We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissatisfied !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chateau de Montvillargenne
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gouvieux
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I recently had a 3 night break here at this so called Chateaux and was extremely disappointed to say the least. The pictures on the website fail to show the annexe which I can only describe as similar to Prisoner Cell Block H. The room was dark, old and in poor decorational state with no views and a smell of sewage in the toilet. Cig burns in the carpet and at least a good 5 minute walk from reception. Don't think I would consider returning.

Room Tip: Ensure you don't get one in the annexe !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yorkshirelass12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPE_VACANCES_BLEUES, Responsable relations clients at Chateau de Montvillargenne, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you for your comment on your recent stay at the Château de Montvillargenne.
We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed by your stay. The annex of the Château is currently undergoing full renovation and we will soon be able to offer new fully refurbished rooms.
We are especially sorry we did not have the chance to meet you when you checked in and to offer a beautiful and comfortable room in the main building.

Please be assured we will do our very best upon your next visit at the Château.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (872)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 872 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here as part of a work trip from the UK. Tripadvisor reviews leave you somewhat daunted as to what to expect.

Room quality was very good, nice room at the front of the chateau - 219 - above main reception looking onto the front turning circle. Room furnished well, bed comfortable, lovely modern large bathroom. It would seem that many people rate the annex as rooms with poor quality so pleased that none of group were housed in that block. Food largely on the whole very good, great buffets produced as part of our time spent here and a good standard 5 course meal. Wine choices very good quality, bar well stocked and with plenty of choice. Breakfast has some great choices for a French hotel included eggs and bacon. Wide continental choices available.

Location is good if you are wanting chantilly or surrounding area, not sure on the practicalities of the location if you were doing a lot of travelling away from chateau.

Guest service is the standard French affair, not on par with what you would expect in the UK - more often than not you are seen as a hindrance and given straight "No" answers to simple requests. However this is not unique to this hotel..

Room Tip: 219 over main reception good room with large recently refurbished bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed_Pyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPE_VACANCES_BLEUES, Responsable relations clients at Chateau de Montvillargenne, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Mr Pyke,

Thank you for your comment further to your seminar at the Château de Montvillargenne.
We were very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.
We have taken note about your remark on Guest service, and will do our very best to ensure high quality service.

Again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

With best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

First the pros...the hotel is about 3o minutes (easy drive) from CDG in a lovely setting. We've stayed here before and, for some reason, always have hope. We booked three rooms....and, outside of a very loud and boisterous organized group (who broke the front door to the hotel at 3 am) we seemed to be the only guests. We were a couple traveling with two single friends. Do you think they could have upgraded our friends from the Annex to be near our room in the Chateau? Nope. Rather they had rooms in the annex that would have made the Novotel at CDG seem luxurious. Our room I. The chateau was small, cramped and hot....don't get a room on the 3rd floor, only skylights.
During our trip last year, we had a nice dinner in the hotel dining room. We booked this year and were the absolute only ones dining for the evening. Food was very, very marginal. Fish not fresh. Wine list inadequate,,,no range just overpriced "ok" wine. Overpriced.
The waiter was nice and the person checking us out in the morning way very nice, but the woman who checked us in should not have been dealing with the public.
Alas, after holding out hope for this hotel, we are going to look elsewhere next year...want our ending in France to be as lovely as the trip.

Room Tip: Avoid annex and third floor of chateau
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank qsmamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPE_VACANCES_BLEUES, Responsable relations clients at Chateau de Montvillargenne, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you for your comment on your recent stay at the Château de Montvillargenne.
We are sincerely sorry to hear you were disappointed by your stay and especially by the guest service at the check-in and the quality of your meal at the restaurant.
We unfortunately do not have the possibility of checking the level of occupation of our hotel, since we do not know the dates of your stay in the message posted. Further to your comments, it appears there was a group or seminar, the Château was certainly full and we therefore could not upgrade your friends.
We are especially sorry we did not have the chance to meet when you checked out.

Please rest assured we will address full attention to your remarks.

With our renewed thanks,
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We were fortunate to win a break at this Hotel through a Times Competition, and would certainly recommend. We were a couple and one other adult and required two rooms for two nights. Our rooms were in the Chateau itself on the second floor Standard accommodation and perfectly adequate.

I understand there have been poor reviews of this hotel and really cannot understand why, it seems the outside annexe rooms leave a lot to be desired but cannot comment as we did not see these.

The staff were very helpful and we had a very enjoyable stay, loved the swimming pool and the bar with outside patio area and lovely comfy seats. The inside was beautiful with a lovely marble staircase and beautiful function rooms.

The weather was wonderful and on the Saturday we took a trip to Chantilly, basically just along the road, lovely to walk around and after a wander we spent the rest of the day at the Chateau of Chantilly, just wandering the grounds as we have seen many of the chateaux on previous occasions.

We enjoyed a lunch on the Chateau patio just outside the main building and watched a wedding party enjoying themselves. also saw the Chantilly Stud.

All in all a great weekend and would certainly recommend.

Room Tip: Make sure you choose a room in the main building as poor reviews of the annexe, we were fortunate to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Booked two adjoining family rooms, which overlooked the service area and staff smoking area. Not a good start.
The room was ok, apart from the discovery of someone else's fluff-covered socks in the wardrobe, a broken shower and a broken room safe.
The ambiance in the restaurant was good, but that's about it. The food was overpriced and poor for France, the carpet was filthy and my chair-back was broken.
On the positive side, the swimming pool and steam room were good fun, and the staff were courteous and helpful. Classy prices for a not-very-classy hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank killemall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We arrived in a group of about thirty, very impressed with the building but then found that there was no porterage. Bearing in mind most of our group were o.a.p's dragging cases up & down flights of stairs was not easy, impossible for some. Our room was small, very gloomy, decoration was tired, very warm with no air-con. Room cleaning was poor. Food, breakfast was a shambles, on one morning all that was available were some cereals, nothing to drink as there were no cups. The evening meal was very, very ordinary. We will not be going back.

Room Tip: Do not have a room in the 500's
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JRS715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed here as part of a group of 14. We all had booked either Superior or Deluxe rooms in the main area. Some were overlooking the front, others the rear. There were a couple of minor concerns with the rooms such as a hair dryer not working or shower gel not present but these were soon rectified by the staff. Other than this everyone was very happy with the rooms provided.
There was no air conditioning in the rooms but fans were available and during our stay although the daytime temperature was around 27-29 we found the rooms comfortable once we had opened the windows at nightime.
Friday evening we had the Menu “Montmorency” in one of the private dining areas. The staff were a little “distant” but the service could not be faulted and all enjoyed the meal.
As the weather was so hot we requested Saturday evenings dinner be served outside on the terrace. This was the “Courtine” menu. Again the food was excellent but this time the ambience much better and the staff this time much more friendly and engaging. The only minor disappointment was that the taster selection of deserts from Friday’s menu was the same as the cascade d’entrements on Saturday evening. There was absolutely nothing wrong with the quality but it would have been nicer to have a different selection on each night.
All in all a wonderful weekend with great food and drink.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zr1Alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gouvieux
2.5 mi away
Auberge du Jeu de Paume
Auberge du Jeu de Paume
#1 of 7 in Chantilly
791 reviews
6.9 mi away
Tiara Chateau Hotel Mont Royal Chantilly
Tiara Chateau Hotel Mont Royal C...
#1 of 1 in La Chapelle-en-Serval
1,091 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Chateau de la Tour
Le Chateau de la Tour
#1 of 2 in Gouvieux
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Du Parc
9.4 mi away
Novotel Chateau de Maffliers
1.9 mi away
Hotel Le Chantilly
Hotel Le Chantilly
#3 of 7 in Chantilly
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Montvillargenne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Montvillargenne

Address: 6 avenue Francois Mathet, 60270 Gouvieux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Oise > Gouvieux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gouvieux
Price Range: $142 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de Montvillargenne 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau de Montvillargenne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Montvillargenne Gouvieux
Chateau De Montvillargenne Hotel Gouvieux
Chateau De Montvillargenne France/Gouvieux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing