We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Les Olivettes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lourmarin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Les Olivettes
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

We had the good fortune to secure a room in Les Olivettes, despite leaving our booking arrangements to very last minute. Communication with Elizabeth was efficient, informative and effective to accommodate us. The property is picture perfect in my book. The rooms offer absolute privacy and tranquility, and we enjoyed sharing some travel experiences with the other guests also.
I, for one, was glad we had a crappy tv; it meant hubby didn't watch one sporting event all week. Instead, we walked, read, snoozed, explored the region, watched the sunsets with a good wine and some good music. I got inspired by some of the garden layout: there will be more stonewalling to be done at our place. Daily delivery of breakfast basket make for a very relaxing start to each day and we made good use of the espresso machine in the common room to complement croissants. In a word: perfect holiday setting! Great hospitality all round.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antoinette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    10
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
49
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

It was great to be a matter of minutes walk from the village of Lourmarin for two reasons: ease of access to the village and a wonderful view of it from Le Pastis at Les Olivettes. We really appreciated the relaxed country environment of Les Olivettes with its great kitchen facilities and BBQ where we could cook using delicious local produce and we also found the large, well maintained pool very refreshing. The garden is just beautiful and the house has many authentic thoughtful touches in the decor which reflect the Provençal region as well as useful books, and even some novels in French, if you are francophone. Elizabeth and Joseph were helpful and friendly hosts who were able to supply samples of beautiful soaps and wines and point us in the right direction for food buying. We loved the market on the Friday morning. It was a great base for exploring other villages. We had a great week in a very beautiful place!

Room Tip: Le Pastis was a great choice of room. It had a lovely terrace overlooking the pretty garden and acro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

We spent a week and were very happy with the location and the beautiful grounds. Our room was very comfortable with a very good bathroom and cute little kitchen. Our room had a very nice patio for enjoying our morning croissants or a nice glass of wine at the end of the day. We loved being away from town but still a very short walk in for restaurants and shopping. We do agree that not everything was in good repair and there should be coffee, shampoo and little amenities like that provided. With a late Saturday check in and very limited groceries in town, the first few days were a bit stressful until we figured out what we needed and secured it. With that one comment I would highly recommend it in every other way, Its a beautiful area! It also is a great choice for couples traveling together to enjoy alone and group time.

Room Tip: All are charming in their own ways. Take time to review photos to pick what appeals to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hermosa29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

This is the ONLY place we have ever returned to and we can't praise it highly enough. We have been to Les Olivettes eight times!! and every time we go we are always pleasant surprised by the the constant improvements that have been made since our previous visit. I find it hard to believe the criticisms from some of the recent reviewers. Les Olivettes is perfect- luxoruios, very comfortable and stylish. There are a lots of added extras that you don't usually receive in self catering accommodations, ie croissants and bread for breakfast, towels for the pool etc. Joe & Elisabeth are fantastic hosts, who have a wealth of Provencial knowledge to share. As other have shared, this beautiful accommodation is complemented by its location within easy walking of the peaceful village of Loumarin.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

We spent a lovely week at Les Olivettes in May, 2014. The proximity to the village of Lourmarin was a big bonus. Our whole group loved that we could walk to the village for coffee, lunch, wine and dinner. Joe and Elizabeth were so hospitable---making reservations for dinner, offering ideas for day trips, sending us to the best butcher shop in the area and bringing fresh croissants and baguettes for breakfast every morning. The weather was lovely and we enjoyed sitting out by the pool or in the garden in the mornings and evenings. We cooked at home often and the men were very pleased to find a selection of grills--electric, gas and charcoal. I don't know why that was such a big deal, but it was!! Everyone had the capability to make breakfast in their rooms, had their own little terraces that overlooked the gardens or the village and with 6 couples, it was nice to have some private space. We were a very easy going independent group and this house met our needs perfectly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We spent a week at this spot in June and the grounds are lovely and the location is great. The place is in sad need of an upgrade. There is no comfortable place to sit. All of the furniture should be replaced including the saggy bed. In addition it lacks in cleanliness

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jlhankins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Reyes Station, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

The hosts are very nice, the location is lovely, as are the views from the common room, small street side bedroom. On arrival the house is inviting - unfortunately, for the duration of a 7 night stay, it falls short of comfort. It needs an influx of improvements, from the dated technical (TV, dryer, etc.) to the linens, to fresh paint and airing. The mattress was thin, hard and uncomfortable, the towels scratchy, pillows lumpy. There was not a comfortable chair for sitting, reading inside or out - had to use the bed pillows to cushion the chairs. For a lower price point maybe. On the last morning the cleaners rather ungraciously started in on the cleaning at half past 8. The house is also thick with knic-knacks - ok if you enjoy it - to me it was cluttered, without real style.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fifi777, Owner at Les Olivettes, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
This is the first clearly negative comment we have seen about Les Olivettes since opening fifteen years ago.

We are sorry that this guest did not enjoy her stay. We note that she travelled alone, whereas nearly always our apartments are taken by couples and our guests usually enjoy a friendly atmosphere.

To our knowledge, nobody has ever complained about our beds or our decoration, etc. which we have updated regularly over the years. And the one substantive issue that this guest raised during her stay was corrected very quickly.

We appreciate constructive criticism and we welcome guests' comments and suggestions. But in this case, we believe that the criticisms are unfair and do not reflect the reality of our guests' experience, as can be seen from the other 41 TA reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lourmarin
0.3 mi away
Moulin de Lourmarin
Moulin de Lourmarin
#1 of 3 in Lourmarin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bastide de Lourmarin
3.0 mi away
Domaine de Fontenille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Auberge La Feniere
Auberge La Feniere
#1 of 2 in Cadenet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.8 mi away
Maison Collongue
Maison Collongue
#1 of 13 in Lourmarin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Mas de la Lombarde
Le Mas de la Lombarde
#2 of 4 in Lourmarin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Olivettes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Olivettes

Property: Les Olivettes
Address: Draille de Lautin | Avenue Henri Bosco, 84160 Lourmarin, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Luberon > Lourmarin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Lourmarin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Olivettes is a converted Provencale Farmhouse offering luxury rentals of studio and one-bedroom apartments with unique and spectacular views. Located in the lively & charming village of Lourmarin, it's a great home-base for touring the Luberon and the other major attractions of Provence. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Les Olivettes Hotel Lourmarin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing