We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Welcome Hotel Meschede/Hennesee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Welcome Hotel Meschede/Hennesee
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Meschede
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“OK hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here one night over a weekend. Overall were not that impressed with the hotel but the experience was not bad either. Rooms are clean and we had a good view on the lake. bathroom amenities were disappointing, just some cheap soap out of a hotel dispenser, also I dont like a plastic shower curtain. Dinner options are buffet (6-9 PM) & a la carte (as of 8 PM), we opted for buffet as we wanted to have dinner early. Overall the food was ok but not very tasty in my opinion. Breakfast buffet was rich in options and good except the omelet/egg section (prebaked eggs that were not so delicious). We did appreciate the fresh orange juice (that you can make yourself). We also explored the wellness area, which was mediocre and its interior lost its grace. Good was that you could take fresh water to drink. Overall not a bad hotel, but now wow either. Skiing options at Winterberg are only a 20-30 minute drive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronique_Axelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    68
    28
    6
    1
See reviews for
29
75
3
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level Contributor
249 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

Spent 2 nights at this hotel in January. I didn't book the hotel directly as the reason of my stay was an organised business gathering. Indeed everything was well organised and the I'm sure that the patrons thoroughly enjoyed their stay.

The hotel is well positioned on the Hennesee Lake immersed in the surrounding nature. Checking in and out was swift. Reception staff handled requests with utmost professionalism, albeit sometimes a little bit too strict. Rooms are quite generous in size, clean and well laid. Food quality was average. Being a very large group we had to wait in long queues for the buffet during breakfast, lunch and dinner, but this was understandable given the circumstances.

There were some very minor issues over which this hotel falls short of a 4 star hotel experience. Firstly, TV stations are all in German except for CNN, (not quite right given multinational guests where staying). Adequate toiletries were not supplied, and towels were rather low quality. The carpet in the room had some slight stains. Bed blankets are somewhat small in size and air conditioning couldn't be adjusted to the desired level. The biggest disappointment however remains the fact that Wifi is not available in the hotel (only wired).

Within the restaurants and bars, communication in any other language other than german was rather challenging, but this is pretty much a common factor in many hotels around Germany.

All in all a positive and commendable experience. Perhaps with some improvements to the above shortcomings the fourth star will shine much brighter!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GOH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

Stayed 2 nights for ski weekend, the hotel looked great. Rooms very clean, breakfast buffet was excellent.

Staff was helpful.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gaspi86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

We loved it here and the buffet breakfast was the most varied one we had on this trip. The rooms were fairly normal-sized but the bathroom was larger than normal and spic and span. We had the buffet dinner and ala carte and both were very good. Service was friendly and on account that we had a crying inconsolable baby with us, was very understanding. We couldn't get thru our dinner because of our baby and they brought it to our room. Snag was they didn't do room service during peak season. The mini-bar was the most well-stocked we have seen (even in 5*) and the service impeccable. We were very impressed with the service and the quality of the food served. Spa area pretty complete, tho' clinical and for those unused to German spas, a bit of a culture shock (no clothes please!!) Area next to lake lovely. Path all around the lake means you can take good walks in the area. All in, highly recommended! Go before the place gets innundated by the deal-loving Dutch (we counted at least 30 Dutch number plates in the parking lot).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotel-prowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
155 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed one night in this hotel.

The reception and common area's of this hotel are really fancy. Also the staff is very friendly and professional!

The room was certainly OK and very clean, but in my opinion a bit less good than you would expect based on the price and the common area's of the hotel.
(no vanities in the bath room, low quality towels,...)

The general atmosphere of the hotel is very "quiet" which I mean in a very positive way. It is not noisy, every body is relaxed.

The hotel is located at the lake. We had lake view which is good (the rooms at the other site have parking view I guess) but this is not a really great view I think.

We had the buffet dinner which was OK, but did not offer many choices: all main dishes were with noodles. But the quality was very good (freshly made) and I liked the deserts!
The breakfast was absolutely outstanding!!!!

would recommend this hotel, but try to take a package or so because the officaly nightly rate is a bit too high.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belgian_traveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2010

We stayed in the Welcome hotel Meschede during Christmas time 2010. It doesn’t happen much that the total hotel staff is so dedicated and friendly. That makes you feel home immediately. Rooms are pleasant, quiet and clean with all luxury normal people need, including comfortable beds and a good shower.
Moreover, the food was superb. The breakfast buffet could match that of top 5 star hotels and that combined with a friendliness of the staff. Diners were a joy of well-prepared food with a broad choice of dishes. And there was a good choice of wines at very reasonable prices.
The Welcome hotel has its own free parking lot with sufficient space, a limited wellness center and several pleasant bars, including a garden one. With nicer weather than our minus 10 degree Celsius, guest can enjoy the lake next to which it is situated. Also, the hotel is very close to the highway and just half an hour away from Winterberg and other interesting places to visit.
We strongly can recommend this hotel, particularly in combination with its attractive pricing.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maarssen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
119 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2010

We stayed here for one night on our way to the Winterberg skiing area. We preferred to stay on the edge of Sauerland, rather than in or around Winterberg. And we were not at all disappointed. The hotel is good, the rooms clean and spacious and the service is great. Where else have you got a take away cup of coffee for the car trip when you checked out?
We had a nice dinner at the restaurant for a reasonable price.
The beds are quite hard.
We will keep this hotel in mind when we visit the area again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MBMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meschede
5.8 mi away
Luckai Hotel & Restaurant
Luckai Hotel & Restaurant
#2 of 10 in Meschede
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.9 mi away
Von Korff's Rest & Relax Hotel
6.6 mi away
Flair Hotel Nieder
Flair Hotel Nieder
#1 of 5 in Bestwig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Landhotel Donner
Landhotel Donner
#3 of 10 in Meschede
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
4.5 mi away
Landhotel Hutter
Landhotel Hutter
#7 of 10 in Meschede
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
16.1 mi away
Hotel Jagdhaus Wiese
Hotel Jagdhaus Wiese
#1 of 2 in Jagdhaus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Hotel Meschede/Hennesee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Hotel Meschede/Hennesee

Property: Welcome Hotel Meschede/Hennesee
Address: Berghausen 14, 59872 Meschede, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Meschede
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Meschede
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Welcome Hotel Meschede/Hennesee 4.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Welcome Hotel Meschede/Hennesee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing