We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but slightly stretched waiters”

La petite maison de Cucuron
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Cucuron
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good food but slightly stretched waiters”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We visited on a Friday night and, for a Michelin starred restaurant, the waiting staff were quite thin on the ground (2 for at least 16 covers upstairs). The food was all very good with interesting flavours. There is a choice of two menus and I asked to swap the dessert from one menu because I don't like pear. Unfortunately the other dessert arrived with the unmentioned bonus of... pear sorbet! It took a long time to get the bill so we ended up walking downstairs to pay. Think experience would have been better at a slightly less busy time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alexcat2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    67
    36
    16
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful venue; excuisite cuisine”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

In this tiny village we found this exquisite restaurant for lunch. We were very lucky to get a table as reservations are a 'must'. This is fine dining at it's best and is worth every Euro! The fixed menu had two choices. The entrees and dessert were lovely. Service was 'first class'. This one of the best lunches in all the Provence villages that we visited.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank binnie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Star of Cucuron”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Unexpected bonus of Michelin star fine-dining in the small village of Cucuron which has a population of less than 2000. The restaurant is located at the main square with its distinctive long pond. Dinner was lovely and the wine recommended by the chef ( both white and the red ) were excellent. Although we enjoyed every dish individually we were numbed by the cumulative effect of their richness by the end of the meal. Perhaps a lighter lunch would have allowed us to appreciate the flavours of Chef Sapet's dishes even more. Definitely an experience not to be missed if you are in Cucuron but advisable to make reservations first.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sengch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Edge, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Delight in Provence”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The most memorable meal I had in Provence! The chef, Eric Sapet, was welcoming and accomodating. His restaurant is charming and the food exquisite. It is certainly worth the trip if you are traveling through the region. I will remember this meal for a long time to come.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mkaymchugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, SC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“the best meal”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

a very cosy place in the corner of lake l'etang, a chef attentive and creative, a good list of wines mainly of the Rhone region and price affordable

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Iara04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La petite maison de Cucuron also viewed

 
Vaugines, Vaucluse
Lourmarin, Luberon
 

Been to La petite maison de Cucuron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing