We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful !”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Mochlos, Lasithi Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
ziggyzm0
Brussels, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful !”
Reviewed June 27, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We almost never give the maximum score for a rental but here, it really deserves it.

On our arrival, besides the warm welcome of Anne and Pete, we found a beautiful house, wonderfully located and perfectly equipped. The fridge was full of good fresh produce and a Raki carafe was available on the kitchen worktop.

Throughout our stay, we enjoyed the 3 terraces which each have their advantage (view, sun, shade, wind shelter). The infinity pool is very nice and the sun loungers are plentiful.
The bedding, though a bit hard to our taste, is of quality, like the rest of the amenities. Nothing is missing except maybe a dishwasher.
Note also, in the worry of being completely objective, a bit weak wifi signal usable only in the living room and the lower bedroom.

Anne and Pete are really charming persons and always listening in case of questioning or problem (but there is never a problem). Their very discreet presence is not obtrusively disturbing, on the contrary! Their pets are a real plus and still brighten the life in and around the house.
The day of departure, the farewells were moving and some even shed a few tears, a sign of a real beautiful encounter.

Azure-Heights is definitely a little piece of paradise. Hope the house will be available the next time we return to this beautiful part of the island.

Nathalie, Anne, Jean & Bruno

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2017
It was a beautiful encounter....such charming guests who we were sad to see go. They were busy bees exploring, walking and filling their days with enthusiasm. We are always thrilled that our guests do bother to see the beauty of Eastern Crete which we love so much. We hope their return is sooner than later as they are always welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discover4...
2 reviews
“Idyllic mountain retreat”
Reviewed October 23, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed here for three nights last week and cannot recommend it highly enough. Anne's hospitality was warm and friendly. Our late night arrival meant that the welcome pack (including bread, butter, eggs, beer, wine and raki!) was very welcome. The location is very tranquil and we loved our afternoon by the pool watching the birds of prey soar below us. Although we didn't cook, the kitchen was extremely well equipped.Mochlos is a very pretty and laid back resort where (on Anne's recommendation) we enjoyed a lovely meal and had the unexpected treat of listening to three local (and completely untouristy) Greek musicians. Go!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2016
The stay for three nights was just not long enough to have this delightful family here. They embraced everything with great enthusiasm, were game for anything and put their all into enjoying their short visit. I was sad to see them go onto another place on the south coast as it really was too short a time.....they were a tonic and as I mentioned before, delightful!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim C
manchester
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“An idyllic retreat”
Reviewed March 13, 2016 for a stay in August 2015

Having discovered the area around Mochlos in 2010, we consider ourselves extremely lucky to have found Azure Heights in 2011. We have returned every year since and always look forward to visiting our little paradise. We have stayed here with family, friends or sometimes just the two of us. The apartment is ideally suited to 2 people, but is also fantastic for 4 people, as there is a separate double en suite bedroom downstairs. From the moment, you arrive you feel completely relaxed. The fridge is always well stocked, the place is meticulously clean, beautiful crisp bed linen - all home comforts are catered for. Words cannot describe the majestic mountain views, but wow! You can sit for hours on one of the 3 spacious patios and just gaze and be mesmerised by the view. The pool is also a favourite place to keep cool and bob around and admire the scenery. You are surrounded by olive groves and have a view to the nearby mountain village of Sfaka. It is possible to walk into Sfaka and have a drink or a snack at a local kafenion and the village taverna will welcome you with mezze and some very tasty food. There are a number of local tavernas a short drive away, so plenty to choose from. Mochlos is a quaint old village by the sea, just a 10-15 minute drive down the mountain. Here you will find a great selection of tavernas and a couple of bars. Also, there is a small supermarket and a just a few tasteful gift shops. It is very unspoilt, so picturesque and very friendly. You can get a little boat across to Mochlos Island to see the archaeological site from Minoan times. Tholos is a beach around a 20 minute drive away and swimming here is a dream. You can also go on a boat trip from a little jetty with two lovely brothers who will suggest some stunning areas to sail to and have a dip. Azure Heights is a place you can stay for pure relaxation - just "fly and flop", but also, there is plenty to explore and we always do a mixture of the two. There are colourful and bustling markets, archaeological sites, beautiful and remote beaches, pretty mountain villages and so much more. So, if you fancy a jaunt, there are many options (too many to mention here), with the knowledge that you can return to you comfortable "home" in the evening and chill out and do a spot of star gazing. Your hosts, Anne and Pete are so friendly and helpful and will ensure that your stay is memorable and advise on any activities. Anne is a yoga teacher and a masseuse, so you can take advantage of her skills. Pete is a professional pianist and never fails to impress us with his musical knowledge. They are on hand, but unobtrusive and your space is very private. I must mention their rescue animals, two dogs and two cats. We do not have any pets at home, but we really enjoy seeing the animals around the place and for us, they enhance the holiday. All in all, this place offers something for everyone and if you want a real taste of Crete, this the place to come. Prices are also much cheaper in this area as it is away from the more touristic areas which makes it great value.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Idyllic location
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 14, 2016
What an amazing review.....think I shall have to get this charming guest to rewrite my blurb on my site as my efforts to say certain things certainly do not match her skills! Indeed these guests have returned every year since 2011 and it is always a great pleasure to see them and have them stay....and we look forward very much to their return this year. Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobeTrot...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely location and a warm welcome”
Reviewed October 9, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We booked this property based on location and previous reviews. On arrival we were greeted by the owners and given a tour of the accommodation. Annie had stocked the fridge with enough food and drink to feed an army...beers, wine, bacon, eggs, bread, butter, fresh salads, fruits, milk, tea, coffee...you get the picture...more than your average "welcome pack".
Annie & Pete are an engaging couple with many and varied talents. They offer you help if needed, but are never intrusive of your privacy.
Great place to stay for a flavour of the beauty and diversity of Eastern Crete.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 10, 2015
We are delighted with this review, especially as it shows that people DO read the them. Also because it is warming to know that the guests liked Azure heights and felt 'at home' which is something we endeavor to do. Also, the point made about eastern Crete and it's beauty....these particular guests were charming and made a huge effort to get out and about walking gorges and exploring....also something that we appreciate....that guests see lovely Crete! We hope these two will return....sooner than later!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah1964...
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, wonderful hosts, perfect holiday!”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Before raving about the views, the villa and the animals, I have to rave about the hosts! Annie and Pete are the loveliest people who take great care to make sure they do everything they can to make you welcome and relaxed. After arriving late and in the early hours Pete was a friendly face to greet us and show us around the villa. When we awoke we made breakfast from the plentiful provisions that had been left in the fridge for us; fabulous not to have to worry about going out, just as we had arrived, to find a shop. Then a "welcome" chat with Pete and Annie, who marked out on our map places they recommended to visit and eat at. This proved so helpful as I think we only went to one or two places not on their list. I shan't list them as you will, no doubt , be given these recommendations. Sufficed to say they were correct and we visited them more than once.
The villa is airy and spacious with three balconies to choose from for whichever mood takes you. Annie and Pete live in the same villa but it it is designed in such a way that you feel you have your own place and if you didn't feel like it you wouldn't really have to interact at all; not that you wouldn't want to! Towels for the bathroom and for the beach were provided which was a huge bonus as we travelled only with hand luggage. We soon got into the routine of holiday life and felt like we lived there.
We did want to do more sightseeing than we actually did but it was so hot and we were so relaxed just swimming in the gorgeous pool with stunning views of the mountains , eagles circling in the distance and swallows having a mad five minutes in the late afternoon diving into the pool for water! We would also take a daily trip to Mocholos, about ten minutes down the winding mountain, to snorkel from the tiny beach over to the Minoan island about 150 mtrs away. Very safe, very beautiful and rewarding. My 12yr old boy and 10yr old daughter loved it. We did venture to Sitia to look round the archaeological museum but by the time we looked round the whole town we finally found it had closed 10 minutes before! Tip - it closes at 3pm.
One evening we drove round the coast to Istron where Pete plays the piano, effortlessly, in a hotel. Lovely to meet some of his friends who come to support him. Annie is a trained masseuse and will sort your back problems, but also takes a really friendly yoga class on the patio at the villa once a week where we met some more friends from around the area.With the friendliest three dogs and new addition of a kitten all joining in in their own way! Pete has written a short children's book (although lovely for adults too) about the animals, which are all rescued. My kids loved it, and it brought the holiday, with the dogs around , to life for them.
We had such a memorable holiday at Azure Heights and are very much hoping to go back next year. We were so sad to come away from the new friends we'd made and the beautiful surroundings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2015
What an amazing review....we are so flattered. The family was exceptional, fun and outgoing...who could not have taken to them and we are delighted that they so enjoyed their stay with us! We look forward very much to a return visit from them as saying goodbye to them felt like saying goodbye to family!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaQ12...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Stunning location”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 for a stay in August 2013

Azure Heights is a real gem. Beautiful setting, fabulous part of Crete, excellent facilities - but above all, hosts Anne & Pete are brilliant - like the neighbours everyone wants! Helpful, knowledgeable about the area & where to go, but above all, really good company (but also very unobtrusive). We spent a fab 2 weeks with them in August 2013, even joined them at the local bar for drinks & a meal which was an unusual treat, we couldn't fault a single thing. The rescue animals are also lovely to be around - good natured & always pleased to see you! We were a family of 4 including 2 mature teenagers & it was everything we needed for a relaxing break in a really stunning setting. We all loved it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 28, 2014
We are always so thrilled to receive a review such as this one... especially when teenages are in tow. Most gratifying to know that in every aspect, a good holiday was had by all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas...
Oxford, UK
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A wonderful retreat”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Words simply cannot do justice to the great stay we have just had at Azure Heights. Anne and Peter are very kind and thoughtful owners who are very respectful of their guests' privacy but are also extremely welcoming and happy to provide lots of great advice on places to visit. When we arrived much later than expected we still received a very warm reception from Anne. The welcome pack included everything we needed to keep us going for a couple of days, which meant that we could spend the first day relaxing rather than shopping. The house was absolutely spotless and very comfortable. At no point did either of us think "If only there was a ..." because there was everything we needed. The views during the day and at night are stunning - we arrived at night and, like other reviewers, were bowled over when we opened the shutters on our first morning.
Azure Heights is very easy to find, being just one turn off the main road to Sitia - but far enough away from it to mean that there is no disturbance from it. Sfaka is 5 minutes walk from the house and has a small store and two cafes. It is not a tourist trap at all. Mochlos is a 10 minute drive away (45 - 60 minute walk in cooler weather) and offers a great many eating places (we enjoyed Dimitri's most) and a slightly larger store. There is a good, reasonably-priced bus service to Sitia, Iraklion and Agios Nikolaos from Sfaka.
We both had a really lovely, relaxing time and were very sad to say goodbye to our kind, thoughtful and generous hosts. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend staying there - you will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 22, 2013
We can return the sentiments of these lovely guests. They were charming and open to our suggestions which is always gratifying. An interesting point is that they used the bus service which afforded them the time to relax and take in the wonderful views without the stress of driving. We do hope they will return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing