We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful reasonable simplicity”
Review of Pension Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Sofia
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Parikia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Sofia and her husband operate this beautiful tranquil oasis in a convenient location in Paros. They are an extremely friendly and genuinely nice couple who cannot do enough to help guests. The house itself is very nice with the rooms spotless, we had breakfast served to us every morning in the garden with its fabulous plants and water features. To me this place is an enjoyable as any 5 star lodgings with a much warmer welcome than many of its more expensive competitors. A visit to Greece is not complete without a stay at Pension Sofia.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank legaleagle27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
There are newer reviews for Pension Sofia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 362 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed here a week ago, during our honeymoon. The owners could not have been nicer. They picked us up at the ferry dock, gave us great suggestion for places to eat, things to see and where to watch the sunset. They have an spotless well kept garden and served us breakfast made to order every morning.

Room Tip: You have a great view of the sunsets from the second floor west facing rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Todd-Montse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We found pension Sofia through tripadvisor and were definitely not disappointed!

The location is great, as it is in the centre of Paroikia but on a quiet road, with an amazing garden. The hosts are very friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome: one of the reasons why we chose this hotel was because it was advertised as pet friendly and we were traveling with our (very well behaved!) dog, Anastasia, who also loved it there! Sofia and Manolis were very nice to her (and to us!) and kindly picked us up from the port and drove us back upon our departure.

The room was well appointed, even though a bit on the small side, and had everything one could ask for, including a hair-dryer (always a bonus!), a tv, free - and working! - wifi, a refrigerator and a kettle, a lovely balcony and one of the best showers we've encountered while staying at similar pensions around the Cyclades. Bonus points for daily service, regular sheet and towel changing and cleanliness in general.

We hope to return in the near future!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank d_nassimpian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

If someone would have told me 15 years ago, that Heaven exists on earth, probably....., but it really exists an this place id called Pensión Sofía in Parikia, Island of Paros in Greece. First time I visited the place it was a strange feeling, as something known, a past life.. who knows, but ever since then, it is like comming HOME. Sofía, Manolis and Evita, become our Greek Family, we have seen Evita growing during these years and is now almost a Lady. These fantastic people make you feel like family, they take care of you and make you always have a pleasant stay. Since 1998, Sofía has always been, the best place to go on holidays and after 3 years with our comming, se have returned home. Today is my last day here, but I am already thinking what fantastic days I will send here next year. Sofía & Manolis, efjaristo parapoli.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I loved Pension Sofia! I would definitely stay there again! I felt at home and very welcomed to be there.it was so great, I felt like I was saying goodbye to family when I left!

The room was decorated so sweet, the bed was comfortable, and everything was kept so spotlessly clean. I'm not sure about the other rooms but my room had a shower witha handheld shower nozzle.
There are about 12 rooms on the property.

There is wifi and use of a computer and phone in a common area.

The grounds are beautiful with olive and fruit trees and beautiful plants and flowers.
It's only 2 small blocks to walk to the main street at the port.

I was there for a week and really enjoyed it.
The whole place is cared for with love.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed two nights at Pension Sofia. The owners were really friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was really good (especially the Greek yogurt and Sofia’s homemade cakes). The pension has beautiful gardens and is well located, close to the port. Sofia and her husband are not in the business just for money, they are genuinely happy to welcome their guests. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agnes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

This has been one of the best places we have ever stayed. Quiet, private the gardens were stunning with a huge amount of detail and thought put into them and the rooms. Little conveniences all thought of, very tasty breakfasts and gorgeous cats giving it a lovely homely feel. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatLoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parikia hotels
0.1 mi away
Cyclades Hotel and Studios
2.2 mi away
Minois Village Hotel Suites & Spa
0.3 mi away
Sunset View Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apollon Boutique Hotel
Apollon Boutique Hotel
#6 of 46 in Parikia
239 reviews
0.8 mi away
Akrotiri Hotel
Akrotiri Hotel
#1 of 46 in Parikia
362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eleni Rooms
Eleni Rooms
#9 of 46 in Parikia
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Sofia

Address: Parikia 84400, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Paros > Parikia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Parikia
#2 Family Hotel in Parikia
Price Range: $53 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofia Pension is an A class traditional Cycladic style hotel pension complex, located in the heart of a huge verdant garden with roses, basil, bougainvilleas, jasmines.It has direct access to the town center, the beach and the restaurants, while at the same time it is a serene and quiet complex, ideal for peaceful holidays.All the rooms have satellite television(BBC WORLD NEWS,TV5 MONDE,ARTE,and one Italian channel).There is free wifi in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pension Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Hotel Parikia
Pension Sofia Paros/Parikia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing