We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place/dishonest cleaning staff”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vernon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hermitage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Vernon B&B and Inns
Pasadena, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place/dishonest cleaning staff”
Reviewed December 24, 2011

While all the comments about the Hermitage, the lovely atmosphere, the kind hosts, and delicious breakfast are all true, and it was a welcome stop on our first night of arrival--our family of four (two boys) slept comfortably, we cannot get the last memory out of our minds. Our stay was in June 2011 and upon departure, we realized my husband forgot his bag with cash/passports, etc. We returned, found the bag, with relief and initially thought all was well. Upon inspection we found that $500 U.S.D. was missing, so our one night stay, already pricey for us at $250 U.S. D. turned out to cost $750. Ouch. It is now Dec. 23rd, and in reviewing our year, the memory of the loss still stings. We later rented an apartment for ONE WEEK in Dinan on the same trip for only $595 U.S.D. --Hopefully that cleaning staff member no longer works there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AGDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alain C, Owner at The Hermitage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
When your husband found his wallet where he had left it in the bedroom several hours after checking out, I insisted he must check and double check that there wasn't anything missing. He checked twice the money and confirmed that all his money was there, dollars and euros. For me, this was the happy end of the story.

Three days later, your husband informed me that originally there were probably 400 dollars more in his wallet. He was not sure he had really taken them with him. He must first check he had not left them home.

When back home, he contacted me again to tell me that the dollars -now 500- were not where he thought he could have left them. The next step was to accuse our staff

This is a bit hasty in my opinion, because your husband seems not having known exactly with how much money he entered our bed and breakfast. So the money could have been lost or stolen anywhere during your trip, even when still in the States at the airport, or in the plane. This would explain why the euros were left in the purse. Why should a french robber take only foreign currencies, and ignore the euros?

The elements are far too vague to make such a serious accusation, with the consequences of depriving a person of her job and ruining our reputation.

The satisfaction of the guests we welcome in our home is our main concern, and we are very attentive to have an irreproachable staff.
I regret that most probably my insistance in asking your husband to check and double check instilled a doubt in his mind, that days later became almost a certitude.
I am very sorry that this suspicion spoiled your holidays in France.
So, in the hope this will somehow sooth your mind, and although I don't blame myself for anything else, I would be happy to offer a complementary stay in our B&B to the persons of your choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
31
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
532 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

This is the most charming bed and breakfast on the road to Monet's Gardens in Giverny. Owned by Alain and Ariane Cauderlier, two rooms with bath, one with a fireplace (The Flowers Room) are comfortably outfitted to make a stay in Giverny outstanding. Alain maintains several web sites for the Giverny area, and Ariane is an expert on Monet, having dedicated her life to his paintings and gardens. She is a guide at Monet's home and gardens and a brilliant photographer. Breakfast included home made jams, edible flowers, and excellent pastries. The walking path is situated behind the historic home for an easy 45 minute stroll to the Giverny village. My husband and I enjoyed our stay and highly recommend it for those who are truly interested in Monet and Giverny. It is a bit difficult to find with only a small sign post on the road, however, Alain is happy to stand in the street to wait for your arrival. Make sure to buy the book, Claude Monet at Givery, which is available in the gift shop at Giverny. Not only is it the best guide to Monet's house and gardens, but the majority of the photographs were taken by the very talented Ariane! We had her autograph our book! You'll love L'Hermitage and the informed owners. Make sure to buy the book, Claude Monet at Givery, which is available in the gift shop at Giverny. Not only is it the best guide to Monet's house and gardens, but the majority of the photographs were taken by the very talented Ariane! We had her autograph our book! You'll love L'Hermitage and the informed owners.

Room Tip: Les fleurs (The Flowers) is small, perfect for 2, with a fireplace,decorated in 1960's pop color...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank StarLady99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fordtraveler56
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We have stayed in a lot of Bed and Breakfast establishments in our travels and agree, The Hermitage was one of our favorites. We had a very nice room, large enough for a family to stay in. The grounds were beautiful and the owner a delightful host. Breakfast was the icing on top of the cake. A delicious meal served to us in our room at precisely the prearranged time. Communication via email was great prior to our visit. There are walking trails directly behind the property. Only minutes away from Monet's gardens. If we are ever back in that area of France we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank fordtraveler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, Maine
Level Contributor
197 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2010

My wife and I stumbled on this delightful B&B on our first night in France. We loved it. It's in an old country farmhouse, and the ambiance is great. The hosts are helpful and very nice people. The location is perfect to visit either Vernon or Giverny and Monet's Gardens. They are right on the path to the gardens if one prefers to walk. The breakfast, served right in your room, is top notch. We enjoyed our stay here very much.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernon
0.7 mi away
Hotel Normandy
Hotel Normandy
#1 of 3 in Vernon
217 reviews
2.0 mi away
La Musardiere
La Musardiere
#2 of 2 in Giverny
264 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel du Haut Marais
Hotel du Haut Marais
#2 of 5 in Saint-Marcel
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Le Jardin des Plumes
Le Jardin des Plumes
#1 of 2 in Giverny
277 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kyriad Vernon St Marcel
Kyriad Vernon St Marcel
#4 of 5 in Saint-Marcel
80 reviews
1.7 mi away
Moulin des Chennevieres
Moulin des Chennevieres
#4 of 14 in Giverny
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Hermitage Bed & Breakfast
Address: 38 route de Giverny, 27200 Vernon, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Vernon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing