We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
San Gabriele
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Alpina(Rosenheim)
$113
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hammerwirt(Rosenheim)
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Pfaffinger Hof(Rosenheim)
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveler rating
114
81
21
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
81
21
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour poster bednice themewooden furnitureold buildingitalian fooduneven floorscharming hotelnooks and cranniessitting areafree parkingfamily roombreakfast roommonasteryatmospherestyleoutskirtsmattress
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 224 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I found this hotel on tripadvisor and ratings looked good. We are a family of 5 people and booked the family room. There a lot of good things about this hotel despite the 2 Star rating. The people are very nice, the restaurant serves phantastic food and the hotel environment is just unique in its own beutiful way. So why the Low score? A couple of minor things like the booking being a little slow and the fact that the surroundings of the hotel are really poor already took away 1 star. But the biggest Challenge was that we stayed over one night to sleep on our Way to italy and it was about 30 degrees warm outside. And so was the hotel room!! We asked for a ventilator for the room as there is no aircondition and had a small one that could cover 1/3 of the room and when we asked for one more, we Were told that they did not have any. The result was that we did not sleep at all that Night and were more tired when we left the hotel than we arrived. Despite a great breakfast next morning it was far from great. A hotel at this Price level you should be able to at least sleep in and therefore the rating can not be higher.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gunhild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend away and the room was great! They upgraded us free of charge because they were quiet and they didn't even mention it. The hotel room itself was beautiful- really luxurious although minimal to fit the monastery style. I would suggest you have a car if staying here- you can walk around 30 mins from train station I think but it was quite far out of town. The breakfast was typical German but really nice, quite minimal but we didn't want for anything more. The only problem we had was small but does unfortunately affect the experience.. all the staff were really nice except the lady who checked us in, she was quite cold and didn't give us any information, we weren't welcomed just given our key basically, we would have liked to know where and when breakfast was, where our room was, how to use the key (which was a bit confusing) and what was around. Perhaps she was busy but a bit of attention doesn't go a miss!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BPTEACHMED16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed on business, the hotel is set up to appear to be a monastery I think. It was clean, comfortable. The breakfast is typical Germany fare, well prepared. The only complaint was no temperature adjustment in the room. I slept with the window open so it worked. Fully stocked beer. If you don't have a car you will need either a cab or walk 30 minutes to Rosenheim. The restaurant was good that was attached to the hotel. If you have a car parking can be tough as the hotel is in a neighborhood with only a few spaces.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank hawntjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel looks from the outside like something from the 15th or 16th centuries, yet when you read the information in the hotel room you find it was opened in 2005 with all the old fashioned detailing being put in as new at this time.
It is quite a strange concept, but it does work.
My room was a good size with a good bathroom, although the bathroom was small.
There is a TV, mini-bar and safe in the rooms, plus ample space for hanging clothes.
The food in the restaurant is excellent, with a good choice all based on Italian cuisine.
The serving staff are dressed as monks, which is entertaining to a point, but it looks a little odd, especially on some of the younger staff, just doesn't look quite right.
The breakfast choice is typical continental, plenty to choose from and the serving staff are friendly and very efficient.
I will be staying here again in the next couple of months, and I must admit I am looking forward to it.
As a base for seeing the Bavarian mountains for a travelling couple this would be perfect.

Room Tip: Try to avoid ground floor rooms if you can, seem a little noisy. Room 16 is opposite the reception and you get constant noise from reception, almost at any hours.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisM239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed here for the second time and were just as happy as our first stay.
Lovely building, excellent room, nice and quiet, with very good breakfast for 4.5 euro, salmon, eggs, cold meats etc, and very friendly staff.
Within 2 minutes walk of big supermarket ideal to stock up for next days drive.
Very good

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beaubleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews