We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Schinderhannes
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sohren
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I can't say enough good things about the restaurant that they have. It is very American friendly and just a short distance to the Hahn airport. It has a great reputation with American military spouses as the place to eat while shopping in Sohren. You can't go wrong with their gourmet salad, which changes seasonally. The staff is outstanding and friendly as well.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 35 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

We chose Hotel Schinderhannes as it was only a 10 minute drive to Hahn Airport.

We were arriving late and leaving early so we just chose somewhere cheap and we weren't expecting much. But we were pleasantly surprised that there was a lovely pub attached to the hotel and it was a great place to have a few last German beers and reminisce about our fabulous trip.

Friendly staff, plenty of parking, wifi, great breakfast and clean rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmesAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Sohren, the village, is not exactly a tourist mecca. Wife and I visited over Easter weekend, April 2012, with the intention of spending a few nights in Zell (Mosel). Zell was covered in tourists and parking there is EXTREMELY difficult to almost impossible. We opted for Schinderhannes being nearby and familiar with it (having lived in Sohren in the late 1970s). Schinderhannes and the staff/food/service were predictably superb. The room in the "new" building was of comfortable size and impeccably clean. The beds were very good (beds across Europe can be 'iffy.') The price for food and room were competitive. Parking was ample and free. I suggest you ask for a room 'away from the street.'

Room Tip: The two-lane street nearby can be quite busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Col_Tomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

My son and I spent 3 days at the Schinderhannes. It was a visit to the town where he was born 37 years ago. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Food was great. We had excellent internet service the entire time we were there.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

On a 2-week European business trip, we had one day with no meetings. It was therefore critical that we spend all day working with an internet connection to arrange bookings, catch up on email etc. This hotel promised internet, but the wifi did not work. They refused to accept that it was their connection failing and tried to blame our devices. When we pointed out we had three separate devices failing to connect to the internet, all of which had worked fine in many other locations, all they could so was say "it worked yesterday" and try to imply blame on us. When invited to take our devices and show us how to log in they would not even try. Very poor customer service, no trouble shooting skill and basis lack of intelligence when dealing with these problems.
However they did let us use the hotel reception customer. Probably they had the mentality that this would solve the problem as if we just wanted to quickly check our email when actually we needed to work all day and had specifically chosen this place because they allowed refreshingly late check out and had wifi. I spent a long time on the reception computer before they finally asked us to move to another computer which did not work either and they would not/could not fix. Possibly the fact that I spent a long time on the reception computer, rather than did a quick useage, might have explained why they were so rude to us and eventually just made short replies such as they had no time to help before walking off.
For me, this hotel was a total failure although we eventually found internet in a cafe in town.
Positive points: near to Frankfurt Hahn airport, easy free parking, nice (perhaps a bit overpriced) restaurant, good rooms, nice vibe in the rooms and outdoor court. I expect many people had better experiences and I think they had just transitioned to a new internet system.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

A cracking little hotel with super friendly staff situated in the village of Sohren about 3 miles from Hahn airport. The food is great and the bar though welcoming not too noisy.
Room had its own balcony and was situated in an annex a few yards from main building. Was spotlessly clean and everything worked well in the room.
The staff were superb and all spoke pretty good English (and French).
There is a shuttle to get you to the airport.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank willmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

My family ( my husband and three adult children ) and our friends family ( parents and two adult children ) nine persons in total stayed at this romantic hotel for only one night ,since we landed at Hahn , going to Amsterdam by rented van,
It's only 4km from the Hahn airport , so convenient!!
Rooms were very spacious , dinner , at the hotel very picturesque restaurant , was very tasty and at a good price .
Parking was free .Free breakfast , also.
The best of all was the friendly staff !! the ladies and the gentlemen were so friendly and eager to make our stay as convenient as possible .
Perhaps next time , we will stay at this beautiful hotel more days to visit the very interesting surroundings.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kyriaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sohren
2.0 mi away
B&B Hotel Frankfurt-Hahn Airport
0.1 mi away
Hotel-Pizzeria VENEZIA
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garni Viktoria
Hotel Garni Viktoria
#4 of 5 in Sohren
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Airport Hotel Fortuna
Airport Hotel Fortuna
#1 of 5 in Lautzenhausen
142 reviews
1.7 mi away
Landhotel Airport-Inn
Landhotel Airport-Inn
#3 of 5 in Lautzenhausen
37 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Zur Morschbach
Hotel Zur Morschbach
#1 of 1 in Altlay
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schinderhannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schinderhannes

Address: Schlossstrasse 3, 55487 Sohren, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Sohren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sohren
Price Range: $82 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Schinderhannes 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Schinderhannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schinderhannes Hotel Sohren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing