We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very peaceful and relaxing.”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ellenz-Poltersdorf, Rhineland-Palatinate

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge
Reviewed October 13, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The helpfulness of the owners.
Liked least: The fact that I had picked up an infection beforehand, so could not fully enjoy things - like the Winzerfest - immediately.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SGeorge6
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great break in lovely part of Germany”
Reviewed April 19, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Found this little gem on ebay last year, and was quickly contacted by the owner. Booking was very easy and, we were not disappointed when we arrived. Maria and Mike could not have been better hosts. The studio was ideal for a couple we loved the old historical building, room was comfortable with nice shower, kitchenette has enough untensils for two, a microwave ,two ring hob, so you can make meals if you wish. Maria did a good continental breakfast for us each day. We didn't worry but there is TV, Wfi is accessible so handy to keep up with email, bank balances etc. I got to finish my book at last! Area is lovely, would have lilked to have seen the vineyards growing but much like England, Germany has suffered from the bad weather. We found the village a very good base, being only an hour from the Rheine, Trier, Koblenz, if you like to visit cities and shopping. There is plenty of walking in good weather, local town is only a few kilometres so you can get supplies. The studio is only a minute to the river with vineyard views all around and it is a very typical little Mosel village. Don't go to Germany expecting 24 hour shopping it is much more traditional, you can just relax and enjoy a quieter more relaxing lifestyle lost to England these days. Maria and Mike opened their wine cellar several evenings for us and spent time chatting over a few glasses of local wine. For us they made it a very enjoyable holiday with very nice memories, having the company of Picasso their lovely Dalmation also compensated for us having left ours at home.. Maybe when we return as we should like to we will bring them with us. Many thanks for all the help and advice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole holiday was to our taste.
Liked least: Would have been even better if weather had been good
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2013
Peter & Sheila it was our pleasure to have you stay with us at Zur Alten Weinkelter,we are glad you managed to have a relaxing week,which is what we love our guests to do and staying a traditional wine village like Ellenz is the perfect choice,so we hope you have taken back some good memories and we hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed July 6, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RevPaul
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic apartment and a wonderful welcome”
Reviewed September 20, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Maria and Mike could not have made us more welcome in their wonderful house. They have done a tremendous job in modernising the old house and the results are spectacular. The apartment was extremely comfortable, very peaceful (being set back from the main road), and had everything we needed. When we forgot to buy German mustard to have with our bratwurst Maria and Mike were happy to share theirs!
Their knowledge of the area is very comprehensive as were their recommendations for where to eat and drink in and around Ellenz.
Having a car parking space next to the house was a great bonus.
My wife and I would have no hesitation in recommending this to our friends and we hope to visit again - this time making sure we coincide with a wine festival!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of the apartment and the friendly welcome.
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike!
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$73
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing