We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What good is a restaurant if his waiter is a hater and will ruin your dinner?”

Brasserie L'Insolite
Ranked #11 of 33 Restaurants in Lourmarin
Price range: $11 - $28
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: A typical French brasserie located in the bottom of the Luberon region, in the heart of Provence. La Brasserie L'Insolite features a gorgeous terrace where you can enjoy a variety of Provencal dishes and wine from regions throughout France.
Reviewed July 8, 2018

Normal food & normal expensive price for tourists. Not too bad until the
schizophrenic waiter will ruin your dinner with some stupids comments or just not doing his job. He probably doesn´t realize the investment this restaurant needs and that his salary is actually coming from customers....
Don´t lose your evening or mid-day, go to other restaurante a few meters away from this...

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank patapal0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (649)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 648 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2018 via mobile

The outside terasse is really nice in summer, typically south of France.

The menu has only a few choices for all, i.e. entrees, mains and desserts. That's basically always fine for us, we prefer it that way. We were four guests, but since the couples ordered precisely the same we only ended up with one kind of salad, one kind of pizza and two kinds of desserts. The salad was really tasty, Asia inspired seasoning and ingredients mean interesting flavours overall. The pizza was ok, a little seasoning was missing but salt is available at the table. The tiramisu was again really tasty, the milk rize was rather disappointing. All in all, great meals, but also disappointing elements.

The prizes were more than fair. Possibly not for the cocktails (which were fine by the way), but the meals are rather cheap. The service was basically ok, nothing exceptionally to say here except possibly the clothing. They still serve food in a restaurant and could dress up a little bit. They looked rather like teenagers going to hang out with friends than actually service personnel.

To summarize, location is fine, service is ok but should dress up, some food is really awesome with interesting flavours but some is rather disappointing. The prizes are reasonable. Go there to have a nice evening, but don't expect too much.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank kinleyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2018

Lourmarin was heaving when we arrived on a beautiful sunny Saturday in May and (unusually) not having researched or booked, we were very happy to wander down the side of the Hotel Ollier and find the shady courtyard-terrace of L'Insolite. The truly fabulous waitress had just returned to work here again after some time elsewhere. She charmed us old codgers and was always there when we needed more bread or wine etc.Sadly, I lost my bill so can't recount what we ate but suffice to say that went away thinking we had made a good and fortuitous choice. We'd be happy to return.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank epicure49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2018

Very popular w locals and tourists. There is a great terrasse in the back w sun, very lovely for lunch. The restaurant has a good selection of pizzas and local food a la carte unlike most restaurants in town which want you to order a menu of 3 courses.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank victoriaxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2018 via mobile

We spent a few nights in Lourmarin & spent 2 nights at this lovely restaurant. Ben, the owner is a wonderful host & his wife, Kate equally as wonderful. We felt so at home in this local venue. The pizza was terrific & the ambience with all the locals, was very inviting. Yes, it’s winter, but this makes the experience fantastic due to lack of crowds. Highly recommend having a beer here, trying the pizza or just popping in for a drink in general. Thank you Ben, we felt like locals for a few days

Date of visit: February 2018
1  Thank gnilwod19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie L'Insolite also viewed

Lourmarin, Luberon
Lourmarin, Luberon
 
Cadenet, Luberon
Lourmarin, Luberon
 
Lourmarin, Luberon
 

Been to Brasserie L'Insolite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing