We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired but good people” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of H4 Hotel Hannover Messe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
H4 Hotel Hannover Messe
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Laatzen
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Tired but good people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was a short stay for CeBIT at the nearby Hannover Show Grounds (Messe). It is isolated otherwise but very good if you have business in the area. The hotel put on a morning and evening shuttle which was very helpful. As others say, the hotel is tired and average food quality. However the staff really want to help. The worst aspect, and one which is beginning to define my hotel needs, was the atrocious internet - very poor (could not get it to connect in my room) and very slow. Who can get away with 1.5 Mb download speeds nowadays? And then to charge for it as well! In this day of mobile technology such weak data links reflect a lack of understanding of modern travel needs. The employees know it well enough but management needs to invest in a massive upgrade..

Room Tip: If it's sunny, facing the rising sun is great in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank E T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    70
    43
    19
    3
See reviews for
6
27
5
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
224 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I always read a couple of reviews before booking a hotel and checking in and I usually concentrate my reading to the “average”, and “poor” reviews because it will always point out the negative things or things to watch out for. So to be honest I did not have high expectations on this hotel. So what is then my verdict? Actually it is not that bad at all (only the price is outrages during events like CeBIT so be prepared instead of getting that “check-out chock”) and works ok for a stay during a couple of days. But of course do not expect any luxury suites or extra ordinary food because it is not that kind of a place. If we start with the reception area it is really nothing to brag about, however it is in parity what the rooms offer if you see my point (sometimes you check in to a hotel and it has this fabulous overwhelming reception area with marble floor, fresh flowers and so on and when you enter the hotel room you cannot believe it is the same place). Again, in this case what you see is what you get. Honest, helpful, efficient and kind staff trying to help the best they can. I asked for a room far away from “airports”, “autobahn”, “elevators”, “service rooms”, “ice machines” and well, I got something close to that. Unfortunately there was a small street outside the window and you could hear the cars, buses and trucks passing when the window was open (when it was closed it was totally fine). I like to turn off the air condition system and open the window and this is what I did, you will wake up during the night especially if the fire department is passing with the sirens on but otherwise ok – well, in fact I would like it to be total silence because that is how I live usually so I really enjoy the silence and I am doing everything I can to avoid unnecessary sound. So how was the room? The room was like back to the 90’s, no question about it. It was rather small but still fully functional. The colors where not exactly the style and design I prefer and also the furniture could use a small upgrade. One thing that I really cannot understand is why this “wall-to-wall” carpet is a must. This must be the perfect place for dirt and all kinds of things and I do not believe it is hygienic. Why not invest in a nice, clean, modern wooden floor instead of this rather terrible carpet. You can always find some stains and believe me, it is not a good feeling. The carpet here was rather ok so it is far the worst place I have been to. The bed was very tidy with new fresh sheets and it looked very nice and cozy and it was very good actually. I could sleep without any issues. The bathroom was rather “old fashioned” even if the details maybe is not that old but it looks old…oh yes, and why this ugly looking bathtub in the bathroom, is anybody really using that these days, I mean probably 98% of the guests are taking a shower and this is how modern people live today but still you have to stand in that bathtub to take that morning shower. I find that very odd I must say – please upgrade on throw out that ugly bathtub. As you might have noticed I am a person who really pay attention to details and that is why I look for example on below the toilet seat and you could see that the toilet was not thoroughly cleaned and this makes me really mad. Why on earth is it so hard to bend the back to clean the toilet for the new guest when I am paying more than 300Euros per night? So let us now leave the room and visit the restaurant. If we look at the interior design they have one of the absolute ugliest carpets. How hygienic is such carpet (same type as in the room) and how much dust is in circulation when having breakfast or dinner? The colors are definitely anno 1990 and this is not nice at all. The furniture is very unpractical because of the fact that the chairs are very heavy, big and bulky and not suitable for a restaurant. I had dinner there and the food was ok and the service was ok so on a scale 1-10 I would give it a 5. I had breakfast two times and they have the usual stuff but was I miss is the opportunity to get your own omelet and on a scale 1-10 I would give the breakfast also a 5. Value for money (during CeBIT) – no, not really.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing away from the roads (if possible)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lamboswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Laatzen hotels

Donaghadee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have used this hotel for business trips for many years. Its starting to get quite shabby around the edges and needs some upgrading .Its a pity as the staff seemed very efficient.

When we arrived , having booked a single and twin room , the twin turned out to be a double. It was politely changed , but then our key cards would not work and the staff had a look at the door. It was explained that the lock was temperamental and maintenance would fix it tomorrow. After 3 days they didn't fix it. My colleague staying in the single room had the same issue.

The rooms don't have wifi and are quite dated by modern standards , but they are clean and comfortable.

The irish bar is lovely with good staff , but the heating was broken on 2 out of 3 nights so it was a little chilly. That said they do a pretty good steak for a hotel bar and the beer on tap is very nice. It probably the hotels best feature.

Breakfast is very expensive at 18eu. Its buffet style and not very good. Plenty of cheese and cold meat. The warm items such as bacon , sausage and pan cakes were cold every day we went. There is a super market across the road where there is a choice of cafes. Its likely a better option.

They run convenient bus to the exhibition centre which is a good and free service , but if it wasnt for the close location to the exhibition grounds and handy bus i wouldn't be booking here normally.

Its not a hotels for holidaying for sure. Its in a very grey industrial area 40eu in a taxi form hannovers centre.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stayed here in October for four days. Didn't love it, although the staff were very good. I found the bed uncomfortable and the covering too warm. I found the breakfast buffet to have a large variety but did not enjoy the quality. The scrambled eggs should be avoided. We ate in the Irish Pub in the hotel which was ok, but good service. They have a pool and spa plus gym. The venue location is good for the Messe. The shopping centre is very handy. There is a fantastic park, Parc der Sinne close by, which is really worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EarthTraverse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Hotel hardware is ok, furniture in the room is not very modern, the indoor swimming pool is not big, but there are two sauna rooms and one gym studio. The service, especially at front desk, the personel are very polite and helpful. The restaurant is to recommend. The only backdraw is the costs of internet in room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Good and quiet hotel,30 min from the airport, 5 min by taxi from the hotel to the Messe fair grounds, 10-15 min to the centre of the Hanover, very comfortable. Young but very helpful stuff. Big shopping mall just across the road.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KateMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

This was the worst hotel that I have stayed in. The AC did not work and the room was hot. The second night I complained, they thought they had fixed it but it didn't work again. They moved me to another room but there AC couldn't get the temperature below 72 degrees.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dan_dunker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laatzen
1.0 mi away
Best Western Premier Parkhotel Kronsberg
1.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Hannover Messe
4.6 mi away
Dormero Hotel Hannover
Dormero Hotel Hannover
#3 of 161 in Hannover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Hannover
0.7 mi away
Hotel Haase
Hotel Haase
#2 of 13 in Laatzen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
1.4 mi away
Median Hotel Messe
Median Hotel Messe
#46 of 161 in Hannover
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H4 Hotel Hannover Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H4 Hotel Hannover Messe

Property: H4 Hotel Hannover Messe
Address: Wuerzburger Str. 21, 30880 Laatzen, Hannover, Lower Saxony, Germany (Formerly Copthorne Hotel Hannover)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Lower Saxony > Hannover > Laatzen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Laatzen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — H4 Hotel Hannover Messe 4.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The H4 Hotel Hannover Messe has 222 comfortably furnished, air-conditioned bedrooms and suites. The hotel not only offers the ideal base for visiting the trade fairs or the TUI Arena, you can also easily reach the city centre, the train station or Hanover Airport using the excellent public transport links. You can start your day with fitness or relax at the end of it in our fitness area with indoor pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your H4 Hotel Hannover Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing