We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastico!!!”
Review of Trata

Trata
Ranked #35 of 85 Restaurants in Parikia
Price range: $17 - $29
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Rome, Lazio, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastico!!!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I am greek and i leave in Italy.Ive been in Paros 2 times and this will be the third this summer.If i had to describe Paros with some words , one of them would be -Trata- ..Instead of all the touristic standard food that you will find even in restaurants in front of the sea, i totally and higly recommend you to prefer and go to Trata.This taverna like we say , is the real taste of greek food , made by the hands of the great Leta and Lefteris(owners).Absolutely delicious , tranditional and clean, they give you the impression that you are eating ''from the hands of your mother''.Also the atmosphere is perfect and the service of Georgia (their daughter) very high and friendly.The absolute greek tastes, hospitality, warmness and kindness!Dont miss this and also ''kavourosalata''!!!;-) I cant wait to go back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dafni-Lore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    64
    38
    24
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were reccomended the restaurant by our pension and were so pleased we went back for my husbands birthday. The food was the best we had in Paros very fresh tastiest dolma des I have ever had. The host is the chef's daughter and she was very attentive and very helpful with choosing coeliac friendly dishes. The restaurant was lovely and clean with some very cute cats looking hopeful. The host also russled up a candle for a surprise desert for the birthday.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CatLoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Been twice already, food service everything excellent very good for gluten free hostess is also gluten free and can get food made up to suit. Stuffed squid, sardines, eggplant very tasty.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BFCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Last September / October we visited the Trata a few times and always had great service and excellent food.

This year we eagerly looked forward to a return but were sorely disappointed by the service, the food and the cleanliness. We will not be returning.

We arrived at 21.30 and were surprised how quiet the place was. Even so we had to wait a while before anyone welcomed us or suggested a table. There were some not cleaned from previous diners and we found one away from smokers.

It took a while to catch the eye of the scruffy girl serving on the tables and we placed a simple drinks order while we waited for menus. We waited and waited until I managed to catch her eye again and eventually our wine arrived. A flustered apology and we were given menus.

There were many scraggy cats pestering around the tables where people were eating, and all sorts of bugs and flying insects kept dropping down on to the tables. We are frequent visitors to Greece and know this can happen, but this was the worst we have seen. The place looked shabby and in need of a good clean up and paint job.

When our main courses eventually arrived my pork chop was very overlooked to the point of it being very difficult to cut and very salty. My wife ordered octopus in red wine (a dish we both loved last year at the Trata) and she could not eat much as it too was over salty. The managers came past and we explained about the food, she showed little interest or concern and said that octopus is from the sea and therefore it is salty! No!

This place has gone way downhill since last year when it was smart, clean and had great table service. The excellent waiter Adonnis now works just down the road at Pepe's excellent grill taverna where the spit roast lamb and pork are superb!

Service, food and cleanliness are vital, and the Trata scored very low on all three. We will not return.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue in London
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Ate here this evening and the food was fabulous. It's a small, traditional place with lots of fish on the menu. We couldn't decide what to eat so the waitress (chef's daughter) helped us pick.
We had some fabulous dishes - I particularly recommend the octopus in wine, the tomato/cracker salad and the spicy cheese. Some of the best Greek food I've eaten. Even the bread is amazing.
Good food and good service at a good price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Soozy2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trata also viewed

 
Parikia, Paros
Parikia, Paros
 

Been to Trata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing