We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location - Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Schoene Aussicht
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hornberg
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location - Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel is in a beautiful location in the Black Forest of Germany. Rooms are very clean and very comfortable, meals are excellent, and staff is very attentive. The only negative for me was the lack of air conditioning during a very hot spell. However, during "normal" summer weather, this would not be an issue since ventilation is ample.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie_From_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    33
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
40
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed here a few years ago and wanted to take my partner on a typically German holiday so this was one of the places I thought about going again.

The staff are very friendly and as last time I was here, they don't seem to speak much English which is perfect as it is always nice to use my knowledge of German!

The food in the restaurant is excellent (menu is in German only). I had a wild bore hot pot and spatzle and my partner had schnitzels. The portions were too big, we could have shared either of our meals but it was very good. There is a good salad buffet. As seems to be typical in German hotels, a table is reserved for you in the restaurant with your "family name" on it, and you use the same table for all your meals, very quaint.

Breakfast has a wide selection and a great selection if you are gluten intolerant or any other allergies by the looks of things.

The pool is nice, it was quiet when we were there and we enjoyed the Jacuzzi too.

Parking is plentiful and free.

Location wise, it is a bit of a drive from the main road but worth it for the views, we were camping a lot on the holiday so didnt go out much as this was the restful part of our holiday but I suppose it could get annoying but being isolated is part of the charm. Both roads left and right take you back into civilisation.

The hotel was full when I booked so had to change our dates to get in but I am glad we did.

We had a room with a balcony, the higher the better so ask if they have something higher up. The beds were comfy. The decor was all solid wood, very nice and modern, not scruffy at all.

We found a look out point just up from the hotel, a giant rock with some metal railings on that you could climb up, very nice. There are also trails and all sorts in the forest nearby that we didn't have time to investigate fully but you could spend days walking around.

I have been here twice so probably wont come back again (I prefer trying new places), it is a bit costly but that seems the norm for the area. I would recommend it to my best friend if they wanted to try something typically German.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stacvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We found this hotel by accident. We were going to stay in the nearby town of Triberg but found that too 'touristy' so drove on a little further and saw a sign for 'Schone Aussicht'. We were attracted by the name 'beautiful view'.

We were not disappointed! It's an absolutely gorgeous hotel/spa complex, hidden away in the forest. Prices were surprisingly reasonable considering the quality of the rooms and facilities.

We stayed for two nights and wished we could have had longer. We had no time to use the pool or spa facilities. Our room was large, very clean, with a balcony and modern bathroom with a very powerful shower. There was a large flat screen TV (we didn't watch it!) and a mini bar. The view from the balcony was right across the rolling hills of the Black Forest.

Very popular with walkers and dog owners. Dog friendly. Lovely sunny terrace area and rolling fields with benches to relax on.

The restaurant was large and typically German. Great choices on the menu and well cooked and presented food. Typically large portions! Service was excellent, especially by a young French waitress (who spoke perfect German). On one evening we chose a dish to share - Weitmann's Teller ('Huntsmans Platter'). It was a big 'paella' pan full of different meats (venison, wild boar, rabbit) and Spatzle (a local home made pasta), with delicious sauces. There was enough to feed at least four greedy people!!! All finished off on a table burner at the table.

Breakfast was buffet style and there was a huge choice of cheeses, sausage, conserves, cereals, yoghurts, fruits, rolls, speciality breads etc.

We had no room for cake but there was a chill cabinet with the largest gateaux I have ever seen!!!

We would love to go back and spend more time at this beautiful place.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel get the morning sun. Rooms at the front do not have such a great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I am so happy I booked to stay here with my wife, the location is stunning. This is a perfect place to get away from everything and stay up in the Schwarzwald hills. The hotel is tucked away up a mile or so of narrow road, which in itself is lovely. You have to pass waterfalls and stunning views to find Schoene Aussicht, but it's worth it. Despite the location the hotel feels modern and yet local.
Food is excellent as is the service, you even have your own personalised family table to eat at for each meal. Most of the staff speak some English and all the waiting staff spoke very good english to us. The menu is also available in English.

Add to the peace and tranquility, the very good spa facilities and this hotel is outstanding. There is a pool, jacuzzi, sauna an steam room which are free to use.

This hotel is almost worth travelling to just to visit.

5 stars from me :)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Guru_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
281 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

This hotel is situated off the beaten trail in a wonderful location. There are many hiking trails to walk in the summer months and the back of the hotel has a wonderful sledding area and the sleds are provided. The staff, however, seem moody and unwilling to accommodate simple requests such as changing 20 Euro for two tens or decaf coffee instead of regular. For people in the hotel business they don't seem at all hospitable. The food ranges from tasty to tasteless and you never know which you will get - it's a total crap shoot. I will say, however that the breakfast was always fantastic. The facility itself is nice with an indoor pool, saunas, hot tub and gym. The maid service was also spotty: some days the room was very clean and some days the rugs went unvacuumed or the sinks unwashed. The maids tend to leave the windows wide open even in the middle of winter so you often return to a freezing room. All-in-all this is not a terrible place, but the staff and the atmosphere in general seem quite unfriendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2dtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

WE just stay one night at this hotel, but we return! Clean rooms, lovely swimming pool, little sauna. When you like the abslolutly silence, you can find here!
Big breakfast, good meals!

Room Tip: Ask a room in the 'Gastenhaus'
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maartenbbossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Visited during the summer. Room all look brand new and nice baths. No a/c, but big windows. During a heat wave, you can beg a stein of ice from the bar staff. Meals were nice. Beautiful view and great terrace. During the World Cup, they set up a big screen tv in the basement. Spa services, steam rooms, massage, etc. I imagine it is beautiful also during the winter.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jkloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hornberg
4.9 mi away
Parkhotel Wehrle
Parkhotel Wehrle
#3 of 7 in Triberg
169 reviews
10.6 mi away
Naturparkhotel Adler St. Roman
Naturparkhotel Adler St. Roman
#1 of 1 in Wolfach - St. Roman
222 reviews
2.3 mi away
Schloss Hornberg Hotel
Schloss Hornberg Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hornberg
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Berghotel Schiller
Berghotel Schiller
#1 of 4 in Schonach
48 reviews
5.7 mi away
Landhaus Lauble
Landhaus Lauble
#1 of 4 in Hornberg
61 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Schwarzwald Residenz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schoene Aussicht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schoene Aussicht

Property: Hotel Schoene Aussicht
Address: Schoene Aussicht 1, 78132 Hornberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Hornberg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hornberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Schoene Aussicht 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Schoene Aussicht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing