We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't eat in this hotel; food is much below French standards.”
Review of Le Mas de Guilles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Mas de Guilles
Ranked #3 of 13 Lourmarin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Annecy, France
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Don't eat in this hotel; food is much below French standards.”
Reviewed May 6, 2010

It was my 4th visit. I was really impressed with the dinner on 3 visits. However, the 4th was a disaster. The amuse bouche was a sliced potatoe, cherry tomotoes and a small frank. At first we thought it was a joke. The meal only got worse; the lamb stew had no flavor and the rabbit was dried out.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    45
    17
    9
    8
See reviews for
15
111
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2009

We stayed here for a few days in September. The buildings are beautiful, the swimming pool is magnificent , everything is very clean and well kept. Our big superior room was up a narrow and steep external staircase with an excellent bathroom and lovely view of the gardens. We stayed on half-board. We did not particularly enjoy the dinners - there was no choice on our first night and several courses were designed around fois gras - which we would not necessarily choose. The food was generally too elaborate, expensive and we have eaten better elsewhere. Other guests said they had enjoyed excellent dinners in Lourmarin itself.

We felt that the lack of warmth and friendliness on the part of the owners to be seriously lacking in such a potentially characterful hotel in a lovely area. We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soozLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

This place is everything it says it is and more. I was hesitant to write a review as it is the kind of secret that you want to keep for yourself, but it's actually so good I wanted to share it! Beautiful place, hidden just outside Lourmarin with endless views across the Provencal countryside. The food in the restaurant is just outstanding. Fabulous pool and the grounds are so relaxing - you switch off within seconds of being past their gate. Easy access to Lourmarin and many other of the Luberon villages. This is not to be missed - enjoy and indulge in the peace, tranquility and calm. It is, as it says, a Relais Silence. Make the most of it!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taormina-Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2009

We have been coming here since 2001. Since then much has improved; the rooms are better and the garden is much more elegant with beautiful flowers and big trees around a large and well kept pool. Much attention to detail. The food is good, our room was clean, quiet with a good bathroom but no shower curtains. No airconditioning but the air is dry and so the heat does not bother. Unfortunately the reception is cold and not very efficient. When checking out with a clerk, the owner sat behind her desk and did not even nod good-bye despite the fact that we have been here five times. Food is good but the service is often arrogant, and not always professionally served; not much help with the luggage. The terrasse is lovely in the morning and dinner; breakfast buffet is plentiful. Ideal place to attend the Opera in Aix-en-Provence and the Piano Festival in Roque d'Anthéron and to relax, read and forget the busy world. Free Wifi available but only in the reception area, difficult to access because of complicated coding and no help from the front desk.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2009

Most has been said.
A wonderful, quiet setting, with beautiful views of the Luberon. Nearby Lourmarin is one of the prettiest villages in the region, with a marvellous Friday market (though restaurants there are only average). Great pool, lovely terrace for breakfast (though more umbrellas for shade please!) and pretty grounds.
Whole place is quietly efficient with good eye for details, but owners could be more chaleureux (warm). The bathroom we had needs updating and the room was a little "tired", but in Provence in summer, you don't spend much time in your room!
We would return.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbwlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tervuren
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Pos: quiet, beautiful mas, well kept, fine swimmingpool, terras for breakfast magnificant, clean, good breakfast, housekeepers and deskpersonal friendly
Neg: room 310 (120 €) no airco, can't stand on one side of the bed neither in the toilet, no place to eat in the restaurant at night !!!, breakfast at 15 € pp is to much, the lady of the house is friendly but not in a really kind way,

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeertGeert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda Dunes, CA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2009

The hotel buildings are charming & atmospheric, grounds are lovely, with an expansive view from the dining terrace, huge pool area. It would be a spectacular place for a small spa facility!

Spent three nights in room # 325. Nice suite with spacious bedroom, smallish living area, two TVs, large & gorgeous bathroom - loved the shower! Front & back patios with unexciting, basic chairs and tables.

We had just come from Le Hameau in St Paul de Vence & Le Chateau des Alpilles in St . Remy-de-Provence. Both those hotels provided outstanding sevice, so by comparison the effort here was just a little lacking. We arrived a bit early and were told to come back not before the check-in time. Helpful with luggage, but not personable.
Dinner wait staff were not very polished. Asked for the prix fixe menu without the cheese course, was begrudgingly given a price for that by the manager (?). When tasting the wine, there was a fly in it, but waiter didn't know what to do so went to check with superior & came back saying the fly must have been in the glass already & so poured the rest of the same bottle into a fresh glass. When quail egg amuse bouche was being delivered, the waiter broke the yolk of the egg on the lower plate & it dripped over the table cloth & the terrace floor. No attempt made to clean it up - I did it. Very limited half bottle & wine by the glass section. Did like the "ecrevisses avec blanc boudin", lamp in a pot with veggies, and the raspberry ice cream!

Next morning, liked the breakfast buffet out on the terrace.

In summary, pleasant experience, lots of good amenities and location, but could be better attitudinally, so would not return.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesertBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lourmarin
0.9 mi away
Moulin de Lourmarin
Moulin de Lourmarin
#1 of 3 in Lourmarin
269 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bastide de Lourmarin
13.2 mi away
Le Mas des Herbes Blanches
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Domaine de Capelongue
Domaine de Capelongue
#2 of 5 in Bonnieux
351 reviews
3.9 mi away
Domaine de Fontenille
1.6 mi away
Hostellerie Le Paradou
Hostellerie Le Paradou
#3 of 3 in Lourmarin
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas de Guilles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas de Guilles

Property: Le Mas de Guilles
Address: Route de Vaugines, 84160 Lourmarin, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Luberon > Lourmarin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lourmarin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Mas de Guilles 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Mas de Guilles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing