We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting Medieval Castle: Very American Freindly”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burgoberbach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Schloss Sommersdorf
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Enchanting Medieval Castle: Very American Freindly”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Come and stay with the Baron von Crailsheim at the Castle Sommersdorf in Bavaria. You will be enchanted by the wonderful views of this 800 year old castle. The guest rooms are a great place to have as your base of operation when driving around the German countryside. All the rooms are modern, comfortable and very clean. If you are lucky you will even get to see the Baron's antique car collection. How many times can you say that you got to stay at a castle? Come and loose yourself in old Bavaria.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice. You can either stay in the castle or on the grounds. Just ask the Baron.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ingermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
King George, VA
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We visited Schloss Sommersdorf in 2006, and it had remained our favorite vacation of all our travels; so we made a return trip for a week in mid-September. The Baron and Baroness are such gracious hosts that we felt almost like we were visiting old friends. We just love the Franconian countryside and all the quaint medieval walled villages nearby. On the Baron's recommendation we visited a festival at a German farm museum and thoroughly enjoyed it. We would never have known it was taking place if he hadn't told us.
Our apartment was comfortable and spotlessly clean. The kitchen was well-equipped for the few simple meals I prepared "at home", for it did feel like our home. I hope the future will hold another return trip to "our" castle.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JBLKingGeorge_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce Township, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in two apartments (Julie and Carola) at Schloss Sommersdorf and we found the castle to be incredibly interesting and majestic. Our weather was unfortunately rainy and cold and we had difficulty finding the castle, but we were eventually flagged down by the owner after we had called to ask for more specific directions. The villages are small and spaced out and even with GPS in our car, we managed to cruise right through town and miss the castle the first time. It is set back off the road and not visible as you drive by.
The owners were incredibly gracious and offered us a wonderful breakfast in their own dining room as a first morning treat. Dr. Manfred von Crailsheim's family has owned the castle since 1550, which is almost difficult to comprehend. Dr. Crailsheim was so kind to take the time after breakfast to show us maps and other attractions in the area and he has a small booklet in each apartment with the history of Schloss Sommersdorf, as well as tips for the area. We took Dr. Crailsheim up on his suggestion to visit Nurnberg, as well as eat dinner at the Colmberg Castle that is about 20-25 minutes from Sommersdorf.
The castle is somewhat remote and you will be doing a lot of driving to visit the area. It is not far from the highway and if you care to drive 60-90 minutes, you can visit Nurnberg and Munich. However, if you love castles and medieval, walled towns, you will certainly love this area in Germany. Everyone we met was so friendly and the Crailsheim's are delighted to have you stay in their home. Don't forget your GPS!

Room Tip: Our apartment in the main part of the castle had some wifi access if you sat near the front door. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsStapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Castle at Sommersdorf and had a great time. We stayed on the Carola apartment, on the old castle. It is a one bedroom apartment but really spacious and comfortable. It had a little Kitchen and a Big Living room. The amazing thing about this castle are the owners, Dr. Manfred v. Crailsheim, his Wife Lilo and their adorable dog Moritz. We were warmed welcome on the day of arrival and they gave us a tour of the castle. The Following day, they provided a homemade breakfast and we got in loved with their hospitality. We told as a casual conversation during the tour that we were Vegan ( we do not eat animal products nor bi-products), just expecting to have the regular breakfast that you get when traveling .. just bread .. jelly . .etc. OMG.. They cooked a special VEGAN breakfast for us. The table was set in a wonderful, romantic, and beautiful manner, with flowers, and extremely amazing and delicious food especially for us . Dr. Manfred came to talk to us and we spent a good time with all his recommendations of things to do around.. We definitively would love to be back … and highly recommend it if you want to know the country side in Germany and be hosted by a wonderful family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ange1889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

While planning our 6-week, self-drive tour of Europe, we decided that we wanted to stay in a real castle somewhere along the way. We were flying into Frankfurt, Germany and going to be driving along the Romantic Road. I searched the internet for lodgings along the way and I came across the 2009 article in the NYT of Schloss Sommersdorf and was impressed. We booked a 4-day stay at the Schloss with Baron Von Crailsheim and he emailed us with much information and driving directions to the castle. All was perfect. The article and website are EXACTLY as presented. Our stay was everything we envisioned, all was so authentic. We felt that we could have been living in medieval times (with modern conveniences). The moat and grounds were impressive all with beautiful views from our windows. We had breakfast with the Baron and Baroness and they were extremely hospitable. I cannot say enough about our stay at Schloss Sommersdorf, it was one of the highlights of our trip. We hope to one day return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kikizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

Schloss Sommersdorf fits the image of a medieval castle. It has a moat, a keep, a crypt - even a real baron! Baron von Crailsheim was a very gracious host and gave us a fascinating tour of the castle. The castle is in a lovely rural area with lots of wildlife - we saw a stork! - but is only a few minutes away from interesting towns like Ansbach, Rothenburg, and Dinklesbühl. We had a wonderful time at Schloss Sommersdorf!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank 4happytexastravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2009

Just back from a wonderful week in Schloss Sommersdorf, a real 800 yr-old castle. It has been brought into modern times with electricity and water and microwave ovens but the bones are truly old (including the mummies in the cellar).

More like a B&B than a hotel but you're on your own for most meals. We had breakfast with the Baron and Baroness our first morning at which time he also gave us an overview of the castle's istory and grounds and a package of materials to help us find our way aound the region. (Maps were a help but GPS is better). Also were invited to tea later in the week after which we were givien a tour of the castle's turrets and catacombs andthe Baron's car vintage collection.

Very nicely appointed apartment with living room, bedroom, bath and small but complete kitchen. Fresh flowers from the gardens were on the table. Furnished with antiques and oriental rugs (as any castle woth its name should be) and flat screen TV. View from the bedroom of the courtyard, from the living room of the moat and ponds beyond.

There's no business center but for those who can't live without a daily internet fix, there is a laptop available for use. They indicate a daily charge -the funds generated are forwarded to a children's charity in Tanzania. There is also a fridge with local beers and wines available on honor system. Very reasonably priced - not like hotel mini-bars! There is a large very modern kitchen available if you want to REALLY cook.

No organized activities but lots to do - walking within and outsisde the castle walls, carp ponds, bicycles. Beautiful gardens - you're welcome to pick the flowers and fruits - we had wonderful pears and grapes for breakfast each day and with some of the suoer Franken wines of the region.

We were greeted by the owner, Baron von Crailsheim, bringing us a fresh apple strudel made by the housekeeper. There was a small supply of food (eggs, bread, butter, coffee, tea, wine, sausage) to get us started until we could stop at the market in the village to purchase our own foods. Nearest market was about 4 km away. We could walk to the Gasthof in the village for a meal with the locals. Good, hearty local specialties.

Nearby larger towns include Ansbach, Wurzberg, Nurmburg, Dinkelsbuhl.

Not a typical place at all but fun, special, easy. Check out the NYT Travel section from 9 August 2009 - photo and info about this and other German castles taking in overnight guests.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lukehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Schloss Sommersdorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schloss Sommersdorf

Property: Schloss Sommersdorf
Address: Sommersdorf, 91595 Burgoberbach, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Burgoberbach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Burgoberbach
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Schloss Sommersdorf Germany/Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing