnanti Resort
#11 of 46 in Parikia
557 reviews
1.1 mi away
Akrotiri Hotel
Akrotiri Hotel
#2 of 46 in Parikia
367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Polos Hotel
Polos Hotel
#9 of 46 in Parikia
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset View Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset View Hotel & Apartments

Address: | Klimata, Parikia 84400, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Paros > Parikia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Parikia
#7 Family Hotel in Parikia
Price Range: $61 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset View Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset View Hotel, is one of the best hotels in Paros, it has been built amphitheatrically above the town of Parikia. The hotel offers a pleasant stay with a variety of amenities. The rooms of one space and the apartments are surrounded by large terraces or balconies with amazing views of the town, the pool, the unique bay with the deep blue of the sea and of course the BEST SUNSET. Only 10 minutes from the port but away from the noise of the center, 9 km from Naoussa and a junction point for the other villages and beaches. The quiet atmosphere and aesthetic quality, make your holiday at Sunset View a highly wonderful experience. All the one room apartments are featured with a double and a single bed and can accommodate 2-3 people. The two bedroom apartments, feature a double bed and single beds to accommodate 4, 5 and 6 people. The two-room suites feature a separate living room and large terrace. Featured with restaurant and lounge cocktail bar with a stanning view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunset View Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset View Parikia
Sunset View Hotel Parikia
Sunset View Hotel & Apartments Paros/Parikia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing