We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss the wild animals”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jagdschloss Monchbruch
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This beautifully restored hunting castle and hotel is privately owned and managed. One of the owners is always present. The rooms are very comfortable. Breakfast is satisfactory. The afternoon coffees and dinners are rather special and slightly upmarket.

If you don't mind a little walk before breakfast, ask for a room across the street. These rooms are a bit larger and much closer to the wildlife area.

About 100 m from the hunting castle, is the entrance gate to a nature protected area. Great place to walk. In season you can pick the leaves of a special plant that tastes something like garlic.

When you go in the main gate, and you take the left-hand walking path. It brings you around a small lake. In the late afternoon, the beaver rats come under the water looking for food. Many people bring bread, carrots, vegetables for the animals. These big friendly rats cannot see very well. You can feed them from your hand. They can (might/will) unintentionally bite.

The location makes it very interesting for visits to Frankfurt, Weisbaden, Darmstadt, and Heidelberg.

This is the only hotel that I know of that does not raise its rates for any of the Frankfurt fairs. Compliments and respect.

If you want to get away from a plastic hotel, breathe wonderful ions, and in many cases save awful lot of money. This house is to be recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms in the restored hunting castle are larger. While it is just a little bit isolated, we fou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSwedishBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 45 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

room was ice cold . No phone in room. Beside lamp not working.
No instructions like any other hotel offers.
Breakast was below standard.No eggs. Hard rolls.No small dishes for jam.
Entrance to restaurant looked not kept up and was ouytdated.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guteeltern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

10 minutes from an international airport, you are in a 19th century novel. Of course, you can hear and see the planes overhead but they stop at night anyway and are not really a disturbance.
Very nice welcome from the owner/manager (?) who sent us to our suite across the road with his 9 or 10 year old daughter. We liked that very much.
Beautiful restaurant, full of local people. A lovely Thai waitress, very friendly and efficient.
The amuse-bouche and the appetizer were very good. Unfortunately, we do not understand a word of German and the menu is not in any other language. What a shame! So we did not know what to choose from the menu and our choice was not very good. Same thing for the dessert.
Small detail in the bath room: this is a plush hotel (albeit not really expensive) and the toiletries are not in par.
Average breakfast. We had better ones, this one was just OK.
All in all, a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: No idea about the rooms. The suites are huge and very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackyHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This was our first night on Holiday Tour so were looking for a comfortable Hotel not far from Airport. This was excellent old style typically German Hotel nearby the forest. The Hotel & other building are part of an 18th Century Hunting Lodge so there is plenty of history to admire. Inside has been modernised a bit to make it comfortable but still has that old world charm.Before booking I was concerned about the Airport noise but happy to say that the rooms we had were well sound proofed so wasn't an issue. Our rooms were across the road from the Main Hotel & restaurant in a lovely cute separate 2 storey building. The rooms were upstairs with comfortable beds with well equipped bathrooms.
We had Dinner & Breakfast in the Restaurant which was well patronised so best to book a table. Traditional German food which was very tasty & the staff were attentive.
We were very pleased with our stay and thank the family & staff for their attention & hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Italy-Escape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed here on my own as my last night in Germany before heading out the next morning from Frankfurt airport. What a lovely setting, decent food in the restaurant, cozy room with wooden beams and a spanking new bathroom. Taxi ride to the airport took only 15 minutes, what a lovely last night in Germany!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I stayed at the Jagdschloss over 4 days in January 2012. On the first night of our stay we ate at the hotel and our food was excellent, I had a dish of three types of fish which was most tasty. The second night was a function for a friend's 40th birthday. There were over 50 at the party and the hotel seemed to cope well, the food was good and available all night, the service great. Almost all attending the party stayed over and they moved breakfast to a larger area over the road. This may be a drawback for some, part of the hotel is on the other side of the road, but it does have a dedicated crossing. Although we had a rental car there is an hourly bus either to Russelsheim or Frankfurt Airport (number 752). Overall my room was good and cleaned well every day. Although the bed was comfortable it needs replacing soon. Breakfast was the usual meats, cheese and bread with cereals and fruit - eggs could be asked for at no extra cost, everything I ate was fresh and tasty. Despite being quite near the A5 and A67 the hotel is on it's own in woodland. It is within 15 minutes of the airport but I did not notice a huge amount of noise and disruption. I did not explore the forest much but many seemed to visit the woodland and stop at the hotel for refreshment. The staff were friendly and most spoke English to some degree, it felt very much like a family with children on site. There is almost no mobile signal reception around the hotel but this is offset by good wi-fi coverage throughout the main part of the hotel including my room. All in all I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danbaggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

A great old hunting lodge, just south of the Frankfurt Airport, with a good restaurant, and extensive adjoining Hessen Land parkland for walking. Its 20 minutes to the airport by car, so this is a fantastic alternative to staying in a vanilla airport hotel if you have an early flight out of Frankfurt.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morfelden-Walldorf hotels
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Ai...
#1 of 9 in Morfelden-Walldorf
730 reviews
3.5 mi away
NH Frankfurt Moerfelden Conference Center
NH Frankfurt Moerfelden Conferen...
#2 of 9 in Morfelden-Walldorf
845 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Walldorf
Hotel Walldorf
#8 of 9 in Morfelden-Walldorf
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Global
Hotel Global
#4 of 9 in Morfelden-Walldorf
129 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel zum Loewen
Hotel zum Loewen
#3 of 9 in Morfelden-Walldorf
59 reviews
4.2 mi away
Albatros Airport Hotel
Albatros Airport Hotel
#5 of 9 in Morfelden-Walldorf
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jagdschloss Monchbruch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jagdschloss Monchbruch

Address: Moenchbruch 1, 64546 Morfelden-Walldorf, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Morfelden-Walldorf
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Morfelden-Walldorf
Price Range: $78 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jagdschloss Monchbruch 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jagdschloss Monchbruch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jagdschloss Monchbruch Germany/Morfelden-Walldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing