We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly atmosphere”
Review of Galaxy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Galaxy Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Alimos
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The atmosphere is very friendly. The hotel is only few 100m away from the Kalamaki marina. The breakfast is is simple but ok. The negativ point is that the most of the rooms are directly faced to the main street.....it's pretty loud!! Between the rooms the isolation is not good.
To stay there for few days (nights) it's ok. The price is on the upper limit, WIFI is available free of charge!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jost M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 142 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

I stayed at the Galaxy Hotel for one night. It is in a nice neighborhood along the Apollo Coast, about 3 blocks from the beach. The beach is very nice. However, you need to cross a popular thoroughfare to get to the beach. I found the Galaxy Hotel clean and the food adequate and tasty. The room has older furniture but does the job for the price. The reception was helpful and spoke English well. WIFI is available and worked well. Room are basic amenities and was small but adequate. Hotel is on a very noisy thoroughfare but I did not find this a problem, although it probably was because our room faced away from the street. The hotel is only a few blocks to the tram station that will take you to Central Athens, which we found helpful. The trip to Central Athens takes approximately 45 minutes. I found the tram trip very pleasant because I ended up speaking to Greek citizens who asked about America as I asked about Greece. It is a good way to interact with Greek citizens. The Kalamati neighbor was very nice with nice shopping and restaurants nearby. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RocklandMom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed here because it is very near to friends who live in Kalamaki. There is nothing actually wrong with this hotel but it is a bit "tired" looking in places. The main negative for us was the fact that our room faced onto the very busy and noisy main road so try and get a room facing away from the sea if possible. You"ll lose out on the views but may get a better night's sleep. The bed was very comfortable which is important for me. We did not have breakfast there so cannot comment on it. I've only given it 3 stars because personally I'm used to slightly more upmarket places but we didn't pay a lot so it was actually very good value.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the hotel to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berkshire-Bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Comfortable room, very kind staff, wonderful seaview and one step from bus stations to all destinations!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fotis_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Comfortable room, very kind staff, wonderful seaview and one step from bus stations to all destinations!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Papalexakis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Travelled here with Thompsons on an all inclusive deal. Hotel is in a good position right on the beach and appeared to be in good condition at first view. The room was nice with good aircon and lovely bathroom
The public areas are not big enough for the size of the hotel. To get a sunbed by the pool means a 5am alarm setting or you can forget it,. there are beds on the beach but at 8 euros a set per day this is extortionate. The pool itself is very clean and nice but way too small for the number of guests staying there. The pool bar serves local drinks that bear little resemblance in taste to what you ask for and these are provided in half full small plastic cups(Hardly 2 star service let alone the 3* claimed).
The internal public areas are clean and tidy but the upstairs lounge area remained taped off and closed for most of our stay for essential maintenance!
The restaurant was nice but the food served was abysmal. The breakfast was awful so we opted for the toast and Jam route until the toaster broke, was replaced by a partly working one and then disappeared altogether for the remainder of our stay. lunches and dinners were repetative, poorly cooked and presented. We didn't expect Haute Cuisine but School dinners put this to shame. cold drinks were available with your meals in proper glasses but no hot drinks were available with lunch or dinner.
30 euros for a safety deposit box (non refundable) and 40 euros to keep a room on for 5 hours is a bit on the steep side but you have little choice but to pay. We have stayed in lower rated hotels in Greece that have been miles better in every way and will go down this route again in future. A Big Disappointment.. .

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lafaye16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

The Hotel Galaxy is situated on a very very major busy road, busy 24/7 and the road is like a motorway. Rooms are adequate but basic. Had fleas in some rooms on 3rd floor, wifi doesnt work on 4th floor.
Reception is very good, and helpful.
Food was of basic standard in restaurant; ham, cheese, toast for breakfast - with hard boiled eggs cooked night before also available, evening meals were very basic and no desserts, except water melon once.
The neighbourhood had ladies of the night working every corner each evening, and the noise is loud from the passing cars.
Rooms were ensuite (toilet door wouldnt close properly), very small shower, air conditioning, bedroom door - frame/door very loose, no room safe.
Do not get taxi called for you, flag one down then get price first, as they can be big rip offs, and dearer if called by hotel.
Would be difficult for wheelchair users to access the hotel.
Local trams approx 3 euros, taxi 12- 15 euros dependent on time, to acropolis/town area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juejosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alimos
0.2 mi away
Blue Sea Hotel
Blue Sea Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alimos
138 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tropical Hotel
Tropical Hotel
#2 of 3 in Alimos
161 reviews
3.2 mi away
London Hotel
London Hotel
#2 of 14 in Glyfada
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Brasil Suites Hotel Apartments
1.4 mi away
Coral Hotel Athens
Coral Hotel Athens
#2 of 4 in Paleo Faliro
537 reviews
0.8 mi away
Poseidon Athens Hotel
Poseidon Athens Hotel
#1 of 4 in Paleo Faliro
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxy Hotel

Address: 39 Posidonos Ave. & Kalamakiou, Alimos 174 55, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Alimos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Alimos
Price Range: $57 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Galaxy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 471
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Galaxy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galaxy Hotel Greece/Alimos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing