We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five stars but only because...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vernon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hermitage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Vernon B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 10, 2013

?..I can't give more! In a beautiful location roughly midway between Vernon and Giverny the Hermitage really is an idyllic place to spend a couple of days. Guests receive a genuine warm welcome from the lovely hosts Alain and Ariane who are passionate and so knowledgable about the region. We stayed in "The Birds" which is a large, peaceful and beautifully furnished room and each day enormous breakfasts are brought in and served at the antique table by the window.

A lovely B&B in a lovely location run by lovely people.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Miles from home P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 56 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2013

The room was perfect, even including a washing machine and drying rack.
The grounds were splendid, just the thing to get you ready for Giverny which Ariane and Alain are deeply involved in.
The breakfasts and well stocked refrigerator make you feel at home as well as the many, many books available to browse.
The path behind The Hermitage leads either to Vernon or to Giverny.
Everything is idyllic here.

Room Tip: Choose the room that appeals to you. You can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda132575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We wished we had planned for a longer stay. Allain was a great host. He made a special effort to make sure we had breakfast at an early hour to allow for our drive to CDG for our departure flight. We had the "small" room (Le Fleur) and it was large and comfortable. A great place to stay for visiting Monet's house and garden and good spot to make the drive to/from CDG for your first/last night near Paris. Vernon had a good restaurant selection and an interesting Chapel. The Hermitage has an interesting history and is connected to Ste. Chapelle in Paris.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Channing M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I can't express enough that if you are planning to go to this region in France, visit Giverny and Monet's Gardens or even if you are not, you should come stay with Alain and Ariane in Vernon! They have made their place one of a kind! My Mom, daughter and I stayed in "the Bird" room and the attention to detail from special extra touches of comfort to afternoon tea and wonderful French breakfast spread were amazing. Alain and Ariane are very friendly and it feels as if you've known them before. I enjoyed hearing Alain talk about the history of their home and introduction to the area. There is an old railroad line converted into a path for walking to Vernon one way and Giverny the other! I know I will be back and would love to take a private tour with the special guidance and expertise of Ariane who is a Special Tour Guide at Monet's Garden and a wonderful photographer. Thank you so much, Alain and Ariane!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ksmfoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband and I loved everything about The Hermitage. Alain and Ariana are such gracious hosts! It's a quiet location and minutes away from Giverny. In the evening we walked down the bike path to have supper in Vernon, and in the morning we enjoyed a delicious French breakfast in our "Birds Room." Then off to Monet's Garden! The only problem we had was one of our own making--we realized in Giverny that we'd left our digital camera behind. Alain was working in the courtyard garden when we returned, and he greeted us exactly the way a good friend would, when you've left something necessary behind. I think he was as relieved as we were! My last memory of l'Hermitage: Alain stepping out ahead of us at the road, looking to the left and right for traffic, holding his palm toward us to wait, then giving us the "all clear." I still smile about that.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank mh0ppes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

If you're looking for an individual and interesting B & B in a semi-rural location, this is the one. The property, the last house on the fairly quiet D5 road from Vernon to Giverny, is set back from the road on a large plot. It is c.1km from Vernon and c.2.5km from Giverny, either of which can be easily reached by bike or on foot using the path running at the back of the house along a disused railway line. The main 2-storey house, which has a long history and fascinating story to tell, is used by the owners with the 2 B & B rooms alongside. We were in the smaller "fleurs" room which is nevertheless more than adequate for 2 people. Furnished with retro 60's furniture, it is however very comfortable although there's no wardrobe nor TV (rare in B &B's in any case) but there are tea/coffee making facilities. The en-suite shower room is very good with contemporary fittings. Breakfast - fresh breads, cheese, home made preserves, fruit, yoghurts - is served in the room (maybe outside in good weather) and is really tasty. To cap it all, the owners Alain and Ariane are a really friendly and welcoming couple with extensive local knowledge, particularly everything worth knowing about Monet's Garden at Giverny (fabulous) which they're both closely involved with. All in all, a super place to stay for a night or two or longer.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimstone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I just had to add my praises to my daughter's for this delightful holiday residence and lovely couple who felt like friends we had known for years after only a few hours acquaintance. Ariane and Alain were great hosts who were always helpful and attentive. Their local knowledgeable was amazing and extremely useful and they always had time to make helpful suggestions and give us some background information to help us to explore the local area.

They also paid great attention to details such as providing different foods and china for each breakfast and we used to see Ariane coming back from the baker's shop with various fresh breads and croissants each morning.

We both usually like exploring new locations but definitely hope to return to this one.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Marion L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernon
0.7 mi away
Hotel Normandy
Hotel Normandy
#1 of 2 in Vernon
234 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Jardin des Plumes
Le Jardin des Plumes
#1 of 2 in Giverny
295 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Musardiere
La Musardiere
#2 of 2 in Giverny
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Baryton
Hotel Restaurant Baryton
#1 of 5 in Saint-Marcel
107 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kyriad Vernon St Marcel
Kyriad Vernon St Marcel
#4 of 5 in Saint-Marcel
94 reviews
1.4 mi away
Les Jardins du Val
Les Jardins du Val
#1 of 3 in Port-Villez
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Bed & Breakfast

Address: 38 route de Giverny, 27200 Vernon, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Vernon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Vernon
Price Range: $88 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing