We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where Everybody Knows Your Name”
Review of Petres

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Petres
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Naoussa
Certificate of Excellence
Cary, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Where Everybody Knows Your Name”
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Full disclosure: I've stayed at this hotel four different years. Paros became my go-to island to take new friends/family. That is in no small part due to Clea, Sotiris, and Maria (through the years). They are truly in the business because they enjoy meeting, interacting with, and helping their guests.

If there is a drawback, it is the fact that you don't want to walk to Naoussa. If there is a plus, it is that you are nowhere near the Naoussa. It is a town that can get very loud (I spent my first year on Paros in the center). However, they have a very nice arrangement with a car rental company that makes renting, picking up, and dropping off a rental incredibly easy.

The rooms are like most hotel rooms in Greece - somewhat stark. But, with the continued improvements on the property throughout the years, I recommend spending your time outside around the pool area. It is quiet, they have food and drink available, and the view of the little church on the island in the bay is beautiful.

I could go on and on about how nice of a hotel this is to spend your time on Paros. Simply treat yourself to an effortless stay while on the island, as I am sure you will seldom find accommodation that parallels the Hotel Petres.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have smaller balconies with better views. First floor rooms have bigger , walk-o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Achaean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    34
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
78
230
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Last July after missing the on plane for the week to our scheduled island far to the south of Athens, my friend and I decided to spend the night in Athens at a wonderful hotel I know at the foot of the Acropolis. This gave us time for a visit to the spectacular new Acropolis Museum and a chance to research an island destination with easier travel access.

I just happened to have a small book of recommended island hotels in Greece. We chose the Hotel Petres on Paros as we had both heard Paros was charming and not over run by tourists. So the next day we left from Piraus hoping the hotel would be half as charming as portrayed. We were informed that the owner, Sotiris would pick us up the dock. Trust me; we were not as casual as I may sound about all this as we are no longer young, adventurous, Eurorail travelers! I won’t bore you with the trivial just know we turned into the drive of the Hotel Petres and onto a piece of Paradise. The U shaped hotel was only 2 stories high with tennis courts in back an inviting outdoor area surrounding an infinity pool with an unobstructed view of half the island.

After unpacking in our charming and comfy room, complete with antique furnishings and a balcony made for evening cocktails, we went downstairs to explore. We realized that the pool area had a view from every chair, table or lounge and was just as private as it could be communal. We knew we would use and enjoy the pool while perhaps choosing to socialize on some days but we also knew we had the allure of the Aegean calling us to float for hours at a time. We wondered whether we would have to rent a car when our host informed us that he would drive us to and from various destinations.

In summary out hosts, Clea & Sotiris treated us like guests and eventually friends. Their hospitality was kind, generous and organized. The morning breakfast was always a treat filled with a few of the usual, fresh croissants, homemade breads and jams, various staple eggs BUT… there were also incredible food surprises: homemade filo dough pies filled with original combinations, quiches of fresh garden pickings and wonderful items delivered freshly baked to the back door of Mrs. Clea’s kitchen.

If you are worried that you may not be able to communicate at a small island hotel – forget it. Your hosts and many of the staff speak fluent English, French & Greek. The clientele is international and multi-lingual. If we could take a chance on Paros & Hotel Petres you can take advantage of our own positive and wonderful experience.

MCF

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sebastian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This hotel is lovely..simple rooms with great views and plenty of space. A lovely pool, good breakfast and yummy organic toiletries. The problem would be that it's a bit outside town but wuth the hosts so willing to prvide lifts this proved no problem at all. Well worth a visit.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kerrychick67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Our stay at Petres was perfect. Everything from the decor to the service is impeccable. Each morning we were greeted with the most fantastic breakfast by the pool. Sotiris and Clea were most hospitable and made sure that our stay was tailored to our wishes. Many of the guests were repeat customers, and it seemed as if we were staying among friends rather than in a hotel. The pool and grounds are lovely, and there are lots of nooks for privacy if desired. The decor is just lovely--one of my favorite things about the hotel. I felt so at home there, and we wish we had booked much more time than our 4 nights. The owners speak English which was very helpful in planning our island day trips and meals.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeaC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Hotel Petres is the most charming hotel we know in the Cyclades and in Greece.

The hotel is situated on a very quiet and charming location not far from Naoussa. The hotel is designed with simplicity and very good taste. All rooms face the beautiful bay of Naoussa. We could spend hours enjoying the view at any time of the day, either from the rooms, the bar or the stunning swimming-pool. A very nice tennis court is also available at the back of the hotel.

Everything in this hotel is done with heart and personality by their owners Cléa and Sotiris. It does not take long before you feel at home, in fact you understand the Petres ambiance as soon as you are welcomed by Sotiris in the port or at the airport.

One of the best moments of the day is definitely the breakfast when we enjoy all what Clea has prepared for us : cakes, pastries, jams, home-made of course, top-quality products, every day different. The same apply to the meals proposed during the rest of the day.

Clea and Sotiris really care about you, everyone gets a particular attention, but nothing forced. We also feel very confortable with the efficient, discreet and friendly staff (no commercial smiles required).

I could have started with that : Hotel Petres is our home place in Greece every year since 1995.

What else ?

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HyDa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Wonderful place to stay, full of kindness and attention from Clea and Sotiris. Certainly one the greatest places in Greece islands, we spend a lovely and charmful stay last summer; We will come back soon ! Famille Roman, Paris.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chapaisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2011

This is our secret place with my sister !!!!
we decided it to go there at least every 2 years. In Petres. not for Paros (even if it is a paradise !) but for this place, this hotel, for the positive feeling you have when you enter in the rooms, for the incredible discussions and well being you can have being with clea & sotiris, for the farniente, the freedom of crossing the island on a motorino, for the atmosphere in Naoussa.
we went in 2008, in 2010, next is planned for sure in 2012 !

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melane65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naoussa hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Swiss Home
Hotel Swiss Home
#8 of 46 in Naoussa
161 reviews
1.2 mi away
Senia Hotel
Senia Hotel
#4 of 46 in Naoussa
526 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#2 of 46 in Naoussa
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kalypso Hotel & Apartments
1.1 mi away
Paliomylos Spa Hotel
Paliomylos Spa Hotel
#3 of 46 in Naoussa
386 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kanale's rooms & suites
Kanale's rooms & suites
#7 of 46 in Naoussa
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petres

Property: Petres
Address: Agios Andreas | Paros Island, Naoussa 844 01, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Paros > Naoussa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Naoussa
#4 Family Hotel in Naoussa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Petres 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Petres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petres Hotel Naoussa
Petres Paros/Naoussa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing