We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet with superb food”
Review of Le Mas de Guilles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Mas de Guilles
Ranked #3 of 12 Lourmarin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2013

A good place to stay if you are looking for peace and quiet and a very good French kitchen. The pool is excellent. The hotel is in the heart of Provence, with a short driving distance to the nearest village. The village has a nice market.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank MortenL850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 165 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

We have been visiting this hotel for a few years now and love the peaceful location, the excellent food, and quiet, efficient way in which it is run.

The hotel is situated in extensive grounds and has beautiful views over the Luberon. The swimming pool and sunbathing area are enclosed by a high wall - perfect for privacy and for shelter if the Mistral ever arises.

Weather permitting, breakfasts are served on the broad terrace outside the dining room.

The hotel is near enough to Lourmarin for active people to be able to walk down to the village - a bonus on market day (Friday) when parking there is difficult - there are at least two routes, neither of them particularly demanding.

Room Tip: Rooms in the older part of the property are larger and have more character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bandicoot1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed in October of 2013 as part of a trek with some others through Provence. This is a charming location just outside Lourmarin. The grounds are spacious, the pool quiet and private and the staff very helpful. We had two meals there and can attest to the good kitchen. Breakfasts are well provisioned. The rooms can be a mixed bag. Ours was on the ground floor with a patio shaded by a large plane tree. For that reason is was somewhat dark but that shade can be a good thing at other times. The room met all our needs and we have no complaints. Other rooms were more charming with Juliet balconies or views. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LRMWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Lovely rooms smelling of lavender, although doors hard to lock and no shower over the bath. Internet only in certain places. A very tranquil place to stay. A nice pool area, very private setting. We had a cute balcony off the room.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xtine08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele L, Propriétaire at Le Mas de Guilles, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014
Google Translation

Le temps a passé trop vite .... et ce n'est qu'en ce début avril que nous donnons suite à votre commentaire.
Nous vous remercions d'avoir pris le temps d'apporter votre avis sur notre hôtel et espérons vous revoir bientôt à Lourmarin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Charming family run hotel in peaceful situation yet close to the delightful village of Lourmarin.

The staff are very helpful and the general quality of the rooms is excellent. Spacious grounds with a fine pool and useable tennis court.
Good local cycle routes, either on quiet roads, or very scenic off road.

Room Tip: Discuss with very helpful reception, Aurelie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We came to this place for 2 nights being in a golf tour in the area. We entered the reception area and started the formalities and we've got a feeling that the manager on duty was monitoring each and every move of the receptionist. The moment later she came out from the room next to the reception area and told my cousin step back as if he cross the privacy line. It was totally unfriendly and strange.
Further we tried to book a table in the restaurant and mentioned the birthday of our cousin's wife. The answer was "we are fully booked". We went for a trip around the premises and we've seen a huge outside area and plenty of space inside the restaurant.
Earlier this day we visited Friday market in Cassis and we bought some cheeses and a few bottles of wine. Our next try was the question to the receptionist if we can use some tables and chairs outside the restaurant to drink some wine.
The answer, to our surprise, was "pic-nic is strictly prohibited".

Receptionist was Ok, friendly and helpful, she made few phone calls for us making arrangements for a tee-time in the golf clubs nearby and a table for the dinner.
The house is nicely restaured and kept in a good shape. The boutique on the ground floor has a lot of local products.

So the overall result is that I will think twice or three times if the question will be to return back or not. We experienced some other places from the network of "Relais du silence" and this visit left very strange feeling.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Александр А
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele L, Propriétaire at Le Mas de Guilles, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014
Google Translation

Nous sommes toujours reconnaissants envers nos clients qui font part de leurs observations sur notre hôtel qu'elles soient positives ou négatives.
Les avis négatifs sont utiles lorsqu'ils peuvent nous permettre une amélioration de nos services.
Vos commentaires ne nous avancent en rien.
-En tant que responsable je pense avoir le droit d'aller et venir dans mon bureau qui est situé à côté de la réception et ce quand je le veux.
-Par contre, quand votre cousin a voulu passé derrière la réception , il est tout à fait normal de lui avoir dit de bien vouloir reprendre la place réservée aux clients.
-Je ne pense pas non plus que beaucoup de nos collègues accepteraient de laisser des clients pique niquer sur la terrasse de leur restaurant.
-Quant aux places dans notre restaurant, elles sont effectivement limitées, et c'est pour cela que nous demandons toujours à nos clients de bien vouloir réserver à l'avance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

A lot of money has been spent in the landscaping of the hotel and grounds, pool was nice, rooms were good but I was a bit disappointed that the ongoing upkeep of the grounds and vegetable area seems to be slipping...especially since they have made a feature of the vegetable area.
Food was fine, very large quantities but somehow lacking that bit of personal passion and flair.

Service was top notch from all the family involved

Room Tip: Rooms have all been done to a theme and are to a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcallistern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lourmarin
1.2 mi away
Moulin de Lourmarin
Moulin de Lourmarin
#1 of 3 in Lourmarin
284 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Bastide de Lourmarin
13.0 mi away
Le Mas des Herbes Blanches
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Domaine de Capelongue
Domaine de Capelongue
#2 of 5 in Bonnieux
359 reviews
8.0 mi away
Coquillade Village
Coquillade Village
#1 of 1 in Gargas
575 reviews
2.0 mi away
Auberge La Feniere
Auberge La Feniere
#1 of 2 in Cadenet
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas de Guilles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas de Guilles

Address: Route de Vaugines, 84160 Lourmarin, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Luberon > Lourmarin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Lourmarin
Price Range: $203 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Mas de Guilles 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Le Mas de Guilles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing