We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Our Stay Here”
Review of Pension Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Sofia
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Parikia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We had a fabulous stay at Pension Sofia in June. The inn was clean and bright. Our room was spacious and had a great balcony that almost doubled our floorspace. The location is very good - easy walking distance to the town and close to the beach. The only drawback is that it's not directly on the beach and water views are across rooftops. We were picked up at the ferry terminal and driven the few blocks to the pension which was a really friendly way to start our visit. We rented a car and used the free parking provided. The car rental was really terrific for seeing more of Paros and not being confined to the schedules of public transportation. We loved driving along and stopping at whatever beach or taverna struck our fancy. We didn't have full breakfasts at the hotel but I did have a cappuccino every morning, and sitting on the terrace in the morning with coffee, perfect weather, and a gentle breeze is one of my favorite memories of the trip. I'd highly recommend this hotel for anyone who is looking for good value in a very clean, nicely decorated, comfortable friendly accommodation. The only thing that didn't work quite as we would have liked was the internet. The wireless is limited to a few areas outside, has spotty coverage and seems to be dependent on the weather and time of day.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PixelsnFluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 366 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2011

the owners, manolis and Sofia were very accommodating , we were collected to and from the port. If you are looking for clean, decent rooms set in a beautiful garden area, then you must stay here. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Absolutely beautiful hotel. Conveniently located close to the port, but far enough away that is quiet. Beautiful gardens, and it is very nice to sit out on the balcony enjoying some wine.

The owner is very friendly and helpful, picks you up from the port and shows you some of the things in the town on the way. Not luxurious accommodations by any means, but everything is very clean and the property is pretty and very well-kept. Would definitely stay here again if we ever returned.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Best value in Greece.
Nothing there is luxurious (including the location) but if you´re looking for fair price AND a special place, Sofia Pension is a great option in Paros. When you arrive at the pension, you´ll notice the area around it is not impressive at all, but the place has a gorgeous little garden, in which you can sit and enjoy the wonderful Greek breakfast. Paros is great, Parikia is a fantastic area, The owners are incredibly nice and the rooms are extremely clean and tidy. For 75 euros a night in the high season, you can´t get better than this.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eduleal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

The only thing more beautiful than the Pension and gardens are the owners Sofia and Manuel. We loved our stay and of course did not want to leave. The whole property is beautifully kept with gardens full of olive trees, hammocks and flowers.
It is perfectly located walking distance to central town.
Sofia Pension was a perfect stay in a beautiful town.
Thank you Sofia and Manuel you are amazing and wonderful!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BLTxholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed 2 nights and were very happy with service and have no complaints about anything. Manilos collected us from the airport, the room was quiet and clean with a lovely outlook over the garden. Breakfast was delicious - freshly squeezed orange juice, plunger coffee, 3 different home made cakes, 2 types of rustic breads, eggs, etc. all eaten outside in our own bougainvillea covered gazebo. Nothing was too much trouble for Sofia and her family. Location was great, just back from the beach and not too far from the port. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BOTNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We absolutely loved Paros island, and Pension Sofia was definitely part of it!
The pension is situated outside of the busy streets of Parikia, but the town being quite small, it is not a problem. You can be at the beach in 2 minutes, the port in 7-8 and to the busy city center in 10 minutes.

The property is beautiful, with a large garden, olive trees, green grass, many flowers and cute animals (that stay outside, don't worry). The room was clean, definitely freshly painted! It was a good size, but the bathroom is a little small. Our room had a small fridge and AC. Accommodations are basic, but you have everything you need for our cheapest stay in Greece! All rooms have balconies and it is really quiet at night. Breakfast is optional.
The owner offer pick up and drop off to the port with a smile!
We would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Parikia!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megou_quebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parikia hotels
0.1 mi away
Apollon Boutique Hotel
Apollon Boutique Hotel
#6 of 46 in Parikia
245 reviews
2.2 mi away
Minois Village Hotel Suites & Spa
0.1 mi away
Cyclades Hotel and Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Akrotiri Hotel
Akrotiri Hotel
#2 of 46 in Parikia
368 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anna Platanou Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Eleni Rooms
Eleni Rooms
#13 of 46 in Parikia
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Sofia

Address: Parikia 84400, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Paros > Parikia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Parikia
#2 Family Hotel in Parikia
Price Range: $52 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofia Pension is an A class traditional Cycladic style hotel pension complex, located in the heart of a huge verdant garden with roses, basil, bougainvilleas, jasmines.It has direct access to the town center, the beach and the restaurants, while at the same time it is a serene and quiet complex, ideal for peaceful holidays.All the rooms have satellite television(BBC WORLD NEWS,TV5 MONDE,ARTE,and one Italian channel).There is free wifi in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pension Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Hotel Parikia
Pension Sofia Paros/Parikia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing