We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 weeks in Athens”
Review of Tropical Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tropical Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Alimos
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“2 weeks in Athens”
Reviewed March 27, 2010

This hotel was definitely the main road of Kalamaki. It is clean, food is basic but staff are very friendly and helpful. It is more suited for singles or couples. The main road is but the beaches are just across the road and excellent. I will definitely go back. The tram service is excellent and the stop is across the road. Be nice to Margueirita the waitress and barmaid shes brilliant x

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PaulineC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    59
    45
    13
    13
See reviews for
31
63
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greece
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2009

The room was lovely and large and full of lots of useful bits and pieces - complimentary slippers and a bathrobe definitely enhanced our welcome. Unfortunately, there is only one cot available and another child was using it. The heating was on full blast and it was impossible to open the window without being blasted by noise from the street outside which was constant - day and night. There are no eating places within walking distance apart from the hotel restaurant although the breakfast was amazing and the people were very friendly so a mixed trip! Sadly, we were happy to leave.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2009

We stay here in October so had little chance to swim in the see. But waling along the beach is also nice. Tropical Hotel is just on the beach in Alimos area, but very far from Athina's city center.
It's at the bus stop "5 Kalamakiou" of Airport Express X96, costs 40 EUR to take a taxi from/to the airport.
Friendly and helpful staff, clean and comfortable room. It is a pity that room with sea view is noisy because of the street outside.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liva0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2009

Do not stay here unless you want to be treated poorly by the staff, nickle and dimed for everything, and forced to sleep on the hardest beds ever!

We stayed at this hotel because it received positive reviews, don't make the same mistake! It's located an hour outside Athens in the furniture district. It is located next to a busy highway and attached to a strip club!

When arriving I asked the rude woman at the front desk if she could recommend any restaurants in the area, she said she could not. We ate at the hotel restaurant it was frozen dinners zapped in the microwave.

This place is awful, I couldn't wait to check out! The only saving grace is there is a decent beach club across the street...I'm sure the only positive reviews this place has received is by the staff who work there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllisonRBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alimos hotels

England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

The hotel was clean and fresh but as the location said that it was opposite waterfront restaurants - this is not true. The hotel stands on a six lane busy road and also a two way tram line before you get to the beach which is pebbly but clean. Whether there were waterfront restaurants before, they were not there when we stayed unless you count the beach bar where they sold normal beach food. We upgraded to a deluxe room with sea view and jaccuzi for an extra 38 euros a night but when we emptied the bath the water came up the drain on the floor and we had to put towels down. However, the staff looked at it straight away. As we were only there for four nights, we didn't bother testing it out again. Even though the road was very busy and noisy, due to the double glass doors you could hardly hear any noise at all in the bedroom. The double bed was two single beds pushed together and the pillows were not the width of the beds. White robes and slippers were available, one robe however, was only suitable for a size 6/8. As we found from other establishments Athens is very expensive - two gin and tonics in the hotel cost us 20 euros and 12 euros for two cups of coffee. If you don't mind travelling into Athens (1euro by tram - or taxi ranging from 8 euros to 20 euros, depending on the time of day) this was perhaps the best place to stay as we went sight seeing in the morning and then relaxed on the beach in the afternoon but of course had to go back to Athens (Plaka) for restaurants in the evening or the other way to Glyfada where there were cheaper and better restaurants. Two sun beds, with umbrella and little table cost 8 euros. By the way the cheapest bottle of wine was house wine at 20 euros. Also I forgot to mention the swimming pool - which was really about the size of my conservatory - two/three strokes and you had completed the length of it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennieEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2009

I booked this hotel to stay for 1 week with my boyfriend to visit family in friends in Greece over the Easter Week in april this year.
We arrived at the Tropical Hotel late in the afternoon and were given our room on the 2nd floor. The room had a brand new shower and bathroom and the decor was very up to date. The room was however, a little small (and the bathroom) so we asked at the reception if we could change and they gave us keys to check out some other rooms. We ended up picking the biggest room in the hotel with the roof top balcony (room for about 15 people or more) with 2 sofas and great view - because they weren't fully booked, they didn't charge us a penny more!

The towels and sheets were changed every day and they even tidied up our room when it got a bit messy! I didn't eat much breakfast while i was there but when I did, there was a nice selection of fresh fruits, cereals, mini crioissants and pain au chocolats...

We hired a car to get around athens while we were there and I would definitely recommend hiring one because even though the hotel is directly on the beach, its nice to go down to Glyfada where all the trendy shops and bars are - if not then you can catch the tram down there which I think is pretty quick - but expensive!

I would say this hotel ticks all the boxes for a good break away - clean, good location, nice rooms, good breakfast, friendly hotel staff and directly on the beach within short walking distance to local shops and restaurants - if i go to Athens I'll be staying here again!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natashasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2009

LOCATION
The hotel is located on the coast, very close to a traffic road but has double windows and the noise is not so bothering.
There is a very good connection to city center (tram and bus stations very close) and to the airport. Pay attention to wave your hand when waiting for the express bus to airport since it doesn't stop otherwise! The ticket to/from airport is 3.2 euro while the taxi is about 35 euro...
You can get to city center by tram in about 40 min. There is also a tram to Piraeus. Tram ticket is 1 euro.
The beach is just accross the big traffic road, there is a free access public beach (which is not very good) and some beach clubs with entrance. By tram you can go also to other beach places...
And since in Athens trams are operational 24 hours during week-end you can go out and come back to hotel late at night.

ROOMS
We stayed in a triple room. The room looked preatty new and was large enough for 3 persons, with a nice balcony. The cleaning was done every morning and towels were changed every day. The bathroom was also big and very clean.

OTHER SERVICES
Even if the hotel says they have a swimming pool do not expect a big one, you cannot swim in it, it is more like a bigger bath tub.
The breakfast is the same each morning, not very big variety, though you can choose something to eat.
The reception lady and gentleman were very nice and gave us correct and helpful information.

In conclusion, as most of hotels in Greece are known to be lower than what they should be for the number of stars they have, Tropical hotel is a good nice well located hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxana_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alimos
1.4 mi away
Athens Poseidon Hotel
Athens Poseidon Hotel
#1 of 4 in Paleo Faliro
858 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Sea Hotel
Blue Sea Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alimos
117 reviews
2.0 mi away
Coral Hotel Athens
Coral Hotel Athens
#2 of 4 in Paleo Faliro
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Palmyra Beach Hotel
Palmyra Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Glyfada
348 reviews
2.2 mi away
Palace Hotel Bomo Club
Palace Hotel Bomo Club
#7 of 15 in Glyfada
211 reviews
2.8 mi away
Emmantina Hotel
Emmantina Hotel
#6 of 15 in Glyfada
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Hotel

Property: Tropical Hotel
Address: 74 Leoforos Possidonos, Alimos, Athens 174 55, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Alimos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Alimos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropical Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tropical Hotel in Athens! Tropical Hotel Athens welcomes you with high quality services in an exceptional place! Tropical Hotel, welcomes guests with grate hospitality and excellent service. The hotel was fully reconstructed in 2003, and offers in every room very comfortable accommodation, equipped with all modern amenities. Tropical hotel is conveniently located at Alimos, on the coastal avenue near Piraeus and Athens city centre, providing the best of both worlds with stunning views of the sea. This beautiful situation, being a perfect spot for relaxation, is at the same time tranquil since it is very close to the beach and away from the busy centre. Taking inspiration from the metropolitan and the natural areas, Tropical hotel is of an ultramodern and unique design with interiors that feature fashionable furnishings, artistic aspects and a serene atmosphere. Tropical Hotel's privileged location, at the waterfront of Alimos, provides flexibility to approach the centre of Athens Yachting Marina Alimos, EL.VENIZELOS Airport, port of Piraeus and most of exhibition centers. Looking the Saronic Gulf, impressive sunsets captivates you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Bookgreece.com so you can book your Tropical Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Kalamáki
Tropical Hotel Greece/Alimos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing