We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good quality traditional food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dimitris Taverne

Dimitris Taverne
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Mochlos
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good quality traditional food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We enjoyed a very pleasant evening meal at Dimitri's. It was the best meal we had in Mochlos and was extremely good value. The menu is very traditional and the food well-prepared. Dimitri himself is a welcoming host and makes his patrons feel comfortable and well-looked after. Being smaller than many of the other taverna's in the village, without the large groups, you get more personal service. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    15
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
95 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Beautiful fresh local food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We ate here on the first night of our holiday staying at a villa nearby. Dimitri's is a small restaurant with very welcoming staff. On offer are local Cretan dishes and the delicious ripe tomato and aubergine based dishes which abound in this area.

Very reasonably priced, friendly service and a relaxed atmosphere. We ordered too much food if anything, but it was so tasty we still finished it all!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timbo_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“WHAT A LOVELY PLACE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

we had a day out in Mochlos enjoying the amazing scenery and we came across Dimitris' taverna right by the sea, the best location to eat in. We had a really lovely lunch, the food was prepared with love and we could tell that Dimitris really cared about what he was cooking, with a few little extra touches. We decided that it would be nice to hire the small boat to take us over to the island to look at the Minoan ruins and Dimitris kindly organised this for us! His taverna was the best in the whole of crete (we have eaten at many places all over crete) and we decided to eat there on our last evening. Again it didn't disappoint and after our meal we sat on the rattan sofa provided and watched the sun set, drinking lovely red wine. Absolutely perfect!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richandjill_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
131 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“You must visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Dimitris is set back from the rest of the tavernas in Mochlos, so at first you may just walk straight past without even noticing it. Don't be fooled by this, as there are lovely tables just across the way right by the sea. In fact, it is a favourite place of ours to sit and enjoy an evening meal. Dimitris is a great chef and will cook you a very tasty meal and if you request anything special, such as lobster, he will do this for you. The staff are wonderful too and look after you very well. We love the friendly and relaxing atmosphere and we like to while away the time sipping on a mojito or a glass of draft beer. The taverna itself has a lovely ambience and is very colourful and clean and pleasing to the eye. You can also eat a nice breakfast there too. Definitely, one of the best places in Mochlos!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank korkythecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simple but lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We hired a car and ended up in Mochlos at about 2pm. The first taverna that we came across was Dimitris's and we had a lovely lunch comprising of Greek Salad, Sardines and a couple of drinks - all for 9 euros. There are more tavernas just around the corner on the harbour but we found this one to be ideal. A lovely view across the bay, friendly service and nice clean facilities.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dimitris Taverne also viewed

Mochlos, Lasithi Prefecture
Mochlos, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Mochlos, Lasithi Prefecture
Mochlos, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Dimitris Taverne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing