We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal base for exploring the Rhine Valley”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel & Restaurant Pinger
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Remagen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed at the hotel during our Treyn holiday. Leonard Pinger was an excellent host, both in the hotel and during our walking days.Hotel was simply furnished, but very, very clean - courteous staff and food very acceptable considering the price we paid. A few little things we missed - tea making facilities in the room and toast at breakfast, but as someone else commented if these are important stay in the UK!

Although close to the station, the trains noise was a bit of a problem the first night but soon got used to it, especially after the first day's walking. The station buffet offered a great selection of 'food to go' and beers and wine. Altogether a wonderful 5 days stay - which we hope to repeat.

Room Tip: Try for a room at the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ERG586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 288 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

Actually I did vaguely hear the trains from my room at the back until I went to sleep but I also talked to people with rooms at the front who thought the trains were no bother once they were nearly asleep. And of course conversation on the terrace has to stop when freight trains go by.

The shower room was great, the bed comfortable and despite not liking German style pillows I had a good nights sleep. Plenty of room for storing clothes and other luggage.

Sorry for those Brits who miss the kettle in the room but that is typical of most of continental Europe........maybe the Pinger family could find space for a hot drinks machine but otherwise the station cafe opens around 5am on weekdays.

Breakfast offered plenty of choice and maybe those Brits complaining of lack of toast could try Brighton or Blackpool instead. Then again for a hotel specialising in British visitors perhaps the Hotel Pinger might consider buying a toaster.

The evening meal again offered lots of choice and was, based on the tour I was on, excellent value. OK so only one soup and a limited but tasty selection of desserts but I think the majority of value went into the main course which was good.

The bar offered two draught beers and at least two good bottled beers plus coffee (and tea) and spirits. Prices for a hotel bar were reasonable.

I went on one hotel organised excursion including a wine tasting which, at first glance, sounded expensive but was certainly better than most wine tasting trips I have been on.

Remagen has some good local shops, the scenery is good and the night life is best described as relaxing.

Room Tip: Go for the back if you are worried about train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank argosy2gb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We recently stayed at the Hotel Pinger for five days as part of a Shearings 8 day holiday. After having read other reviews we had requested a rear room away from the trains. However, this was not forthcoming so we anticipated sleepless nights.

Our first impression of our room (105) was that it was very basic with just a single wardrobe and a small cupboard with shelves (not ideal for two women on holiday!). However, once we had unpacked and settled in everything was fine. The room was clean and kept clean every day with fresh towels if we needed them. The wet room-style bathroom was not a problem at all and there was always plenty of piping hot water, even late at night.

The first night we were predictably woken by the freight trains thundering through the station but after that we got used to them and slept well. Although, given the chance, get a rear room.

The food was excellent. Breakfast was a buffet of just about everything you could want - hot, cold, sweet, savoury, tea, coffee and plenty of it. You could make lunch rolls for the bargain price of 1.5 Euros. The buffet style dinner was also very good, hot, tasty and constantly replenished. The restaurant service was very efficient and friendly with plates cleared almost the instant you had finished eating.

All the staff were friendly including the two Pinger brothers. Leonard organised a group visit on the train to various local towns with wine tasting included and was good company.

All in all, a lovely hotel, in a very nice town which is not at all touristy - a real bonus. The Rhine was just five minutes walk away with boats to get you about. I would certainly recommend a holiday in Remagen at The Pinger.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DelilahJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Visited as part of organised train group, so closeness of railway was convenient. Cannot add much to observations of others who have visited since August - definitely get a rear facing room if possible - at 3am, 60 plus rail trucks travelling through nearby station at high speed WILL make a noise! Certainly rooms are clean as newly refurbished and maintained well with comfortable beds. We didn't have a problem with the wet-room as others appear to have done. A bonus was no loss of hot water during peak times. One thing missing - if you like a cuppa in bed, night or morning, then you will not get it unless you take your own kettle, etc. No facilities available to purchase or otherwise. Food is acceptable, but breakfast was a let-down for us; only continental style is available - the only hot food was boiled or scrambled eggs - no toast and even the croissant was only just warm - no fresh fruit either. Bar staff were very friendly and polite. Tours organised from hotel were enjoyable. As for Remagen, ample small shops to browse around and close walk to the Rhine embankment with some wine bars/restaurants, etc. Ice cream parlour is near to hotel - forget the diet for 4 Euros.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back in the 200's (213 was good) for the reason stated - rail noise. This room is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just returned from five days at the Pinger hotel where the food and the service was very good .The only problem with the food was the desserts was the same every night but apart from that the meals were tasty and well cooked.You are right in the centre of the town but you are also right outside the railway station which is handy if you want a day trip to other towns.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kr8476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Clean, functional and friendly hotel. Owners, Michael and Leonard and their team worked so hard throughout. We were staying as part of a train holiday and received an excellent welcome. The trains were not a problem for us, they were frequent and we could hear them at night, but you soon become used to them. The hotel itself was clean and functional. The restaurant is buffet style and there were 2 choices each night. Food was fine - basic but good. Breakfast was good, lots of choice although not much fruit. Our only quibble with the restaurant is that the tables were not cleared very quickly at breakfast and so we had to clear tables ourselves. The hotel was fully booked with large groups and there were just not enough staff available to manage the restaurant effectively in the mornings. Bedroom was a good size and comfortable, although the wetroom stayed wet after showers which meant that the floors were a little slippy. We wore flip-flops to walk in the wetroom which helped. Cycle hire is available and very reasonably priced at 13 euros a day. They are well maintained and Michael helped us to find the cycle to suit each of us. Leonard took our group on two guided hikes - lots of laughs on the way. The hotel is an ideal base for an active holiday in the Rhine area and Remagen town is good, with supermarkets close by, the Rhine itself only 5 minutes down the hill and so many walks and cycle paths to explore. We found both Pinger brothers welcoming and extremely hard working. They coped admirably with all questions and dealt with their clients professionally and with respect. We really enjoyed staying there and will be back.

Room Tip: Less noise from trains in rooms at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lindyloo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed here while on a train holiday. It is right by the train station, which has its advantages and disadvantages. It’s not like being next to a huge, city station, it is a small ish station, but fast trains do go through. This means you can get trains easily, but the outside area and some of the rooms can be noisy. Having said which, we didn’t mind at all-we like trains-hence the train holiday! It is very close to the pretty town centre (round the corner) and a five minute, attractive walk to the Rhine itself. The town is pretty, with lots of places to eat and to sit and watch the river. The rooms are very clean. Foot is buffet style. As a vegetarian my meals were cooked separately, and were very good, looked better than the buffet to be honest. Breakfast was a large buffet, lots of fresh produce in good German style-and they let you make lunch rolls using the breakfast bar-for a very small charge (1.5 Euro per roll). There is lots of tourist information available and the staff are perfectly present and helpful; if not overly friendly. Don’t get excited about the swimming pool, it is tiny-really for children or as a warm “plunge" pool I would suggest. We preferred to swim in the river! I would definitely stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prettyfishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Remagen
2.2 mi away
RheinHotel ARTE
RheinHotel ARTE
#1 of 5 in Remagen
123 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ringhotel Haus Oberwinter
4.8 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel Bad Neuenahr
Steigenberger Hotel Bad Neuenahr
#1 of 30 in Bad Neuenahr-Ahrweiler
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Rhein Inn
Hotel Rhein Inn
#4 of 5 in Remagen
17 reviews
1.5 mi away
Maravilla Beauty Spa Hotel & Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Gaestehaus Korf
Gaestehaus Korf
#1 of 1 in Unkel
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Restaurant Pinger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Restaurant Pinger

Address: Geschwister-Scholl-Str. 1, 53424 Remagen, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Remagen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Remagen
Price Range: $93 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Restaurant Pinger 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner run three star tourist hotel and aparthotel with 48 rooms/92 beds, 6 apartments and a guesthouse. Sound proof windows, restaurant serving traditional German cuisine (Easter - October + December), coffee-shop, bar, wine cellar, car parking (small charge), free bicycle storage. Central location opposite the railway station, last refurbished in 2010. Ideal location for your excursions along the Rhine and Ahr. Specialist for leisure & activity short breaks and rail tours/steam trains. Walking/Nordic Walking/Speed Hiking the Rheinburgenweg and Rheinsteig, River Rhine Cycle trail. Visit Bonn, Cologne, Koblenz, Rudesheim and much more. Bicycle rental offering more than 40 hybrid and e-bikes. Owners are the two brothers Michael und Leonard Pinger with the company Rhineland Holiday Pinger Hotels OHG. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HRS, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel & Restaurant Pinger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Restaurant Pinger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing