We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly Nice, and Close to the Beach” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropical Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Tropical Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Alimos
Jalalabad, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fairly Nice, and Close to the Beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

For the price, this was a pretty nice hotel. I traveled there solo for a 10 day visit, and didn’t want to spend a fortune as I was heading to Rome after my stay in Athens. The first room I was given was pretty sparse and had two tiny beds in it, so I went back downstairs and upgraded to what was likely a Jr. Suite. The view of the water was beautiful and the room was fairly large.

The receptionists were all very polite and helpful, but the restaurant was a bit odd as it never seemed to have a definitive menu or working hours. The location was very good as it was just a short walk to the beach and various beach bars.

There is an excellent boat cruise available that you can tour three islands on, and they will pick you up at the front of the hotel. The only complaint I have is that the beds are hard as a rock, harder even than beds in Thailand and China. I honestly didn’t sleep a solid night while there due to the discomfort of the bed. Some people love an extra firm bed; I’m just not one of those people. For the price, I would still recommend the hotel as it is clean and close to the beach.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Jr. Suite Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelc640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    57
    43
    11
    13
See reviews for
29
60
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed for a week as our base to explore Athens and surrounds - absolutely wonderful and excellent value for money. The staff were friendly, attentive and always helpful. The room was spacious, comfortable with a lovely balcony and the continental breakfast offered a good selection of quality products. Lovely little pool to cool down and good decor throughout. Highly recommended. Excellent tram service into Athens.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlumus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

I had flown to Athens after doing a tour in Egypt. My travel agent had booked me this hotel and I was looking for affordability so wasn’t expecting too much as I had not even read up on the hotel.
I had taken a taxi from the airport but in hindsight I would have opt for the tram as it’s rather simple to get from the airport to the hotel and cheaper than a taxi.
When I got to reception they couldn’t find my reservation, panic set in, but luckily the gentleman at reception quickly sorted the issue out and was very helpful.
My room was brilliant, spacious clean, air-conditioned and by far the most comfortable bed I had slept in, in a long time. The view, amazing! The hotel is right across from the beach, bonus!
Room service I felt was a bit overpriced but like most hotels I suppose. And also for some reason it took forever for them to answer. Eventually I gave up and went in search of a store, lucky for me I found a street vendor, a few meters from the hotel, bought sandwiches and a burger and cold drinks. So off I went to enjoy my food on my balcony, a small balcony, just enough for a chair to enjoy the view. The reception has maps and information booklets that one can help themselves to, I found the maps very useful for the rest of my stay in Athens. There is no free wifi at the hotel, but you can buy prepaid wifi cards from reception.
Breakfast was definitely a good spread. I especially enjoyed the selection of different tea. Staff were professional and attentive. Amazing view from the hotel restaurant also. When I checked out the gentleman at reception gave me very good directions on where and which tram to take, he went so far as writing it down for me.
I stayed just one night as I wanted to be in the heart of the city, but this hotel is perfect if you want to be close to the beach. The trams are close by so it makes going to and from the city very easy. The hotel definitely lives up to its 4 star status and is without a doubt value for money, and affordable at the same time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yasodhee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This hotel is actually in the suburb of Alimos, but close to its' Kalamaki Beach. Hotel itself is pretty ordinary, but having said that, the staff were wonderful, breakfast good and hotel clean. The beach is just across the road. Bus stop x96 to and from the airport is within very close walking distance. Our room had a view across the ocean, and an enormous balcony. Transport close by with easy access to Athens central. Easy access to the port of Pireas also. More for a relaxing holiday than running around seeing sights (for this you will need to stay in Athens central). However, if you want the best of all worlds at a budget price, this hotel is for you.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amyntas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel is situated right accross a road from the beach. Although the road is 6 lanes and very noisy, the hotel has used wonderful double glazing and noise is not s problem. Balcony in our room was too small to sit on the chair but next doors seemed ok. Breakfast excellent and the young lady serving was lovely. Very handy for airport bus and close enough to not spend a fortune getting a taxi to Piraeus. One down side was the strip cluub next door - they put up huge posters outside the hotel, of the "ladies" one could watch - and in the nude!! The children were upset by the massive poster.

The pool is, as the hotel says, small but great for a cool down, Tiles loose though, and on the pool floor, hopefully will be sorted soon.

The hotel is one I would return to for short break or overnight. Good value hotel.

Room Tip: Not so good if you want to see Athens centre, but excellent for sailing on to the islands.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greecewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Right on the coast of Athens. Beautiful views from our balcony. Room service was good as was the breakfast where there was plenty of choice. Would recommend this hotel for anyone who wants value for money. Nice hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 778Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

Good hotel, ideally located near city area and just across the beach. Bus stop in front of hotel and tram station not too far off. Breakfast included. No Complimentary drinking water provided though. Otherwise overall - good hotel to stay for both family, couple or singles.

Room Tip: Great Stay/Value for Money
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chakravarti m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alimos
1.4 mi away
Athens Poseidon Hotel
Athens Poseidon Hotel
#1 of 4 in Paleo Faliro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
3.0 mi away
Palmyra Beach Hotel
Palmyra Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Glyfada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Sea Hotel
Blue Sea Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alimos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Coral Hotel Athens
Coral Hotel Athens
#2 of 4 in Paleo Faliro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
2.2 mi away
Palace Hotel Bomo Club
Palace Hotel Bomo Club
#8 of 15 in Glyfada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Fenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Hotel

Property: Tropical Hotel
Address: 74 Leoforos Possidonos, Alimos, Athens 174 55, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Alimos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Alimos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropical Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tropical Hotel in Athens! Tropical Hotel Athens welcomes you with high quality services in an exceptional place! Tropical Hotel, welcomes guests with grate hospitality and excellent service. The hotel was fully reconstructed in 2003, and offers in every room very comfortable accommodation, equipped with all modern amenities. Tropical hotel is conveniently located at Alimos, on the coastal avenue near Piraeus and Athens city centre, providing the best of both worlds with stunning views of the sea. This beautiful situation, being a perfect spot for relaxation, is at the same time tranquil since it is very close to the beach and away from the busy centre. Taking inspiration from the metropolitan and the natural areas, Tropical hotel is of an ultramodern and unique design with interiors that feature fashionable furnishings, artistic aspects and a serene atmosphere. Tropical Hotel's privileged location, at the waterfront of Alimos, provides flexibility to approach the centre of Athens Yachting Marina Alimos, EL.VENIZELOS Airport, port of Piraeus and most of exhibition centers. Looking the Saronic Gulf, impressive sunsets captivates you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Tropical Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Kalamáki
Tropical Hotel Greece/Alimos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing