We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, Excellent Service, Could stay here forever!”
Review of Hotel Haus Lipmann

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Haus Lipmann
Ranked #1 of 7 Beilstein B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2009

Very peaceful and charming. Excellent service by the family who runs it. The hotel may have creaky wood floors and small doors (for my tall uncle, 6'3"), but they're all part of the charm. The food is excellent too. Try the goulash.

The river view from my room is hypnotic. Just watching the little ferry shuttle the cars and bicycles back and forth is so relaxing. The entire Mosel river area is very peaceful. I thought it was the best view I've ever seen, and I have seen a good part of the world. I would go back there again and again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiscrimTaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 211 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2009

We have stayed at the Hotel Haus Lipmann two times in the last few years and have been very pleased. The day before you arrive, the family requests that you call to confirm your arrival. This is very easy as the entire family speaks flawless English. When we arrived, David informed us that there were a couple of rooms available and we could choose the room that we liked the best. Not an easy decision as all of the rooms were beautiful and absolutely spotless. Our room was on the second floor and had a great view of the Mosel.
There is a lovely vine covered terrace from which you can enjoy dinner and watch the boat traffic on the river. Even though it was a little cold outside, the view on the terrace was too nice to pass up. Make sure to have dinner at their restaurant at least one night as the food is phenomenal.
We stayed in the hotel as our last night in Germany before a flight from Frankfurt. David will give you an easy shortcut that makes the trip to the airport quick. As we had an early flight and would miss breakfast, David made sure that we had a breakfast packed to go. His father was up early to check us out and wish us off.
Overall we have enjoyed our stays and would definitely stay here again if we were in the Mosel river area.



The hotel is located in the quiet town of Beilstein right on the Mosel rIver. The location is very close to the Rhine river and the Castle of Burg Eltz.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkChicago1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Any traveller along the Mosel cannot pass up a stay at beautiful Hotel Haus Lipmann in quaint Beilstein. It is the ultimate in relaxing vacation stays.

First of all, the service is outstanding. Innkeeper David and his wife Anja seem to anticipate your every wish. Plates of food magically appear at the breakfast table, and whenever you have a question, they are always right there to answer it. And they imbue all employees at the hotel with the same dedication to detailed service. The staff keeps the rooms impeccably clean and never seem to stop.

Second, the location of the hotel is the best I saw all along the Mosel. Hotel Haus Lipmann is directly on the river and from one of the four front rooms you can watch river traffic up or down river. The road between the hotel and the water is not busy enough to present any kind of obstacle to walking or riding along the bike path that stretches for kilometers in both directions. The front of the hotel offers the best views because it has a dining terrace that is covered from the rain as well as landscaped by grape vines, all of which boasted rich, lush bunches of purple gapes during our stay. The rear of the hotel opens unto the small but central "Platz" of Beilstein where you can sit and enjoy a glass of white from several local vinters. On weekends, you don't even have to pay the admission to listen to the music from the nearby Stube because the convenient tables provide a calmer atmosphere with much more ambience.

Third, Beilstein is centrally located so that it provides easy access to many places up and down the Mosel. We took daytrips to Cochem, Trier, Zell, Burg Eltz and even Bitburg and were never rushed to get back before nightfall. And a river cruise boat docks conveniently close to the hotel and offers an easy and relaxing way to get to Cochem. Several hiking trails in the area offer everything from a short walk to a castle and vineyards to longer rambles.

Fourth, the food is excellent and priced to fit any budget. You can order from the menu, but we found that the daily special was both delicious and more than adequate. For only 15 euros, we had a salad, soup, the entree of the day, and a dessert. It was always enough to get us through till the sumptuous breakfast the next morning. And eating on the grape-covered terrace is a treat in itself.

Finally, Beilstein itself is a place to savor. The town usually bustles with tourists during the day, especially on weekends, but by the time the last cruise boat heads upriver and the last tour bus pulls out, the town is pretty much left to those who are overnighting. That's when you sink into a chair at one of the outdoor cafes, order a bottle of the local trocken Riesling, and really enjoy the charms of this small village. I guarantee you will fall in love with both Hotel Haus Lipmann and Beilstein, and before you leave, you'll be planning your next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meschers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

We were on summer holiday in this area about 10 years ago and stayed in Cochem. One evening we had a delightful and memorable meal at Haus Lipmann, the weather was a warm and balmy so we ate outside on their vine covered terrace overlooking the Mosel and there was a generally nice feel about the place. This year we decided repeat the trip so Haus Lipmann immediately came to mind and I was encouraged by the glowing reports on Tripadviser which my Wife and I now heartily endorse. We stayed for 5 days - David and his charming and friendly staff made us very welcome, the food was excellent and we will certainly be back again - probably mid September to partake in the local wine festivals!

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank HappyHolidayWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

A very cozy and romantic hotel on the banks of the river Mosel. Very friendly staff and you feel Immediately the warmth of a family owned hotel. The food is great, do not make the mistake of eating anywhere else in town. A wine tasting across the “street” is also highly recommendable. We also bought some wine at the Hotel and took home. Great value!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaguarV12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

We truly enjoyed our stay at Haus Lipmann’s homey little B&B. The same family has owned this house for over 200 years, and has created a very wonderfully comfortable B&B, with a helpful, efficient staff. Our room was very large, with a view of the Mosel River from the spacious balcony. The room was not air conditioned, but the windows were screened (which is not something that you often find in Europe), so the river breeze cooled the room very nicely without the annoyance of flies and mosquitoes. They offer a laundry service which is very convenient, washed, dried, folded and delivered to your room the same day for 10€. As we were in the middle of a 5 week European adventure, this was an excellent perk. The breakfast is served in the restaurant below and is simply fabulous with fresh fruit, breads, cereal, cold cuts, cheese, juice, coffee & tea. Stay for dinner. They made sure we had one of the best tables in the house to enjoy the Mosel River while we dined on local specialties. Marvelous food!
A short note: The directions on their website are only directions to Beilstein. And although Beilstein is a small town, there are several Lipmann hotels in town. You need to follow the highway down to the river to find the correct Haus Lipmann. We, unfortunately, did not know this, and followed the very prominent signs to the Lipmann Hotel (which is owned by the same family). From there, we were directed to Haus Lipman, down an UNMARKED “PEDESTRIAN ONLY” street! We found ourselves literally stuck in a small plaza, filled with people sitting in restaurant patios, in front of Haus Lipmann, trying to figure out how to extricate ourselves from the situation. Thank goodness for small European cars! Finally, one of the Haus Lipman staff came out and directed us. How very, very embarrassing! We went back and checked the street on foot later that day…. There was absolutely nothing to indicate that the street was pedestrian only! So beware. Park by the river, the hotel does not have any private parking.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tohjnya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2009

Stayed for four nights in July 2009. We stayed in the guest house just across the street from the B&B.
The rooms were spacious, they were furnished and decorated to a high standard. We booked in originally on a bed and breakfast basis, however, it is possible to have evening dinner which costs an extra 15 euros, which I believe is great value. If you wish, it is possible to purchase a bottle of the local Mosel wine for less than 5 euros to consume in your room.
The establishment is in a great location for exploring the Mosel region. There are some beautiful village along the stretch of the Mosel between Koblenz and Trier.
All the staff were professional and friendly. The Lipmann family are great hosts. We hope to return in the future. This B&B is outstanding!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beilstein
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lipmann 'Am Klosterberg'
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Beilstein
Hotel Villa Beilstein
#3 of 5 in Beilstein
38 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Weinhaus Fuhrmann
Hotel Weinhaus Fuhrmann
#4 of 5 in Ellenz-Poltersdorf
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gute Quelle
Hotel Gute Quelle
#1 of 5 in Beilstein
63 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ellenzer Goldbaumchen
Ellenzer Goldbaumchen
#5 of 5 in Ellenz-Poltersdorf
62 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Weinhaus Halfenstube
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Haus Lipmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haus Lipmann

Address: Marktplatz 3, 56814 Beilstein, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Beilstein
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Beilstein
Price Range: $161 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Haus Lipmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing