We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“noisy but generally nice!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Normandy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Normandy
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vernon
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“noisy but generally nice!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

This hotel is situated directly on a busy intersection in the middle of town, so pretty noisy all the time, and as it was hot we needed windows opened. Then horrors - after going to bed finding that the music bar over the road went on and on and on until the wee small hours! If you stay at this hotel insist on a room at the back!! Apart from this the hotel was charming inside, with lovely old fashioned areas, well maintained. Breakfast a bit of a let down as although we weren't late there was little choice remaining, and no-one seemed keen to top up what was available. Vernon is an excellent base for touring around the area, and the town itself is lovely, river walks etc, and a good choice of places to eat.

Room Tip: room at the back essential
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Apersson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    82
    66
    22
    6
See reviews for
30
86
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indian Trail, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were considering moving to this hotel to be closer for a business trip my husband was on. We thought would check it out first by having dinner in the restaurant. Glad we didn't change our booking. The door says they accept american express. (I know, I know, but it was a business trip and that is what his company uses.) They do not take american express. The meal was overpriced and the meat was stringy. The service was neglectful and the staff (more than one) could use contemporary continental hygene 101 lessons.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrissy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Like other reviewers we stayed here one night as part of a tour.

(For the record I have dietary issues and my Riviera guide was absolutely fine throughout the tour advising me and finding out of any potential issues).

The hotel is of the older style but we had no issues with our room which was comfortable. The only gripe being no kettle to make tea or coffee.

As stated by another reviewer we were requested to stagger our visit to the restaurant but despite this the service was very slow and my wife's chicken was undercooked. A number of other guests in our group also complained about the chicken. As to breakfast that was fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreekGeek16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, Herefordshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

On a tour with Riviera travel and having specific dietary requirements, which I had advised the tour company of. I checked with the tour guide, a not very helpful woman who brushed me off saying the food was ok for me. However, when the meal arrived, it include the food I am allergic to and so I was served a different meal. The tour company and tour guide had not informed the hotel of my requirements. Ok, you think they'd learn from this, but the same happened at another hotel on the same tour, after having checked with the tour manager, again, re meal requirements. I have complained to Riviera Travel, but have had no response and no apology either from them or the tour manager at the time. I have been on many other tours but never met such blatant negligent attitudes. I will never travel with Riviera again. Food allergy sufferers beware.

Room Tip: don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wowok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

A old hotel, good food, good freakfast, people are nice.
Just the rooms are a bit old, but it add a little charm on jour staying.
Is the Average price for Vernon (a bit expensive, I don't understand why).
Location is excelent, with a lot of place to park the car and on the city center.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccompagnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed as a group one night in September as was close to Monet's -Garden-beautiful old building -very characteristic-very pretty courtyard where we had our evening meal -rooms ok but needed a bit of tlc -bathrooms very clean -but it's the food and the appalling attitude of the staff that really let this place down . The evening meal was a shambles even though the group that we were traveling with had used the hotel several times before -we had been asked if we would stagger our mealtimes in order to give the staff a chance to catch up but even so it was very chaotic .Breakfast was very much the same -not enough food for everyone and once something was finished -the staff would not replenish it -they were surly -sullen and collectively could not manage a smile-wouldn't recommend this place to anyone

Room Tip: Hotel on corner of a busy street-rooms on the side are marginally quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chletenham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

One night stay as part of a group found the facilities well up to standard but the restaurant, where the food was perfectly acceptable, was grossly understaffed - to the extent that one felt sorry for them. There is a comfortable bar - but it's British theming could best be described as a 'brave effort', probably by a Swede who'd spent one night in Canterbury in 1967 and owned a 1936 Baedeker guide to the Cotswolds. That aside I'd certainly stay here again quite happily. WiFi coverage excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fraser M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernon
2.5 mi away
La Musardiere
La Musardiere
#2 of 2 in Giverny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
2.1 mi away
Le Jardin des Plumes
Le Jardin des Plumes
#1 of 2 in Giverny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Baryton
Hotel Restaurant Baryton
#1 of 5 in Saint-Marcel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Domaine de la Corniche
Domaine de la Corniche
#1 of 1 in Rolleboise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kyriad Vernon St Marcel
Kyriad Vernon St Marcel
#4 of 5 in Saint-Marcel
3.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel du Haut Marais
Hotel du Haut Marais
#2 of 5 in Saint-Marcel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Normandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Normandy

Property: Hotel Normandy
Address: 1 avenue Pierre Mendes France, 27200 Vernon, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Normandy 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Normandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
hôtel Normandy Vernon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing