We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant stop over - would highly recommend”
Review of La Roseraie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Roseraie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed here for one night on our way down to the South of France. Our hosts were very welcoming and made us feel at home. The pool was fantastic and the kids loved it after a day travelling in the car. We had dinner here and it was a wonderful three course meal with wine. I would recommend anyone to stay here - fantastic

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 249 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2011

We absolutely loved our one night stay at La Roseraie.
A very warm welcome of both Heather and Michael in their beautiful home, an amazing garden/park with fruit trees and flowers everywhere.
Our room in the garden to the right was decorated with a very personal touch, beautiful furniture, fresh flowers in the bathroom and the most amazing disco shower head which we had great laughs about - never seen ever before.
Our room was next to the little shared area w/ nice Chesterfield sofas, tv and tea & coffee 24/7.
Breakfast was very good, great fresh brewed coffee, yummy baguettes,croissants, homemade jam of various kinds, cereal, fruit, juice etc.
We would recommend this to anybody for a shorter stay, totally relaxation or just for a night while driving around exploring the Loire Valley.
Heather & Michael are amazing & brave for creating this gem in a tiny town where not much is going on - but you where you will experience the real French life.Great for people who enjoy peace & the beauty France unfiltered.
We enjoyed it very much and will be back again next time we are in the Loire area!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PixiePoxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heatherlavender, Owner at La Roseraie, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2011

Thank you for your glowing review - we very much enjoyed your company in the short time that you stayed at La Roseraie. But we are not brave! We love what we do and the many interesting and charming guests that come through our door. Our region is centrally located and steeped in history, charm and interest, although this is difficult to appreciate if you are only with us for one night.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back, the next time you are in our region and send our warmest wishes to you both. Heather and Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

What a delight to arrive at La Roseraie after a long journey and to be given such a warm welcome by Michael.
He showed us to our rooms which were lovely. Tastefully decorated with a good deal of thought given to ensure a good night's sleep in comfortable accomodation. Bathroom facilities were very good with the best shower I have had in two weeks.
We joined our fellow guests for a delicious dinner prepared and cooked by Michael's lovely wife Heather. My only criticism would be that the service was a little on the slow side - but as we were trying to improve our French with our table companions it was not too noticeable.

My only regret is that we were not able to spend more time at La Roseraie or to explore the village and local environment. A good excuse to return!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobbyKingswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

Just stayed over night enroute to Calais. Warmly welcomed, beautiful building expertly made over into a hotel. Very comfortable rooms and even more importantly, comfortable beds and a good strong shower.

First class dinner, so good they have kindly sent me the recipe.

Cannot recommend too highly and hope to visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarilynBatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

My wife and I really enjoyed our recent stay at La Roseraie - the accommodation was very modern and comfortable, we were made very welcome, and the dinner in the evening was great. We particularly liked the Bistro, and the wine was great! Great value all round, and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beano1546257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

I travelled to France with my husband and children aged 3 and 5. We stayed at La Roseraie in the larger gite - L'Atelier - for 6 nights. From the moment we drove through the gates we knew that we had struck gold! The entire property is magnificantly maintained. Our gite was spacious, had been thoroughly modernised but still retained its rusitc charm. The pool was immaculate and the garden areas lovely to sit in and relax. Heather was fantastic in suggesting child-friendly places to visit (inc chateaux). We dined in the B & B twice and each time had an exquisite meal. The French custom of re-using your cutlery was explained to us and was all part of immersing yourself in the local ways. This property is featured in Alisdair Sawday's book and it certainly deserves to be.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fussytraveller201060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

We have just returned from our holiday in France, staying at La Roseraie for the first week of our trip. We rented one of the gites at the rear of the beautiful old French house. The experience was truly amazing and having had the place recommended by friends we were in no way disappointed. The owners, Mr and Mrs Lavender were very friendly and welcoming. Help was always at hand when needed, and not at all intrusive of your privacy at any time. Local places of interest and directions were given and soon enough you find your way around the town on foot. Our 2 children aged 8 and 5 never wanted to leave the swimming pool and often we had the pool to ourselves. The family in the neighbouring gite were really nice people and on the first night of our arrival we had a lovely home cooked meal, made with the freshest home grown produce. To the rear of the house is a very large area of land full of fruit trees and vegetable gardens, and we able to walk freely around. The gite itself was a real home from home and all you would expect in it. The Sunday Market in the town was full of fresh fruit, vegetables, fish and meat. We particularly loved the terrace and BBQ area for the gite. The summer girls were really friendly and always found time to chat to the children.It was a great experience and one definately to be repeated.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrooksA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neuville de Poitou
5.1 mi away
Le Cheval Blanc et Le Clovis
8.6 mi away
Mercure Poitiers Centre Hotel
3.4 mi away
Le Chai de Villiers
Le Chai de Villiers
#1 of 1 in Villiers
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Roseraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Roseraie

Address: 78 rue Armand Caillard | Poitiers, Vienne., 86170 Neuville de Poitou, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Vienne > Neuville de Poitou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Neuville de Poitou
Price Range: $90 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Roseraie 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly recommended Bed & Breakfast (4 epis awarded by Gites de France; also selected by Sawdays Special Places to Stay and Michelin Guide). With two beautiful self-catering cottages in flower-filled gardens & parkland. Large heated salt water pool. Complimentary Wi-Fi, secure parking. Walking distance to village shops & restaurants (including a Michelin Star restaurant). 10 Minutes from A10 and Futuroscope and 15 minutes from Poitiers. Central for Poitiers, Loire Valley, La Rochelle and Ile de Re. Perfect for couples and families alike. A home from home for business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your La Roseraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing