We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really like this place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Gabriele

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
San Gabriele
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Rosenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Really like this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed here for the second time and were just as happy as our first stay.
Lovely building, excellent room, nice and quiet, with very good breakfast for 4.5 euro, salmon, eggs, cold meats etc, and very friendly staff.
Within 2 minutes walk of big supermarket ideal to stock up for next days drive.
Very good

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beaubleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    61
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
18
58
8
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the San gabriele last weekend for two nights as a romantic weekend away. We booked the "romantische wochenende" package which included both nights and a 4 course meal in the hotel restaurant, Il convento. We upgraded the package to a deluxe room with four poster bed and whirlpool bath for an extra 100€
Arrangements:
Booking on the phone was a pleasure with very friendly and helpful staff who helped me both with the room and the restaurant booking.
The Hotel
Don't be put off by the hotels physical location if you look at it on google maps and see it surrounded by an industrial estate, petrol station and supermarket, once you pull up in front of the hotel it’ll all be forgotten as you’re transported to a wonderful, albeit, reconstructed medieval monastery but with the luxury of a modern hotel. The attention to detail and beautifully lit winding walkways, passages and stairways are beautifully done and it is worth staying at this hotel for the architecture alone.
The Room
As I mentioned, we had a deluxe room with four poster and whirlpool bath. The room was clean, romantically lit with a spacious bathroom and sitting area in addition to the comfortable bed. The pillows however were typical German fare.
If you’re not used to a pillow which at first although it seems to be fluffy and supportive but actually compresses on use to 1cm thick and endeavours to wrap itself round your head at night and suffocate you. Even folding it in half twice was only enough to give one a stiff neck, so I would heartily recommend you bring your own. The hotel does have an extensive “pillow menu” with various alternatives, but were apparently unable to bring us extra, replacement, or indeed any kind of what could be described as a functional pillow despite asking twice and being assured they were on the way. The room wasn’t made up during the day, but to be fair, we were only out of it from 10am to 3pm, so maybe there wasn’t enough time. They did bring fresh towels though.
Bathroom was lovely, as was the whirlpool bath, but it did give us quite a fright when it started of its own accord in an empty bath in late afternoon. TV was ancient, but functional with a very limited choice of channels, so not really catering for international visitors.

Our first night was also disturbed by a loud and noisy party held in the restaurant.

Food and Drink
The breakfast room is set out in the same theme, but for some reason they have laid out the buffet in the same narrow entrance which hotel guests use to enter and exit the “refectorium” leading to disgruntled tuts and logjams at regular intervals. Choosing tables is a free for all, and whereas normally one is offered tea or coffee at ones table, we were left to fend for ourselves and rattle through cupboards to find extra cups. Breakfast fare was plentiful and nicely, if over abundantly presented, but was of poor quality.
We ate in the hotel restaurant on both nights, unfortunately. The restaurant follows the same architectural theme as the hotel, and looks fantastic, the service tried hard, they really did, but what let it down was quite simply the food. The menu was uninspiring, but simple food done well can be magnificent, done badly it can ruin even the best looking restaurant. Unfortunately the food here had the latter quality in abundance.
On the first night, I had caprese, or tomato and mozzarella. The tomatoes were large, hard, watery and tasteless, the mozzarella equally so. My main course of Linguine alla frütte de mare. The pasta was well cooked, but the sauce was bland, flavourless and looked like it came from a packet. The seafood was ok, but the lonely three prawns were overcooked and the baby squid were inedible. My wife had a fillet steak which was cooked as required, but was not properly sealed and lacked flavour. As a side dish, an unseasoned potato (singular) and some steamed carrot and cauliflower were added to the plate as an afterthought.
The four course meal wasn’t much better, although we did get to not enjoy it in a lovely romantic alcove. After a starter of rather boring antipasti, the pasta course was delicious and well presented. Unfortunately the main course, fish of unknown genus managed to be both over cooked and raw at the same time and was truly inedible.
There are many better restaurants in Rosenheim and the area, but in terms of food, few worse.
Overall
All that glisters is not gold
Overall we had a lovely romantic and relaxing weekend in a magnificent and beautiful hotel unfortunately let down by bland, cheap and poorly prepared food and the lacklustre service that one regrettably comes to expect when living in Germany.

Room Tip: Deluxe room, or room not above the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DerekBeggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

I loved this hotel, it may not be old, it is true is a new construction, but the owners have taken care until the last detail to make it look like a real convent that the atmosphere is just like it. I loved all the decorations, the uneven floors and walls, the materials used, the doors with the huge old metal handles, niches in the walls with candles everywhere........great!! and most importantly, really fun to stay in a hotel like this one.

When we arrived, the receptionist informed us that we were given a better room than the one we booked, they upgraded us just because the room was available, so that was extra nice of them.

The hotel has a restaurant that continues with the theme of the convent looks, and all the waiters wear robes!!!, food was good and it is an italian restaurant, I recomed it.

The breakfast buffet was adecuate, enough of everything.

For a place like Rosenheim, that is not one of the biggest cities in Germany, to have this type of hotel, I find it amazing and really fun.

So, if for once, you want to stay in a different hotel, live something new, I really recommend you this hotel, is a nice place to stay in Rosenheim.

Pati-chueca

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pati-chueca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

Stayed here for a week to attend a friend's wedding, though is outskirt of the town it takes around 5 mins to drive to the center from hotel - close to highway. Center of town has quite a few unexpectedly good restaurants/ hangout that midnight seems to be early.
The room is spacious, bathroom is small but lit nicely. Bed linens are less soft while mattress is however, due to the coolness of the weather with window opened I slept quite well. Just wished they would vacuum the floor more frequently. Hotel Restaurant aren't open after 10pm (if remember correctly) so please eat first at the airport / on the way should you arrive late. I'm fine with the monotonous breakfast however some of us got sick of it after 3 days of having the same food...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r0wee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garches, France
Level Contributor
103 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2007

We stayed 2 nights in this small brand-new "auberge" located in the outskirts of Rosenheim. Obviously, owned by an italian family, it tries very hard to recreate the atmosphere of a monastery. You have the "refektorium" for breakfast, the chapiter room, etc ... Rooms are somewhat "spartan" furnished but it is to comply with the theme ... Bathrooms are small but beautiful. Staff is friendly but not to the extent to keep open the restaurant on December 24th evening... hard to believe but not one restaurant open in this town of more than 20,000 people and even in München, it seemed that the only opened restaurant in this town of 1,300,000 was the Hofbraü !!!

  • Liked — The cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arnaud92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosenheim
1.1 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Rosenheim
TRYP by Wyndham Rosenheim
#5 of 12 in Rosenheim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#8 of 12 in Rosenheim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
14.9 mi away
Pfaffinger Hof
Pfaffinger Hof
#4 of 12 in Rosenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Parkhotel Crombach
Parkhotel Crombach
#3 of 12 in Rosenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
5.4 mi away
Lindners Romantik Hotel & Restaurants
6.8 mi away
B&O Parkhotel
B&O Parkhotel
#1 of 5 in Bad Aibling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Gabriele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Gabriele

Property: San Gabriele
Address: Zellerhornstr. 16, 83026 Rosenheim, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Rosenheim
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Rosenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — San Gabriele 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4-star hotel offers a historic atmosphere, romantic restaurant and traditional wine cellar. It lies outside the Bavarian city of Rosenheim, 3.2 Km from the center of the city and main train station. The Hotel San Gabriele is a former monastery. It offers individual rooms with individual charm and free Wi-Fi. Many rooms at the San Gabriele feature vaulted ceilings and four-poster beds. Some rooms also have a waterbed or jacuzzi. A rich breakfast buffet is available (for an extra cost) each morning in the Hotel San Gabriele. The rustic-style hotel restaurant, Il Convento, serves fine cuisine in a romantic atmosphere. Guests can wine and dine on the terrace of the San Gabriele on warm days. The hotel has good road connections to many attractions in Bavaria, such as Lake Chiemsee (24.1 Km) and Munich (59.5 Km). Free on-site parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your San Gabriele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing