We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible - but could have potential”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golfhotel Kaiserin Elisabeth
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Starnberg
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This well known and historical place could be so fantastic with its great location close to lake and golf course, but it's fusty, dark, creaky and definitely not for the young at heart. Menu varies little so don't expect something different each time you're there. Furthermore, the staff is generally unfriendly and I'd recommend to avoid the place if at all possible.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank David011158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for Golfhotel Kaiserin Elisabeth
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 55 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

This place is far too expensive for what you get. The room was dated and STUNK like body odor. We stayed for two nights and had the windows open the entire time trying to air the place out but it was like it was embedded in the room. The staff was friendly and the terrace outside was beautiful, but it was not enough to justify the price of staying here. The entire place looks old and a bit run down, and while I can appreciate old and charming, this place is definitely not it. The bathroom was nice and spacious, but the window in the bathroom did not have a curtain/blinds so we basically showered with a great view into the windows in the neighbors house and them with a great view of us!

Room Tip: Choose a room that doesn't stink
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ejonesy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights on a work function and it was perfectly pleasant. The room was huge and very clean.
There is a smart restaurant and a more casual pub both of which served up good food and excellent beer.
Service was sometimes a little pedestrian and details overlooked (salt & pepper missing from dining table, slow to offer more drinks) but given this is a relaxing holiday / weekend location I didn't find it an issue.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve_Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Kaiserin Elisabeth is a classic at the Starnberger See. Great food, charming rooms and stunning views of the lake and the mountains. I gues the Golf park is also well but did not play there only judge from seeing it from our balcony. Overall a very nice and calm place to spend a weekend in the region.

Room Tip: As high up as possible and with mountain view!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EbeFer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I stayed in the hotel for a summer weekend when a wedding took place in the restaurant. For weddings, the hotel is an ideal and romantic place. It has the atmosphere of a 19th century lake residence. The restaurant has one of the most beautiful terraces I have ever seen, overlooking the lake with the Alps in the background. In case you stay there for reasons other than weddings, some disadvantages become more apparent: the rooms are noisy and clairaudient, and you take part in whatever is celebrated at that moment; sleep is impossible during this time. I would therefore avoid the hotel during weekends in future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fornax-Madrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
2  Thank Michael-Sybille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Unschuldig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Starnberg
3.8 mi away
Fischerhaus
Fischerhaus
#2 of 5 in Starnberg
100 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Starnberg
0.2 mi away
Hotel Residence Starnberger See
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Schloss Berg Hotel
Schloss Berg Hotel
#2 of 2 in Berg am Starnberger See
146 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Seeblick
Hotel Seeblick
#2 of 2 in Bernried am Starnberger See
58 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel am See
Hotel am See
#4 of 4 in Tutzing
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golfhotel Kaiserin Elisabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golfhotel Kaiserin Elisabeth

Address: Tutzinger Str. 2 | Feldafing, 82340, Starnberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Starnberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Starnberg
Price Range: $117 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golfhotel Kaiserin Elisabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Golfhotel Kaiserin Elisabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing