We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gemuender Ferienpark Salzberg
Nearby Hotels
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vakantiehotel De Lange Man(Monschau)(Great Value!)
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
    No availability for your dates from our partners
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    No availability for your dates from our partners
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Internet
    Reviews (101)
    Filter reviews
    101 results
    Traveler rating
    58
    34
    5
    2
    2
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    58
    34
    5
    2
    2
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsnational parkbed apartmentfree laundrywi fibread vanresortdishwashereiffelbalconycondo
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    71 - 76 of 101 reviews
    Reviewed November 18, 2012

    The weather was great the latter part of May when we stayed at Gemender Ferienwohnpark Salzberg. We loved this area of Germany - the resort is in a National Park -- very green, very scenic region. When we first checked in with lovely Maryam at the front desk, we knew we were going to be happy here! However, the first unit assigned to us had a view overlooking the parking lot. I asked Maryam if we could move to another unit. She gave us a really great one. It was spacious, private, new, and had a beautiful view of green, trees, and sunsets to die for! It also had a private balcony/patio where we had drinks and meals often. The kitchen was fully equipped and had pots and pans I wish I had at home! They were brand new and the handles don't get hot! :-) You can borrow DVD's at no charge; we did. Besides a separate bedroom with a nice window and view, we also had a nice sofa that made into a bed. This made TV watching very comfortable. We did not use the spa or fitness facilities; they looked okay. The internet is only accessible from the lobby building, but it is free and was very helpful. We purchased this week through RCI. It was a great value for the unit we ended up with. Within a short drive there are two grocery and wine stores. The towns of Gemund and Schleiden have other nice, little shops and are fun to explore. We went to a super fun renaissance faire at a castle -- Berg Eltz -- about 20 minutes from the resort. Monschau is a superb litlle town to visit and very nearby. We also visited Cologne, Aachen, and Bruges, Belgium -- all within relatively easy driving distance. We were always happy to get "home" to Gemunder Ferienwohnpark -- very comfortable, very homey; plus had Maryam to greet us and ask about our day!

    Room Tip: Ask for a newer unit - the end one we had was very priviate with a lovely view.
    • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    6  Thank Suzanne H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed September 25, 2012

    Gemunder Ferienpark Salzberg has very friendly helpful staff, plenty of parking and nicely situated apartments. Our 1 bedroom apartment was spotlessly clean and looked to be recently refurbished. The bedroom is a nice size with plenty of wardrobe space, the twins beds pushed together were quite firm but comfortable. The lounge area has plenty of room with dining table and chairs beside the kitchen area. All the equipment in the kitchen looked to be brand new and hardly used. Very efficient oven, dish washer and large fridge with small freezer area. Plenty of utensils and pots and pans. There is a guest lounge where free wifi is available. The apartment had plenty of room for two people, it may be a bit crowded if four people are staying.

    Two supermarkets at the bottom of the hill, Netto and REWE, both good and reasonably priced. REWE seemed to be better for fresh fruit and vegetables. Supermarkets and most shops are closed on a Sunday.

    We ate at some very nice restaurants in the area, Hotel Restaurant Haus Salzberg is 500 metres down the hill, great food and 10% discount when paying cash.  Hotel Hermanns in Olef is 12 minutes by car, excellent food at a very reasonable price.

    There are several places to visit within an hour or so driving, Rhenish Open Air Museum at Kommern is a very interesting place to visit, if the weather is good take a picnic. Monschau is a lovely place to visit and a day trip to Cologne on the train is very easy to do from Kall station. the girls on the reception desk will be able to give you all the information that you need for the station.

    All in all this was a great place to stay for a week in Germany, we hope to go back.

    Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
    • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    6  Thank Travellers2often
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed June 18, 2012

    Checking in was very efficient we were allocated apartment 114 which was in the reception building. Beware there are no lifts. The resort consists of several houses on a private residential estate just outside the town. The apartments opposite the reception area have balconies overlooking the valley so if there interior is as good as the one we were given I would in future request one of these. Our apartment was well furnished with plenty of wardrobe and storage space. The bedroom was quite small and the kitchen diner was of a decent size but although the apartment could accommodate 4 it would have been very crowded, but it was fine for us and we had a balcony that overlooked the parking which was a pity. The newly fitted kitchen had a full oven, microwave, and dishwasher and it was all very well laid out and was of good quality. The shower room (no bath!) was well decorated but again on the small size. There is a large CRT TV with limited English Channels but we brought some DVD’s with us, and there is free rental of DVD’s in reception. Not sure how many were in English, but there were shelves of them! The laminate flooring throughout was easy to clean but made the apartment quite clinical and a large rug would have enhanced the living are, especially on a cool overcast day. The resort is situated about a twenty minute walk from the town which had several restaurants and pubs but not all open in the evening. But it was quite a steep walk back in the evening. There are two supermarkets REWE and a Netto. We found the REWE to be very good with a good range of produce and a separate off licence next door. The prices we thought seemed cheaper than England and the alcohol certainly was with my husband stocking up on Amaretto at 4 euros a bottle. The reception area is open at set times and there is free WIFI (code from reception) in the little guest lounge in the basement. The lounge also included a children’s area with books and good old fashioned board games and no noisy toys. It also housed a fridge with cheap beer (honesty box) and you could also buy local wine from the reception. The basement area also had a sauna, fitness suite and laundry room. There is no maid cleaning if you are only staying for a week, but this can be requested for a small charge. Clean towels can be exchanged at reception The resort does not feel like a timeshare complex - more like an upmarket rental. There is plenty to do in the area we visited, Bonn, Vogelsang, Kommern, Monschau, Trier and Reifferscheid and Wildeneurg, all worth a visit. In fact there is still so much to see we will be back!

    Room Tip: Top tip weather can be very changeable so be prepared for sun, rain, sun, rain every day!
    • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank gardenofengland
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed June 15, 2012

    This was a beautiful area of Germany, away from the big modern cities. We visited Aachen, Monschau, Berg Eltz, Gemund. The resort is located in a beautiful neighborhood, conveniently located to restaurants, stores and hiking in the National Park Eifel. It does rain alot here. We had a problem with not being able to get our clothes dry in the laundy machines at the resort and/or on the drying rack in our unit. A bakery truck came to the resort each day and offered baked goods for sale. Prices in Germany were a good value compared to Italy, Belgium and France which we also visited on this trip. The staff at this resort was helpful and friendly. Wifi was only available in the reception building.

    • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank tammycameron
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed October 27, 2011

    We had one bedroom apartment, totaly renewed at the second floor. Very simple but nice decoration. lot of space and nice view of the park.
    Freindly reception (Elizabete), free Wi - Fi in the main building.

    Room Tip: Go to the highier floor if you do not care to cary your luggage. (no elevator) take the renewed apartment.
    • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank nitzan
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews