We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Bad Homburg Friedrichsdorf
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Friedrichsdorf
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Average at Best”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

The beds could not be described as a dream to sleep on, as you could feel the springs. The bathrooms were basic, but clean. We stayed here as part of a Cosmos trip where most of the hotels were fantastic, but not so much with this one. We had an included meal here and it was really awful, weird watery chicken broth, dried out chicken and coconut cake (I think) with custard underneath, it too was very dry. For breakfast we were shoved down into a basement bar, however the breakfast was adequate. A very average experience.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ngaire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    151
    124
    33
    14
See reviews for
49
81
66
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
67 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel is good enough to stay for few days in Bad Homburg area in a quiet neighborhood. We stayed for 2 nights as part of the budget tour (no choice). It has the basic needs, clean rooms, average size. There is mini fridge in the room, flat screen TV, coffee,tea, percolator which is convenient. Breakfast is basic, eggs, cereals, milk, coffee, juice, bacon, bread. WiFi is not free but there is a computer to use for internet in the lobby for free, also an exchange for currency. Staff are friendly. There is a big grocery at the back of the hotel which is a plus and few restaurants around.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RPRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I arrived at the Hotel Mercure after a coach journey from Brussels.At check in I was allocated a room on the 8th floor.There is two lifts for access.A three course dinner was served in the hotel restaurant an hour after my arrival,which was standard fare.
My room was very small and consisted of a built into the wall single box bed,(which was not to my liking at all,it was more suited for a child),a wide screen TV,Coffee/Tea making facility and a mini bar which I had no interest in.The En-Suite bathroom was also small with a corner shower and a few towels.
Internet connection was available at 3 Euros for an hour,5 Euros for five hours etc.A buffet continental breakfast was available in a small dining area on level -1,and again, was basic standard fare.I stayed for one night at the Hotel Mercure and that was enough for me.The hotel is basic with basic facilities and I doubt very much would use again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peregrinus5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Friedrichsdorf hotels

Stillman Valley
Level Contributor
174 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Multiple workers here were the most rude we experienced in our 2 weeks in Europe. Too bad, because the hotel has some nice plusses, like a tremendous swimming pool and sauna. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom set up was crammed and uncomfortable, a nice bar area and outside sitting area helped. Fire the unhappy bartender, who was the most rude person we met in the entire continent, ditch the receptionist who don't fit that description, and you'd have a very pleasant stop.

Room Tip: Save money on your European trip by visiting the supermarket behind the hotel and buy your chips, po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StillmanValleyScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2013

A bit out of the city but the stay was nice and comfortable with helpful staff. It makes sense to stay here in case you want to commute quickly to the airport as you beat the morning traffic rush. Enjoyed the countryside and the overall experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank mogambo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

If you are looking for a hotel in Bad Homburg/Friedrichsdorf then i cant think of any other better option than the Mercure. I had my own car so it was very convenient, but i think taxis are also quite cheap and easily available in the area. The hotel has a big parking, which is also free for residents.

The room is also very comfortable, reasonably sized and in line with other hotels in the frankfurt area. there is a curious contraption in the room for pressing trousers, which seems to work OK and is more convenient than an iron. Breakfast is very good- the usual European breakfast but i really found that the quality of every ingredient and component was top class!

The hotel has a nice restaurant and a bar as well. It is also situated next to a huge supermarket so if you are staying for a longer period you can find a lot of things in the deli that is located within the supermarket. Internet is not free.

I found the staff to be very helpful, and ready with an answer/solution to everything i threw at them! i think i will be coming here many times again.

Room Tip: Try to find a room with breakfast, it is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NG42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, WA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The hotel prices for Frankfurt during this time in April were double or triple regular rates so chose this hotel. A 30 S bahn ride from haupbahnhof. I had made an advance no cancel reservation about 8 months in advance of stay. That rate was 54 euro a night and included breakfast. Good breakfast. Small room. Uphill from Friedrichsdorf bahnhof and about a 15 minutes walk if you did not get lost. About 4-5 euro taxi trip. I had thought wifi was included about that was extra. 9 euro for 24 hours. Right next to giant supermarket, Tooms. Tooms is closed Sunday but there is a gas station minimarket across the street open Sunday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkh29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friedrichsdorf
0.5 mi away
Hotel Arkadia
Hotel Arkadia
#2 of 7 in Friedrichsdorf
34 reviews
1.9 mi away
Maritim Hotel Bad Homburg
Maritim Hotel Bad Homburg
#2 of 16 in Bad Homburg
158 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Erlenbacherhof
Hotel Erlenbacherhof
#3 of 16 in Bad Homburg
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel Bad Homburg
1.6 mi away
Hotel Haus am Park
Hotel Haus am Park
#9 of 16 in Bad Homburg
53 reviews
1.0 mi away
TaunusTagungsHotel
TaunusTagungsHotel
#3 of 7 in Friedrichsdorf
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Bad Homburg Friedrichsdorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Bad Homburg Friedrichsdorf

Property: Mercure Hotel Bad Homburg Friedrichsdorf
Address: Im Dammwald 1, 61381 Friedrichsdorf, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Friedrichsdorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Friedrichsdorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Bad Homburg Friedrichsdorf 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Mercure Hotel Bad Homburg Friedrichsdorf near Bad Homburg just 25 km from the city of Frankfurt. Located in the Taunus region at the heart of the Rhine-Main area, our hotel is easy to get to by all means of transport. Our 125 rooms are equipped with flat-screen TV, air conditioning and Wi-Fi and welcome you with their warm, friendly atmosphere. After a long day, our restaurant "Kabinett" will treat you to regional and international delicacies. Round off your evening in our bar "Journal", have some fun in our bowling alley or enjoy a nice swim in our pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Hotel Bad Homburg Friedrichsdorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing