We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of Pension Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Sofia
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Parikia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed at Pension Sofia for three nights in August this year. It was excellent from start to finish. We received free transfers to and from the Port area (its a short distance really, but busy and hot!). The room was lovely, immaculately clean and had everything you'd expect from a 'pension' type hotel. The gardens were beautiful and the welcome and attention from the owners was lovely.
We would definately recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 366 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay there.
Nice clean rooms with a nice feeling and atmosphere.
Quite place with good people.

We can recommend this place for sure to everybody.

We will see you the next year!
Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacque F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We recently returned from our second visit to Pension Sofia (our last being three years ago - we always knew we'd go back) and were every bit as enamoured with the place as we were first time round. The rooms are charming, the gardens are beautiful (their delicious breakfasts in the sun are the perfect way to start the day) and the owners are the most delightful couple you could hope to meet - friendly, helpful and dedicated to keeping the place welcoming. If you are going to Parikia don't even contemplate going anywhere else.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Francesca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We booked two nights and extended our stay as this is a very special place. The location is perfect, set back from the main road but 5 mins walk to the beach, port and town or if you prefer you can just relax in the lovely garden areas. The garden has wonderful outdoor spots, gazebos, chairs and hammocks that you can while away time in with a book and not be disturbed. Manilos and Sofia keep this place spotles both in the rooms and the garden. All the small things have been thought of and you cant find any problems. Make sure you get the breakfast, its lovely to sit outside and have the freshest juice and coffee, toast, egg etc brought out to you on a tray. I had a parcel I needed to post on our last day but the post office was closed. Manilos was happy to post it for me the next day......amazing service and just the most restful and relaxing place to stay. Book now before everyone else does, its just great.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Argamemnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Worth every moment/penny. No need to think twice..just book it. This place is located in a peaceful area adorned by the beautiful garden. Breakfast under the gazebo with cats and Nala(the owner's pet dog) around, gave us a pleasant start everyday. I'm still hung up on Nala, the best and only dog I have ever pet!! Yes..you feel at home.
Rooms are much bigger compared to the hotels/b&b in other islands. Our room and bathroom was clean and maintained well. Breakfast is not included in the price. It doesn't even matter for the price you pay for the room.
If you would like to just relax, this is the place to stay. The owners are very friendly and ever-smiling. We will definitely return to Paros, just to stay at this wonderful place. AMAZING!!! I sincerely thank the owners for making our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: Choose a room with garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MadhuAndBalaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

If you are looking for peace, kindness and beauty, just go there!
The landlords are exeptionally nice, each room has a balcony, the garden is a dream, the hotel is perfectly located to visit de Island and is so peaceful...
A wonderful experience. I will certainly go back there as soon as I can.
Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daphne_martel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Pension Sofia during our 2 days on Paros, in between Santorini and Athens.

The pension is located near the main beach in town and is set amongst a beautifully landscaped garden that the owners themselves have developed. Our room had a double bed, and a single. It also had a balcony with a view over the gardens. Our second day on the island was incredibly windy, and it was impossible to leave the pension without being blasted by sand, so the balcony was a great place to sit and enjoy the sun, a good book, and a cold beer; all while staying sheltered by the wind. The hotel has free WiFi and an internet terminal in the lobby. The owners were very friendly and even gave us a ride to the ferry terminal when we checked out. We would definitely recommend this place to stay while in Paros!

We had arrived on the island without any place reserved to stay for the night. We hopped in a car with a rep from one of the other hotels in town and went to check it out. The place he took us was a dump but for the price (35 euros) we figured it was okay. After settling in I decided to go for a walk and find the Pension Sofia as it was recommended in my Lonely Planet guide book. After finding it and talking to the owners, I was pleasantly surprised to find out that they had a room available and it was only 40 Euros per night! Needless to say we cancelled our room at the previous place and moved over to the Pension Sofia!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parikia
0.5 mi away
Argonauta Hotel
Argonauta Hotel
#7 of 46 in Parikia
373 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunset View Hotel
Sunset View Hotel
#3 of 46 in Parikia
242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apollon Boutique Hotel
Apollon Boutique Hotel
#6 of 46 in Parikia
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Minois Village Hotel Suites & Spa
5.2 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#2 of 47 in Naoussa
449 reviews
4.9 mi away
Senia Hotel
Senia Hotel
#5 of 47 in Naoussa
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Sofia

Address: Parikia 84400, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Paros > Parikia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Parikia
Price Range: $51 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofia Pension is an A class traditional Cycladic style hotel pension complex, located in the heart of a huge verdant garden with roses, basil, bougainvilleas, jasmines.It has direct access to the town center, the beach and the restaurants, while at the same time it is a serene and quiet complex, ideal for peaceful holidays.All the rooms have satellite television(BBC WORLD NEWS,TV5 MONDE,ARTE,and one Italian channel).There is free wifi in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pension Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Hotel Parikia
Pension Sofia Paros/Parikia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing