We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect experience”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hofgeismar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dornroeschenschloss Sababurg
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hofgeismar
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect experience”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We just spent on night here in the castle. I have to say that I am shocked that there are any negative reviews at all. We checked in and immediately went to our tower room. It was attractive and clean. We appreciated the attention to details in the design and the fact that the room was modern but retained a castle feeling. I am an architect and noted a couple of minor things that I think only an architect would think much about but my impression as a whole was excellent.

When we checked in they encouraged us to have dinner with them. We were so glad we did. It was superb. We did not expect such good food. It was modern but still felt of the castle period with rich, dense broths and hearty meat dishes. Really fine dining.

Everyone that we spoke to while we were there was delightful especially our server at dinner. We loved it and intend to go back.

Room Tip: Get a tower room. We did not see any of the others but everyone wants to stay in the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rkited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    36
    21
    10
    15
See reviews for
51
84
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

My family and I visited and stayed two nights in this wonderful hotel/Castle in Feb 2013. The hotel staff was wonderful, especially our waitress. During lunch and dinner,she explained in good english, our choices for meals from the menu. We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner in the hotel, the meals were wonderful! During lunch my daughter and I enjoyed Tea time for two, on the menu it is called "Sleeping Beauty Tea for Two", the rose tea and rose jam were awesome! This hotel is a wonderful getaway for the family or a romantic getaway! There is an animal park within walking distance from the hotel, Tierpark, the walk from the hotel only took 5 min. It has a petting zoo and restaurant, there is an entry fee which is very reasonable. According to the staff perfect time of year to see the roses and other flowers is mid June. There is a small gift shop which sales local rose tea and wine and many other gifts.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

With a 2 year old in tow we couldn't pass up the opportunity to stay in Sleeping Beauty's castle! The hotel did not disappoint, and it's a beautiful castle set in the middle of forest, overlooking fields of animals.

We had a larger tower room, which gave us the space to put our daughter's cot in the hallway area, so we all had a bit more room than usual. The room was lovely, although we suspected it may not have been used recently as we noticed a few little insects and we all sneezed a bit - maybe from dust, but there was none that we could see. We were not bothered by this, and it wasn't anything major.

Service was great from the start, and we were given a guide to the garden walks, and welcomed into the lounge where we read books and drank coffee by the fire, while befriending the castle dog.

We had dinner there, and the food and service were outstanding. I had the best risotto of my life, and we appreciated nice touches like the extra courses 'from the chef's that we hadn't ordered.

Breakfast in the morning was just as good.

Loved the experience, and we were made to feel like valued guests. We now have a very happy toddler too!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, FL
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Beautiful castle in beautiful part of Germany, it was our base for exploring Grim Brothers Fairy Tales Road. Food in the restaurant was great. Although the hotel staff was generally polite, they were also not very warm nor personable as we would expect in the US. Room was very comfortable but it is restored in a modern fashion - you have no impression you are in a historic castle while you are in your room. Location for exploring Fairy Tale road is great (Kassel, Munden, etc), but of course, you will need a car. Nature is beautiful, we recommend the magic oak tree forest - just make sure you get VERY precise directions from staff - we had to go there two days due to their vague directions and lack of maps.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaWestPalmBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

A very extrodinary hotel, beautiful view from d room, quiet, romantic and peaceful. Excellent and friendly service, fresh good, and delicious from both dinner and breakfast.

D room is a bit out of my expectation, but it's clean and cater with crabtree & Evelyn toiletries.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandyweng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Stayed one night here in July 2012 - we were driving on Germany's Fairy Tale Road and were looking to spend a night at a castle. We did try getting a room in another one, but decided against it since the room was a little too small for our needs (we were traveling as a family of 3 -2 adults and a 6 year old). We then managed to find a fairly large room @ the Sababurg.

The experience overall was a fantastic one, although the fact that parts of the castle have undergone significant renovations (including the room where we stayed) perhaps rendered it just that bit short of the authentic castle experience. Our room overlooked the famed wildlife park below the castle grounds - unfortunately, the park was closed, and the best we got in terms of getting to see animals was some sheep and some donkeys.

The staff in the castle are exceedingly friendly and helpful, right from two ladies at the reception who helped us lug 2 heavy bags up the staircase (the castle, being morer e than 600 years old doesn't have a lift) to the lady who oversaw our table at dinner - definitely the most enthusiastic and bubbly person to have ever waited on us at a table - her demeanor more than made up for the food, which, while nothing to complain about, was not exactly suited to our palates. The breakfast menu, on the other hand, did leave a lot to be desired - it was no better than the typical 3-star fare that one came across in other German hotels.

At the time of checking out, the gentleman at the counter was again extremely helpful, and gave us some useful tips on other sights to see on the Fairy Tale Road - we were also given a small bottle of rosepetal jam with the compliments of the castle.

Overall, a very nice experience - I would however feel that if one is looking for the authentic castle experience, there are quite a few other places in Germany that would fit the bill better.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWEDEN
Level Contributor
102 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Sababurg is a castle ruin in the process of being rebuilt. It is located on a copse with nice views over scattered woodland with Prszewalski horses, aurochs and deer. It is family run and offers the following spectacular amenities:
A splendid quite "modern" 6 course meal in the restaurant including wine pairings and drinks before dinner for an extremely affordable price.
A GIANT castle breakfast served IN BED included in the room rate
A free minibar
A nice tower room with a four poster bed with stars in the Himmelbett!
Very friendly and accommodating staff.

What it also offers is tourists visiting the property during the afternoon, concrete walls and modern cupboards in the suite, albeit with old style chairs and tables. It also offers LOTS of stairs if You stay at the top of the tower.

There are opportunities to watch the wildlife in the Nature park and You also get to meet dornröschen in person. They also have a surprise or two for You which I will not divulge.

All in all a very good value for money stay, especially if You want a stopover when driving through germany on Your way to the continent. Only be aware of the fact that it is a castle under construction, and that the reconstruction is done with some modern furniture.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rhodesian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hofgeismar
11.8 mi away
Schlosshotel Wilhelmsthal
7.5 mi away
Wirtshaus Kopenick
Wirtshaus Kopenick
#2 of 3 in Hofgeismar
5 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hessischer Hof
Hessischer Hof
#1 of 8 in Bad Karlshafen
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Waldhotel Schaferberg Kassel
16.1 mi away
H4 Hotel Kassel
H4 Hotel Kassel
#6 of 50 in Kassel
198 reviews
18.2 mi away
Ibis Hotel Kassel
Ibis Hotel Kassel
#12 of 50 in Kassel
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dornroeschenschloss Sababurg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dornroeschenschloss Sababurg

Property: Dornroeschenschloss Sababurg
Address: Im Reinhardswald, 34369 Hofgeismar, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Hofgeismar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hofgeismar
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Dornroeschenschloss Sababurg Hofgeismar
Dornroeschenschloss Sababurg Germany/Hofgeismar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing