We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ancienne Maison des Gardes
Ranked #6 of 13 Lourmarin B&B and Inns
Paris
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet stay”
Reviewed June 1, 2010

It is a well-located, small place in the city of Lourmarin. We used it to serve as a base to travel in the region and it was a good choice. The price was a little bit higher than I would think the lodging deserves, but the friendliness of the owners helped a lot.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexandrebrasil1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    12
    0
    3
    6
See reviews for
4
55
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, BC CANADA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2009

We spent two nights at Rose and Robin's very welcoming B&B in their smallest accommodation, the Balcony Room, up an outdoor staircase from the enclosed courtyard. Besides the comfortable bed, the simply furnished room contained a small fridge and a cupboard full of dishes, glasses and cutlery, as well as an armchair and round table and chairs. Also much appreciated were the wonderful olive oil soap, plush towels and an atomizer bottle of a lovely natural fragrance in the toilet room, not to mention a copy of Peter Mayle's “A Year in Provence”. There was even an excellent wifi connection.

We had arranged ahead of time for Rose to cook dinner for us the first night, and we were quite overwhelmed with the quality of the feast. Since the B&B doesn't serve wine, Robin suggested that we visit the nearby wine cooperative store, and we came back with an excellent bottle of the very local red.

During the warm season, Rose hosts dinner on their terrace, but November is too cold for eating outside, so she served it in our room on a beautifully set table with candles. She brought each course from her kitchen a few steps up in the main part of their house. First a tureen of very flavourful pumpkin and shrimp soup, then guinea fowl in a tomato sauce made from the last of the local tomatoes and some pungent olives. Afterwards a cheese course with four delicious choices, and a pear torte (made by Robin), finished off with coffee. It was extremely good value, one of the best meals of our four weeks in France, and we wished we had booked dinner for both nights. (As it turned out, we were able to eat there again the second evening.)

Breakfast was served in Rose's kitchen and again everything was of the highest quality—freshly squeezed orange juice, good croissants and baguette with homemade jam, yogurt and fruit compote, and coffee. She provided us with useful information about cycling destinations in the area, and we went out for a scenic 40 km loop ride in the sunshine past vineyards and through picturesque stone villages.

Lourmarin is one of the “plus beaux villages” of France, and an excellent destination for cyclists and other travellers. I can't imagine staying anywhere besides Ancienne Maison des Gardes if we travel there again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldkoot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaneohe, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2009

The week my daughter and I spent with Rose and Robin at the Ancienne Maison was the best week of the month we spent traveling in Europe this Spring (and it was an excellent month). We stayed in the newest of their three suites, and it was beautifully appointed and very comfortable. The suite had a full kitchen and living area on the entry level off of the courtyard, and a bedroom, sitting area and bathroom downstairs. The level of service was exactly what we wanted, when we wanted it. Rose and Robin struck the perfect balance between respecting our privacy, and being available for any assistance we required. I celebrated an important birthday while we were there, and they made us feel like family. The location in Lourmarin was also perfect. The rest of our trip was spent in cities, and Lourmarin was the classic French village ... with better food and shopping than you might expect to find. The Chateau also distinguishes Lourmarin from other French villages. We were there before the height of the season, and so did not experience the live music presented there. However, having toured the Chateau, I know it would be a wonderful venue. The market on Friday was also extraordinary. I hope to return to Lourmarin, and the Ancienne Maison, soon ... and often.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winterbrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2009

Welcoming and comfortable in a beautiful village, very good value with a delicious breakfast. Rose is very hospitable and has extensive of knowledge of the area.
I loved our peaceful room (s)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 230377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2009

The welcome we received from our hosts far exceeded our expectations, and the accommodation was charming and extremely comfortable. We could have catered for our own breakfast, but decided to take up the offer of having it provided. Fresh strawberries from the garden, home made jams, wonderful breads & croissants were delicious and taken on a sunny terrace surrounded by flowers. Everything you needed was offered, and to have a laundry available was fantastic.

Lourmarin is a small buzzing town with lots of galleries, shops and restaurants, and must be in one of the most beautiful and unspoilt parts of France.

We would definitely recommend Ancienne Maison. Our only regret was we could not stay longer; we will though, without a doubt go back!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudithWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lourmarin
0.0 mi away
Moulin de Lourmarin
Moulin de Lourmarin
#1 of 3 in Lourmarin
261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bastide de Lourmarin
1.1 mi away
Auberge La Feniere
Auberge La Feniere
#1 of 2 in Cadenet
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hostellerie Le Paradou
Hostellerie Le Paradou
#3 of 3 in Lourmarin
55 reviews
3.0 mi away
Domaine de Fontenille
0.1 mi away
La Maison de la Place - Lourmarin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ancienne Maison des Gardes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ancienne Maison des Gardes

Property: Ancienne Maison des Gardes
Address: Impasse des Gardes, 84160 Lourmarin, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Luberon > Lourmarin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lourmarin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ancienne Maison des Gardes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing