We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back”
Review of Hotel Dehren

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Dehren
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We really loved our time at this wonderful relaxed hotel. The beds and rooms were excellent and the food also very good. I never expected to have spatburgunder this good in the Mosel. The hotel position is first class for touring, walking and the river.

Room Tip: The higher rooms have a better view of the river. The hotel does have a lift!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank philblambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 37 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed on this family run hotel on our long weekend vacation. Cochem was overbooked for that summer weekend so this hotel was one of the few options left. It is in a small village about 12 km far from Cochem. So it is quite remote to the wining and dining options of Cochem.
I left the hotel with lots of disappointments. When we arrived the hotel, we noticed that the sofa bed was not made ready for our little boy (I had mentioned it on the booking form). I had booked a comfort double with a sofa bed. As I read from the child policy of the hotel, children under 6 years old can stay free using the existing beds. In my opinion, since there is no extra bed requested, our 4 years old child should have stayed free. We asked the owner to put sheet and pillows for the sofa bed. Then started an argument! The wife of the owner told us they could do it for 25 Euro including the breakfast for the whole stay. However, we ended up paying 40 euro extra for extra sheet as opposed to lady`s word. Because we were charged 30 for sheets, 10 for breakfast for a little child. I did not want to argue with the owner once again for the extra over invoice. I did not want to ruin my weekend holiday for 40 euro but in my opinion this is a greedy attitude of the hotel. If we did not ask for extra sheet, we would not have paid extra for breakfast. I did not use the restaurant, I did not want them earn more money from me. The people in leisure industry should know that a satisfied customer worth more. And of course, none of the business has a luxury to underestimate the power of social media.

I travel a lot on a business of leisure reasons. This is generally the case with the unprofessional family hotels. That`s why I always prefer big hotel chains. There are set rules and the management is more responsive to the client`s recommendations and requests.

As a result, the negative points of this hotel is management and location. The room is sold with a view of Mosel River but there is no view but only trees and hill (from 1 st floor, room no 15). Wifi was not free (maybe it is free but i avoided the contact with the owner).
The positive point of the hotel is cleanliness of the room. I always check floors, tiles, sheets and I found it nearly spotless. The room is exactly the same as seen on professional pictures.
The breakfast is OK, a few choices of cheese and ham.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yas11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

nice middleclassed hotel - we went there with a group of oldtimer enthusiasts and lacked a bit of secure parking place
nice abundant food of german type quisine (plenty & fatty)
good and clean rooms
the brither rus a wine business but the quality is rather low

Room Tip: ask for a room in the newer house - the old house is rather noisy do not try the wine (not so go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean-Pierre_Malle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed here in September 2012 with friends who live in Germany, they picked the hotel and I am pleased they did. Joseph the owner is an excellent host, he is polite, friendly and his english is excellent whereas my German is really poor. Joseph didn't mind and was happy conversing with our friends in germand and then switching to English to make my wife and I comfortable and party to the conversation. The hotel is undergoing some updating and the updated rooms are beautiful. We had one of the 'dated rooms' but I have to say they were spotless and housekeeing was excellent and to cap it all, we decided to dine in every evening. I am pleased we did. Joseph is an excellent chef and the food really was of a high standard.
Would we go again? a resounding YES!
Excellent accommodation
Excellent Food
Excellent Host
Superb area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Westacres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed here for a weekend and it was very nice. The room was clean and had enough room for me, myself and our 2 little kids on 2 double beds. Our own bathroom came with a standard toilet, sink and stand-up shower. Our room had a large wardrobe, small tv with minimal channels, and a couple of chairs and small table. The hotel also had a run bike, toy ride tractor and car that young kids could play in.
The hotel claims to have internet, but it didn't seem useable or it was too slow. They also turn off their heat/gas during the summertime so the towel warmers or radiators will not work.

Breakfast was included in the price and consisted of different cheeses, breads, eggs, cold cut meats, yogurt and fresh fruit: a pretty typical German breakfast. The breakfast is from 8am-9:30am, but after 9am, they will stop replenishing the hot items, so get there early. The evening meals were phenomenal and are highly recommended if you don't end up staying here. The young owner is a truly great chef and speaks English very well. I'm guessing the other people that work there do not speak any English.

As for the hotel, it is right across the street from the Mosel River. A very long and wide sidewalk parallel to the Mosel makes it a beautiful bike ride, run or walk. A pleasant enough stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank travellingwithtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

We stayed there to find some relaxation after a very tiring and exhausting
Germany tour. The atmosphere is a little old-fashioned/traditional but very clean
and tidy. But there are also some modern rooms (that's what my friends had)
with a wonderful wooden floor.
The rooms are very spacious, clean and we had one overlooking the Mosel
river, the balcony was a true place of relaxation and quietness.
The rates for the hotel are very reasonable - especially as they include breakfast
with a good selection of fresh bread and rolls!

Location: Ideal for recreation and relaxation in the whole area, only a few minutes
away from main town of the area: Cochem, which is a little touristy, so being a little off-sight makes this hotel really quiet and secluded yet the ideal starting point for excursions on the area.

The food is not cheap, but it's worth its price (it seems the whole area doesn't have
rural prices, I figured then) - BUT it tasted delicious (the dishes of wild game are fantastic): fresh ingredients, good quality and they have a beautiful terrace for outdoor/patio seating - facing the little garden and some distant vine plants.
The owner is also the chef, he has spent time and worked in California, he speaks fluent, perfect English including some good jokes and as mentioned: cooks quite well...

We felt very welcome there and were surprised by its kind service
which is very personal, cordial, dedicated and even fulfills some special wishes
(He made us breakfast even before the buffet opened because
we had to break off to the airport in Frankfurt really early)

I will gladly stay there again when I am in the area.

Their own wine from their vineyards is served in the restaurant and can be bought there for take away,
it is very good and has a fantastic price value! Try some "Dornfelder & Spätburgunder"
if you like strong red wines and I am sure the whites are just as good.

Beware: It is really quiet there, from 10:30pm on you can hear nothing but
the Mosel river, and maybe a barking dog in the distance. And there are many
elderly people in general making vacation there in the area (this should not to be taken
offensive, but it must be remarked), but they say on their website that they are open for all generations - which I can totally assure is right!

Conclusion: If you want to chill out/recreate/enjoy the scenery and none of the above bothers you - this is your Mosel residence!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank UnicornBavarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 782michaelaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josef D, Inhaber at Hotel Dehren, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ellenz-Poltersdorf hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Weinhaus Fuhrmann
Hotel Weinhaus Fuhrmann
#4 of 5 in Ellenz-Poltersdorf
39 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ellenzer Goldbaumchen
Ellenzer Goldbaumchen
#5 of 5 in Ellenz-Poltersdorf
64 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ferienweingut Klaus Thiesen
Ferienweingut Klaus Thiesen
#3 of 5 in Ellenz-Poltersdorf
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Zur Alten Weinkelter
Zur Alten Weinkelter
#2 of 4 in Ellenz-Poltersdorf
7 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pension Basten
Pension Basten
#2 of 14 in Ellenz-Poltersdorf
5 reviews
0 mi away
Alte Weinschaenke
Alte Weinschaenke
#6 of 14 in Ellenz-Poltersdorf
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dehren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dehren

Address: Kurfuerstenstr. 30, 56821 Ellenz-Poltersdorf, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Ellenz-Poltersdorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ellenz-Poltersdorf
Price Range: $126 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dehren 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Dehren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dehren Germany/Ellenz-Poltersdorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing