We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A pittoresque pension” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Sofia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pension Sofia
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Parikia
Certificate of Excellence
Gisborne, Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A pittoresque pension”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Manu and Sophia were always so friendly and hospitable, making every effort for our stay to be the most pleasant experience possible. Manu picked us up at the ferry and dropped us off when we left. He would surprise us with freshly picked grapes from the garden in the morning.
The pension is a little paradise. Very good location, walking distance from the village, in a quiet street. You can leave your scooter safely outside the property.
The garden is amazing, surprisingly green amongst the drier landscapes of Paros in August. Very relaxing. There are mediterranean-style terraces where we would have our breakfast in the morning or glass of wine with Greek olives in the evening.
The room was simple, clean, with a little balcony, all with a mediterranean charm.
I highly recommend Sophia's pension. I'll go back there any time. A peaceful and welcoming place great for family or couple or even solo traveler.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    40
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
180
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This really is a gem, the hosts can't do enough for you and they have a beautiful garden where you can start the day with breakfast in style. The location is excellent, only five minutes walk to the beach, the port and the shops; we only had three days here but would definitely like to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at Sophia's Pension in Parikia on the Greek island of Paros for 10 nights. We adored everything about this lovely garden "oasis," just a hundred meters away from the cobalt sea and shops. Mornings were delightful with delicious coffee, toast and Sophia's homemade cake bread, and feta cheese and tomato omelets on our private balcony. Coming home to the peaceful gardens in the afternoons and evenings was a true delight, and a wonderful break before dinner. Everything about this lodging is carefully chosen, sparkling clean, and well run. Do not hesitate, book this little paradise on your next trip to the Greek islands! We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor units for a little more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidBeckFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at Pension Sofia for 11 nights in mid Sept with our 3 year olds. We had a lovely time. We were in room 9 and had a double bed and two singles. I was a bit worried that we would all feel a bit cramped in there for such a long time but we had a lovely big terrace with vines and bougainvillia covered trellis which gave us extra space . Rooms are not massive but clean and charming. The gardens are lovely - with hammocks, swings and lots of areas to have a chill out or eat one of the delicious breakfasts. To the delight of our children there were also animals - rabbits, tortoises, cats, dogs and even puppies when we were there.
Pension Sofia is about a 10 minute walk to the old town, very close to the sea and beaches. The hosts, Sofia and Manolo are lovely and gave use free transfers to and from the port.

Room Tip: Room 9 has a lovely big terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JCJ71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed at Pension Sofia for three nights in August this year. It was excellent from start to finish. We received free transfers to and from the Port area (its a short distance really, but busy and hot!). The room was lovely, immaculately clean and had everything you'd expect from a 'pension' type hotel. The gardens were beautiful and the welcome and attention from the owners was lovely.
We would definately recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay there.
Nice clean rooms with a nice feeling and atmosphere.
Quite place with good people.

We can recommend this place for sure to everybody.

We will see you the next year!
Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacque F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We recently returned from our second visit to Pension Sofia (our last being three years ago - we always knew we'd go back) and were every bit as enamoured with the place as we were first time round. The rooms are charming, the gardens are beautiful (their delicious breakfasts in the sun are the perfect way to start the day) and the owners are the most delightful couple you could hope to meet - friendly, helpful and dedicated to keeping the place welcoming. If you are going to Parikia don't even contemplate going anywhere else.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Francesca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parikia hotels
0.1 mi away
Cyclades Hotel and Studios
0.3 mi away
Sunset View
Sunset View
#5 of 47 in Parikia
4.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
0.9 mi away
Akrotiri Hotel
Akrotiri Hotel
#1 of 47 in Parikia
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Minois Village Hotel Suites & Spa
0.4 mi away
Paros Agnanti Resort
Paros Agnanti Resort
#9 of 47 in Parikia
4.5 of 5 stars 481 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apollon Boutique Hotel
Apollon Boutique Hotel
#6 of 47 in Parikia
4.5 of 5 stars 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Sofia

Property: Pension Sofia
Address: Parikia 84400, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Paros > Parikia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Parikia
#2 Family Hotel in Parikia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofia Pension is an A class traditional Cycladic style hotel pension complex, located in the heart of a huge verdant garden with roses, basil, bougainvilleas, jasmines.It has direct access to the town center, the beach and the restaurants, while at the same time it is a serene and quiet complex, ideal for peaceful holidays.All the rooms have satellite television(BBC WORLD NEWS,TV5 MONDE,ARTE,and one Italian channel).There is free wifi in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Pension Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Hotel Parikia
Pension Sofia Paros/Parikia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing