We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice restaurant, great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ephessus

Ephessus
Ranked #15 of 81 Restaurants in Parikia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

nice restaurant offering greek and anatolian food. Nicos, the owner provides you with all the details to order the most delicious plates available!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank xenia_p2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    199
    68
    27
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Greek Yum-ness!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

Amazing food, all deliciously home-made. Don't miss the home-made bread. And the owner took the time to sit with us and a map of Paros and show us all the places worth seeing. Great place!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MaayanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
493 reviews
309 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
“A great marriage of Turkey & Greece”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

A Turkish restaurant on a Greek island? That's exactly what it is, though obviously Greek food also features on the menu.

We walked past Ephessus on our first afternoon on our way out from our apartment to the beach. You could easily miss this restaurant as it's on a minor residential street at the back of the road from the port to Livadia beach. It's well worth hunting down if you want to try something different.

The Turkish owner showed us a fridge display of goodies he was going to serve that evening (though they are also open for lunch) including freshly prepared Hoummus, falafel, stifado and various kebabs.

We came back in the evening and sat outside in the quiet street with tables laid out both sides of the road. We asked for recommendation on a starter and the lady who was serving us suggested we try Mantis. Dim Sum sized dumplings made of flour with delicately spiced chopped veal, sealed and steamed served with whipped yoghurt which tasted remarkably like a raita and sprinkled with paprika. Delicious and very moreish. This was a large plate and couple easily be shared by four people.

For mains, my partner ordered a Pork Chop - yes they serve pork too - which was huge and nicely spiced. It came chargrilled and served with fried potatoes. I went for meatballs - minced beef balls in a spicy tomato sauce with a grain similar to cous cous - may have been bulgar wheat. In retrospect, ordering a chopped meat for starter and main was perhaps making mince meat of things!

I asked for a doggy bag and ate my meatballs between two pieces of bread as sandwich the next day. It was delicious cold.

All in all a good marriage of Turkish and Greek food and something different to try when you want a break from Greek Salad and Souvlaki.

Shelley
http://shelleytravel.wordpress.com/

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank Eat1Drink2Travel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Very nice food away from the main area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

We quite enjoyed the food here. We had some hit and a lot of miss restaurants during our holiday through Greece and this was one of the more enjoyable dinners that we had.

The lady brought us inside to show us all of the food and we sat outside on the roadside.
The stuffed mushrooms were great and the pizza was a bit above average. I enjoyed the meatballs too. There aren't a lot of great restaurants in Paros and this looked like one of the better choices.

Service was a bit slow though when we tried to order more beers and to get the bill.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Clea700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Charming service but food a bit disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

This restuarant which is a bit hidden at the back of the port area includes seating outside but vehicles passing albeit slowly come a bit too close for comfort. The staff are charming and welcome you to the kitchen to explain everything on offer. Unfortunately, a bit disappointed with the end result.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank GreekGeek16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ephessus also viewed

 
Parikia, Paros
 

Been to Ephessus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing