We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a great experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel is located near the airport and the shuttle service works well. Rooms are small and basic and altough they offer a queen size bed that is not the case. Beds are small. The airconditioning was not working in the whole hotel and it was extremely hot. Staff at the front desk were rude and not polite, which was a surprise for us, since staff at the holiday inn are usually very friendly and helpful. The room was clean but not the common areas which were a bit smelly and not properly kept. At night there was no hot water in the shower. Did not enjoy our stay, which is not common for a Holiday inn stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arroyos24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAGT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your recent stay.
We are sorry to hear that you felt heavily inconvenient due to the fact that the air-conditioning in the hotel did not work on a very hot day.

Actually the cooling system shut down on this weekend and could not be recovered by emergency technicians immediately due to a software issue in the system. We can understand that this is really troubling on hot days.

We are also sorry to hear that you felt our staff to be rude and unpleasant. As our staff is trained on service behaviour and is also appreaciated to be very kind by most of our guests, we can hardly imagine what happended. What did they say that you felt uncomfortable with?

Being sorry that you did not like staying with us this time, we hope that you return to Holiday Inn / Holiday Inn Express in future.

Best regards
Martin Nock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    281
    179
    52
    44
See reviews for
156
162
84
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

The hotel is shabby out front; no attempt to clean up the lanscaping, with weeds everywhere. Inside the hotel is clean and the staff friendly and helpful. A quiet country setting far enough from the airport to avoid the noise of it. Breakfast was good. Free WiFi in the lobby is a plus.

Room Tip: Ask for a room toward the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAGT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear guests,

Many thanks for your good review!
We are happy to see that you liked staying with us - and liked our off-airport-noise location, which is really a plus in Summer!

Looking forward to welcoming you again to Holiday Inn Express hotels!

Best regards
Martin and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
315 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

This Hotel is hidden away at the back of the Airport in the Country just off a busy Motorway - it sits on its own and my first thoughts were - well its a short overnight stay before a long flight in the morning - it was clean - the check in fast and after a short rest I took a walk and found less that five mins away two Camp Sites that had great outside Bars and first class restaurants at fantastic prices - what a find ! - So what turned from living in the middle of nowhere turned into 12hours of fine food and drink and it was a happy but tired man that hit the airport and the long flight the following morning- I will return !

Room Tip: All rooms are the same - Clean and functional!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TOPCAT010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAGT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your nice review!
We are very happy to see that you liked staying with us.

Great thhat you liked our location, which is in particular in Summer very nice with the two restaurants around, as well as some smaller lakes which a perfect for a stroll.

Looking forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards
Martin and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

My 1st issue was that we were stranded for an extra night flying out of Frankfurt so when I called for a room I was under the impression that a hotel that is named "Frankfurt- Airport" would be quite near the Airport. The Airport has a train that goes to the heart of the city but once the shuttle took us to the middle of nowhere....there was a McDonalds a few blocks away...The guest agent quoted approx. $90 for 2 doubles which considering we were stranded for about 10 hours with our 2 daughters would have been fine but when we got there the agent insisted we get 2 rooms (double price) or a Suite which would save us $20 ( total $160 Euro which of course was much more US. I felt taken advantage of, actually ripped off. The restaurant service was good but indeed our only choice besides McD. Front desk, awful and very unwelcoming. Would never consider this place again!!

Room Tip: Don't even consider this place no mater what your budget is!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAGT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Donna,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent travel experience at Frankfurt Airport.

It is with deep regret to see that you did not have a good journey back home. Also I am sorry to hear that you are describing a bad experience in the hotel, and also felt being ripped off by us.

As I would like to follow up on a possible overcharge I have contacted you for further details.

Looking forward to your feedback.

Best regards
Martin Nock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Morfelden-Walldorf hotels

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stay here, we didnt have hot water in the shower of our room, but they did all the could to fix it (without luck) the sourprise was the breakfast. We didnt expect much of it, but was super!! Excelent !!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natacha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAGT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear guests,

Many thanks for your great review! We are happy to see that you liked staying with us.

Sorry to hear that there was some problem, which could be fixed.
Thanks for your good comments on the breakfast.

Looking forward to welcoming you again to Holiday Inn Express.

Best regards
Martin and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in June 2013. The building requires freshening up. The standard room is a bit smallish with no cupboards .The wash room was, unfortunately not very clean. The shower cabin had black deposits, probably of fungal origin, around and on the silicon linings. These deposits can be scrubbed off but probably the house keeping has made no efforts to do so. The toilet was leaking and taking the yellow stains around the brim has been probably been leaking for several days. My internet did not connect, neither wireless nor with cable. I did report these things at the reception desk while checking out the next morning but she only gave me a “Rub off” saying, I should have reported the dysfunctional internet connection the previous night but did not take any notice of complaint about the cleanliness and the leakage, which should have been more important. I would have appreciated if she had noted my complaint. Last summer, I stayed last summer at the same hotel and I had complained about similar situation in the washroom area last year as well. Things have not improved till now. The Gold Priority membership seems to be of little value here….No bottled water in the room, no morning newspaper and no internet. For 113 Euros I would like to expect better rooms and cleaner washrooms. I left around 0500 hrs, much before the breakfast started, so I can’t really write about the breakfast. If you have your own vehicle and already have had your lunch/dinner elsewhere, then the location is good because the area around the hotel has a lot of greens and is peaceful, but there are no restaurants within walking distances. The hotel food at the bar is just plain grubby and waiting to take a taxi can be time consuming and quite expensive In the future, I would like to avoid booking here and wouldn’t want to recommend this place to anyone. It’s just not clean enough.

Room Tip: Have lunch / dinner before you check in. Be prepared for poor internet connectivity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Yatri1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAGT, Geschäftsführer at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your review and sharing of the experience you had in the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt Airport.

We are very sorry to hear that you did not like staying with us, in particular you considered the room not to be clean enough. Although the housekeeping supervisor, the hotel team and Holiday Inn Express do regular room inspections, it is not acceptable that a room which is found not to be clean is being sold to guests. We will address this issue with our maids.

The hotel offers a free newspaper to all Priority Club Rewards guests (pick-up at reception). Internet is also provided free of charge to all PCR elite members in Gold and Platinum level. Watch out for the re-launch of our programme to IHG Rewards Club which will provide a standardised experienced in all IHG hotels worldwide, which will then also include a drink for elite members. However, maybe provided at the bar and not as bottle water in the hotel room.

We look forward to welcoming you again to any IHG hotel worldwide.

Best regards
Martin and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

This hotel was a mistake, at least on the day I was there. After a long day of travel and not being able to locate the shuttle from the airport (requiring a fairly expensive taxi ride), three of us arrived to find that the rooms were adequate but wifi was available only in the warm and humid lobby, not in the rooms. The bar advertises Gin and Tonic, but had no gin; also advertises Jack Daniel's, but was out. Nuts and/or pretzels were available only by purchase from a vending machine. At breakfast, there was no butter to be had, even when asked for. Next time I'll pay a little more and get some acceptable amenities.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gaffnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAGT, Geschäftsführer at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your review and sharing of your experience you had in the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt Airport. We are very sorry to hear that you experience some trouble during your stay.

When you stayed with us, Germany was suffering a heat wave - and do be frank, our country is not prepared for this as it is very unusual. So with opening sliding doors, the lobby ended up being quiet warm, but still many degrees below outside.

It is indeed not acceptable that some items at the bar where sold out. With regards to the missing butter at the breakfast, we could not follow up on this as there was no butter missing at any time, it being a standard item on our buffet.

We hope to be able to the IHG family of hotel another time, maybe try a Holiday Inn instead of a Holiday Inn Express to benefit of some more services and wider choices.

Best regards
Martin and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morfelden-Walldorf
0.4 mi away
NH Frankfurt Moerfelden Conference Center
NH Frankfurt Moerfelden Conferen...
#1 of 9 in Morfelden-Walldorf
3.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
5.1 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Frankfurt Airport
Holiday Inn Frankfurt Airport
#44 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Frankfurt-Airport North
5.0 mi away
Sheraton Frankfurt Airport Hotel & Conference Center
5.2 mi away
NH Frankfurt Airport
NH Frankfurt Airport
#1 of 8 in Kelsterbach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport
Address: Langener Str. 200, 64546 Morfelden-Walldorf, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hesse > Morfelden-Walldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Morfelden-Walldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt Airport Hotel is conveniently located only 15 minutes from Frankfurt Airport. Getting to Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt Airport is easy. We are just off the A5 motorway and offer a regular shuttle service from Frankfurt Airport between 6am and 10:30 pm. Shuttle service (Euro 5.00) from and to Frankfurt Airport. Wake up to continental breakfast in our bright Great Room each morning and plan your day with complimentary wireless Internet in the hotel. You can host event in our 6 naturally lit meeting rooms and make use of the 24-hour self-service Business Centre. There is ample parking at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt Airport. Mörfelden Business Park is just 600 metres from the hotel. Explore the attractions of Central Frankfurt just 25 km from Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt Airport. Get your bearing from the crystalline Main Tower, then stroll through the cobbled Old Town to a cozy Ebbelwoi apple wine tavern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport Hotel Morfelden-Walldorf
Morfelden-Walldorf Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport Germany/Morfelden-Walldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing