We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice by Riviera”
Review of Hotel Normandy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Normandy
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vernon
Reviewed October 14, 2012

A perfectly good hotel, all that is required for a single night. The big surprise was the high quality of the meal they provided for a party of about 40 ( coming to the restaurant at different times, as requested by the hotel to avoid a long wait for service ) with a choice of menus. Buffet breakfast for an early start for Monet's garden

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Roy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Normandy
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 231 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed one night en route for Monet's Garden; room small but very clean and welcoming. Bathroom of a good size with bath and shower, however, be careful when using the shower as no rubber mat was provided and the bath became very slippery! Bedroom window looked down onto the courtyard at the rear of the hotel which is a nice place to sit and have a drink. Food service at dinner was rather slow in the hotel's Le Cottage Bar/Restaurant but the food was good when it arrived and there was a good breakfast buffet. The hotel is centrally situated in Vernon, a pleasant little country town with a few bars and restaurants and several shops.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CalBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This hotel is just a few minutes drive from Monet's Garden and is a good place to stay, particularly if you want to get there early before the crowds. Vernon itself is a pleasant town by the river. The hotel is centrally located close to shops, restaurants etc. Although the restaurant at the hotel is excellent so there's no need to go out if you don't want to.

Our room was very spacious and comfortable. Dinner was excellent and breakfast good. A good place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TowerTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We booked this hotel at the last minute, following a disaster with the B & B originally booked for our visit to Giverny. The hotel was centrally situated in Vernon, a five minute drive to Monet's house and garden. It was clean, had a decent sized Reception area, bar and lounge and the staff were incredibly polite and friendly. Our room - which was one of only two left for that night, so clearly the hotel is popular - was small, but more than adequate and was also furnished with a desk, telephone and TV; the hotel also offered free WiFi. The bathroom and separate toilet were spotless, the beds were comfortable and bedlinen & towels were snowy white. We ate al fresco for dinner - and although the menu was somewhat limited, the food was good, tasty and reasonably priced. Breakfast was buffet style and there was plenty of choice. All in all, a good 3-star hotel and we would definitely recommend it for the price.

Room Tip: Unless you know where you are staying, make a point of asking to see the accommodation before your c...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivienne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed for one night, prior to visit to Monet's garden. Room small but recently refurbished. Basic but very clean with a good functionable bathroom. Meals were perfectly adequate.Fine for 1 or 2 nights.Staff friendly and willing.
What do people expect for their money? I really don't know.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idleone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed here for several days. I wanted to spend time at Monet's Garden and also explore the area. It was within walking distance of the train station. One could walk to Monet's Garden but I rented a bike. There was a bar/restaurant kitty-corner to the hotel which had good food. There were other restaurants and bars within walking distance and many boulangeries and patisseries. The staff were helpful. There was free wi-fi but only accessible from the lobby. The halls were long and had energy saving lights - they were off and you had to turn them on or walk in the dark. They turned off automatically. There was an elevator. The room was quite large and looked over the patio garden of the hotel restaurant/bar. It was quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gertie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

but we were in this hotel only one night. We wanted Monet´ s garden when we went to Contentin penisula. First we met with an unwilling receptionist but our room was clean and large and WiFi was free. Ludmila, CZ

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Ludmila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernon
2.5 mi away
La Musardiere
La Musardiere
#2 of 2 in Giverny
282 reviews
2.1 mi away
Le Jardin des Plumes
Le Jardin des Plumes
#1 of 2 in Giverny
292 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Baryton
Hotel Restaurant Baryton
#1 of 5 in Saint-Marcel
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Domaine de la Corniche
Domaine de la Corniche
#1 of 1 in Rolleboise
1,081 reviews
4.8 mi away
Les Canisses
Les Canisses
#1 of 2 in Le Goulet
172 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel du Haut Marais
Hotel du Haut Marais
#2 of 5 in Saint-Marcel
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Normandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Normandy

Address: 1 avenue Pierre Mendes France, 27200 Vernon, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vernon
Price Range: $119 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Normandy 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Normandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
hôtel Normandy Vernon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing